We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (34)
Filter reviews
34 results
Traveller rating
22
4
2
3
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
22
4
2
3
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews soccer field shared kitchen pool side lounge chairs rooms are clean great location the owner in town spanish noise ac tours
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 34 reviews
Reviewed 11 September 2017

Accidents do and will happen,

By that I mean, this was exactly how we ended up at Hotel Playa Samara. An early Sunday morning and in need of a place to host a bicycle race; full of hungry and stinky people. Everything led to us crashing the place do to our original hosting joint, bailed on the las minute!!

Now, imagine over a 150 hungry cyclist with no place to crash or where to a quick shower!!!! Enter Andrea, she's just awesome, very professional and friendly. Shortly after explaining our messy situation, without any hesitation she put us up with no fuss.

The stinky and hungry cyclist had been saved by this wonderful little place, tuck away in the center of it all, it feels rather private, yet your just yards away from the beach and all the crazy fun that Samara has to offer.

Once again, an incredibly affordable and extremely accommodating little hotel in the heart of it all.

Room Tip: You just have to relate your needs and wants to the staff, and specially Andrea, and you will not be disappointed.
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Armando E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPlayaSamara, Owner at Hotel Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2017

Thank you for your kind words. We strive to give everyone the memory of Samara as Pura Vida!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2017

I give this hotel 5 stars not because it is lavish and expensive but because it is exactly as it is advertised. Their sign says " Warm beer , cold showers ". And that is what you get. But if you are looking for a low budget , clean, no frills hotel this is the place for you. The hotel is conveniently located in downtown Playa Samara and is less than a 3 minute walk to the beach and several restaurants. The rooms are of an adequate size and each has a bathroom and shower en suite.... no hot water though although the owner, Dan, promises that he is working on making hot water available soon.( probably by the end of August). There is a fan in the room which provides adequate air circulation and if you absolutely have to have AC I believe there are portable units available for an additional charge. The beds are reasonably comfortable and the area is fairly quiet at night as the hotel is set back a block from the main road in town, but remember this is a downtown hotel so there may be some noise early in the evening however, by 10pm things have usually quietened down so sleeping is not a problem.
There is a communal kitchen with refrigerator , stove and cooking utensils. Just make sure that you mark anything clearly before putting it in the fridge.
There is also a really nice, quiet pool area with lounge chairs , palm trees and an awesome mural which is a great place to relax and take a short nap or read after a day of surfing or kyaking on the beach.
Dan , his partner Claudia and the rest of the staff are all friendly and knowledgeable about the local area and tours that are available. English and Spanish are spoken by most of the staff.

Room Tip: Upper floor inside the quadrangle
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Keith C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelPlayaSamara, Gerente at Hotel Playa Samara, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2017

Dear Keith,

Thank you for staying with us, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you back soon!

Best regards,

Hotel Playa Samara

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2017

We first booked for 4 days, then stayed on a few more days, then came back for another weeks after visiting San Jose. Wonderful location, staff were bilingual and really dedicated to helping us have the best stay possible. Two minutes to the beach, lovely village for shopping just outside. Every tour available to book from the hotel. We rode our horses right back to the courtyard. Rooms were cozy but very clean and comfortable.The pool side lounging was relaxing. As were were having a longer stay, the open kitchen allowed us to cook our own meals when we wanted to so we did not have to eat out every meal. We met the best people from all over the world and our host was most gracious. We are already planing our next trip and will definatly stay here again.

Room Tip: quiet, head back to the end of the courtyard, for the best breeze, book a room on the long side with a window opposite the door.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank WendyW1736
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2017

The Hotel Playa Samara is located right in the center of Samara and only a few steps away from the beautiful fine sand beach of Playa Samara in the Guanacaste Province of Costa Rica.
I have spent quite some time there and really appreciate the laid back atmosphere of the place. Very comfortable, clean and friendly. No frills atmosphere! Simple but cozy rooms for singles, doubles or families. Lots of rooms for groups!
They also have a shared kitchen and hang-out place.
Did i mention the brand new swimming pool?
The hotel has a relaxed Tico (Local Costa Rican) vibe!
The team is friendly and the owner Dan is way cool ; D
Give it a try!
Samara has great beaches all around!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

Rooms are clean and tidy but toilets are really small. Staff is friendly and very helpfull. Overpriced for standard of the rooms but great location right by Samara beach. Has a swimmingpool but the area around could be made a little bit more homey.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled solo
Thank Linnea B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews