We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (342)
Filter reviews
342 results
Traveller rating
271
61
7
2
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
61
7
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews howler monkeys in town the owner costa rica samara bay every morning watch the sunset pollo pura vida short drive fruit platter cody shelly balcony jungle driveway trees
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 342 reviews
Reviewed 18 July 2018 via mobile

This hotel is just perfect.
- Beautiful view for the room balcony
- Room perfectly clean
- Bed comfortable
- Good breakfast (different choices)
- Site away from town, so it’s peaceful and quiet
- We can see monkeys and iguanas every day
- Nice pool
- 2 km from the beach but it’s not problem with a car
- Bryan is very friendly and helpful in the organization of our journey. We went to see turtles at night with him, it was magic!
Pura vida!

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with friends
Thank ManonB1711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2018

Lodge Ranas is located in a wonderful location, as others have mentioned. We watched monkeys playing outside our room which had wonderful views of the Pacific. We did actually walk into town and we rented an electric golf cart to get around town although it did have a little trouble climbing the driveway. It was also easy to get a cab into town and back so we did not feel the need for a car. We were well taken care of by Brian, who helped us get delivery from a wonderful restaurant for a large family dinner in the beautiful eating area. He went above and beyond several times to make our stay perfect. The rooms are beautiful, beds are very comfortable, and there was a nice evening breeze. We have traveled a lot and this was one of our favorite places to stay. We will be back.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Lodge Las Ranas is located in the hills about the fab beach at Playa Samara. So you need a car to get to the town, but we loved both the quiet and the cool breezes up there. I think all the rooms overlook the town below; ours was at the tree line so we felt like we were in a tree house with families of tuscans flying by. The breakfast was good and the owner's advice on where to eat in the town was excellent. The whole place was clearly designed by an architect and the individual rooms were spacious and well detailed. The owner is available to offer advice and she's very friendly!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank katherinesN7893OL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2018

We will certainly be back! Lodge Las Ranas is a quiet retreat only moments from the beach. Our room overlooked the treeline where we saw monkeys playing and iguanas sunning themselves. The staff was amazing--super nice and helpful. I was sick on one of the days, and they went out of their way to provide me with some clear liquids, crackers, and toast. It was incredibly kind. I would highly recommend anyone to stay at Lodge Las Ranas--families, couples, friends. It's truly a wonderful place!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Justin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2018

I have traveled to many countries and stayed at a wide range of hotels and accommodations and this was the best. Perched on a hill above the Pacific, overlooking the town of Samara, this was truly a paradise. The staff was friendly, helpful and cheerful and the owner was very accommodating to the fine details to make our stay the best ever. We particularly enjoyed the visits by the howler monkeys and the other wildlife that congregated near the Lodge.
It was an easy and safe walk to town and it is situated near many beautiful beaches and attractions that we enjoyed. INCREDIBLE!

Room Tip: We loved the apartment room we stayed in. It had a kitchen, living room, two bedrooms and a great patio.
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank gregkemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews