We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Personalized hospitality that goes the extra mile”
other travellers have booked this property
The pool at Casa Bambora
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The pool at Casa Bambora
Waterfall at Casa Bambora Observation deck
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The pool at Casa Bambora
Waterfall at Casa Bambora
Observation deck
View from Casa Bambora
The outdoor community kitchen/bar
Pool
The bar/outside kitchen
Playa Grande view
View of Playa Langosta
View of San Francisco Estuary from Casa Bambora
pool/waterfall
Play Grande view from observation deck
Casa Bambora's pool with waterfall
The bar/outside kitchen
Casa Bambora
Sunset from Casa Bambora
Casa Bambora studio
Studio at Casa Bambora
Studio at Casa Bambora
Casa Bambora studio
Casa Bambora studio
Bathroom in studio
Private bathroom, Casa Bambora studio
Playa Grande view from observation deck
Grilling up the catch of the day at Casa Bambora
View of Isla Capitan
Outdoor kitchen/bar
Casa Bambora
Raya and Scrappy
The bar
Casa Bambora
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Tamarindo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Penperth
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Personalized hospitality that goes the extra mile”
Reviewed 6 December 2011 for a stay in October 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We had a wonderful stay at casa bombora. The room itself was great value and neat and tidy with a tv and icy cold air cond, we had two balconies and the views were stunning. We had rapid wifi in our room, and the owner fielded phone calls for us to help organise activities in town. The property is very safe and secure, and his dogs are adorable. The kitchenette was great and helped us save a little money on food. The bigger honeymoon suite looked amazing, but we stayed in the second floor studio which was perfect for us.

The property has been lovingly built by the owner Joey. He bought the place years ago before tamarindo was so deceloped, so he has the most prime spot on the hill in town. Although this means that its an easy 10 minute walk to the beach, casa bambora enjoys breathtaking view to the ocean both to the north and the west. In the morning would check the surf from our balcony and trot down to the beach for two surfs each day.

Joey seemed to be forever tinkering, with any empty studios and making improvements here and there. He clearly takes pride in his work and in ensuring that his guests enjoy there stay. Even though he is busy and unintrusive we would seek his advice every day regarding where to surf and the best places to eat and watch the sunset. He was extremely helpful not only for our stay in tamarindo, but he gave us invaluable advice for planning the rest of our trip through central America. He even emailed us after we left with contacts and tips to help us with our onward journey.

Overall, we were very happy staying at casa bambora. If wereturn to tamarindo we will definitely stay there and we might even stay in the honeymoon suite!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The hospitality
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry M
Sequim, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Top-of-the-world hideaway”
Reviewed 1 December 2011 for a stay in November 2011

I’m almost hesitant to rave about this place since I don’t want it to be so popular we’ll have a hard time booking when we want to come back. Joey has worked very hard over the years to make Casa Bambora a secluded paradise. It had everything we wanted: amazing views, privacy and ton’s of amenities – studio kitchen, outdoor kitchen with grill and blender, ice, pool, towels, laundry. We walked to the beach every day and took the towels with us, which was a nice perk. I felt like I was living in Tamarindo for a week, not just visiting. An amazing escape.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Views
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oregon
Reviewed 2 October 2011 for a stay in September 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Solo traveler
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
AB. Canada
Reviewed 16 April 2011 for a stay in April 2011
2
people found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
thetoront...
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wow Casa Bambora incredible trip of a life time”
Reviewed 1 February 2011 for a stay in November 2010
4
people found this review helpful

Howler and Capuchin monkeys moving around throughout the day and night, Humpback whales off in the ocean, giant grasshoppers and butterflies in the evening and sunsets that are truly spectacular. Not to mention the lush greenery and flowers all around and beaches that stretch for miles and miles. And that’s just what you’ll see while at Casa Bambora , truly a paradise worth seeing.

Casa Bambora is more than just a home away from home. After reading all of the wonderful reviews about this beautiful, hilltop retreat in paradise we thought even if it met most of our expectations it would be great.

We were met by our shuttle, which Joe (Vogan, owner of Casa Bambora) arranged for us and had a beautiful and informative ride from the Liberia airport to Tamarindo. Our driver even stopped and helped us get a few groceries for our first night.

What amazed us first and foremost was how clean everything was, no garbage in the ditches, peoples homes and properties were well kept and clean looking, everyone had pride in their country and property.

When we got into Tamarindo it was so refreshing to come into a tourist town and not see the typical American style fast food restaurants with the exception of one Pizza Hut. All of the businesses we passed were unique restaurants, surf shops and nice looking souvenir stores. Again, everything was very clean.

When we arrived at Casa Bambora, on the hilltop we were greeted by Joe, Richard, Torro and Kobe. Joe owns Casa Bambora and Richard is his charming father who will tell a good story or two. Torro and Kobe are Joe’s dogs and they will welcome you with open paws and come and visit your room if you let them.

Our apartment was on the top floor and had a 360 degree view of ocean, town, hillsides, rainforest and the pool with waterfall below. We had a hammock on one of our terraces which was so comfortable and you could just sit there and read while occasionally looking out to the ocean or watching the sunset.

Our apartment was wonderfully big with a comfy bed and super shower. Although it was really hot during our stay, at night we just left the windows and doors open and allowed the breeze to run through rather than use the air conditioner that was available.

The villa also has a wonderful patio by the pool with a full outdoor kitchen and bar-b-que. Joe recommended Don Fernando’s Butcher Shop and it was so nice to cook fabulous steaks, or pork, chicken whenever we felt like it and so cost effective too. A pool, BBQ, Bar, TV what more do you need to watch a little football!

The roof top deck is also an excellent place to watch a beautiful Costa Rican sunset and have a few drinks, listen to the howler monkeys and watch the many birds fly by.

Even a rainy day is nice, from the hilltop you can see all of the lush greenery and listening to the rain while swaying in a hammock is refreshing.

Joe having been there for 19 years was able to tell you where to find great food and even took us for a walk through town our first night showing us around. Amazing places to visit in Tamarindo are the following restaurants: Olga’s Café, Long Boards BBQ, La Esquina, Bueno Appetitio, Nugueys, Eat at Joe’s, Nibbana, and Kahiki! Unfortunately Sharkey’s burned down while we were there, but I’m sure they are going to rebuild and when they do, have the Buffalo Chicken Sandwich – it’s outstanding.

The beach is wonderful and you can walk for miles, the people both local and expats are friendly and engaging. If you have a dog this is the perfect vacation – we’ll be bringing ours on our next visit.

This was our first trip to Costa Rica and now we could easily consider it another home.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Families with teenagers
Tourists Large groups
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing