We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (557)
Filter reviews
557 results
Traveller rating
441
99
5
5
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
441
99
5
5
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews palm trees boogie boards small pool cinnamon rolls ceviche fruit truck costa rica lounge chairs the owner fresh fish deluxe room corner store ocean waves fish market other guests in town separate bedroom
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 557 reviews
Reviewed 22 April 2018

We could not have asked for a better experience than our stay at the Fenix hotel. Originally, we had booked another hotel in town in advance of our trip to Samara, but after one night decided it was not the right fit for our young family of 5 (3 kids ages 4, 6, & 7). We happened upon the Hotel Fenix on Trip Advisor, and decided to walk down the beach and check it out. The owners were more than welcoming to our family, and immediately made us feel at home, so it was an easy decision to change our plans. The location, right on the beach, was perfect. The gardens, complete with hammocks and lounge chairs situated under palm trees, and overlooking the Pacific, was idyllic. Our kids had a blast playing in the pool, or grabbing boogie boards and playing in the surf. Eating the fresh mangoes that fell from the trees, and watching the iguanas and monkeys play in said trees, was an amazing experience. The rooms were very well kept, and the daily "towel art" was a highlight when we returned to our rooms every day. We enjoyed making our morning coffee using a traditional wooden Costa Rican "coffee maker", and drinking our coffee while listening to the breaking surf. Our room did not have A.C., but the constant breeze and overhead fans made sleeping very comfortable. If you are looking for a relaxing beach front hotel, with friendly owners and staff, and a family friendly atmosphere, then you will not be disappointed in this hotel.

Room Tip: The "deluxe room" does have A.C. if that is of importance to you.
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Becky D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2018

Our family (with a 4 and 6 year old) just returned from a fabulous stay at the Fenix. We first started our vacation in La Fortuna for a few days and it was a welcome respite from the crowds when we arrived here. You can't beat the location of this property, ON the beach with a small pool to enjoy as well if you want a bread from the ocean. Phyllis, one of the owners, is helpful, friendly and was fun to just chat with. From the beginning (booking the hotel back in January) she communicated everything we needed to know about the rooms, location and driving directions from where we were coming from. We originally thought we'd go out and do different activities each day there and Phyllis was was happy to help us decide on tours, when to go and what time...but we ended up not leaving at all. Relaxing and playing on the property was just perfect. There were many other families (relative since there's only 6 rooms) but everyone was friendly and had a relaxed vibe. Thank you for having us, we hope to return!!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jessica K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2018

Wonderful location on beach, great owners and staff. We had 2 adults and 1 7 year old, and the location and facilities were great. Fenix is a short distance from town, close in, but quiet in the evenings. Perfect for our family. There were other families with children there at the same time. Our child wants to go back now!

Room Tip: All rooms are excellent
Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank marty185
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2018

Paradisical. Make your home on the Most Beautiful Beach in the Known Universe. Phyllis and Bill are the friendliest hosts. So cool, you have to meet them. You have a comfortable pad with a shower and a kitchen, utensils, etc., a pool in the courtyard to make friends with the other guests, hammocks in Phyllis's sublime palm tree grove and garden, and then La Playa, warm and refreshing and inviting, mysteriously divine, just steps from your room. A leisurely walk along the sand to town with fun bars and restaurants, vendors, bakery, etc. The staff are attentive and unobtrusive. (They really seem to enjoy what they do. Who the hell wouldn't?) Friendly fruit sellers and fishermen dropping by at indeterminate intervals with fresh, delicious food, cheap. The resident monkey. The iguanas, birds, a toad from some exotic fairy land. Stars. Moonlight. Milky Way. Total sensory experience: the colors, beauty, sounds, smells, warmth (for a guy from Buffalo) envelop you in a tropical fantasia. And your neighbors in Costa Rica are beautiful and kind and soooooooo very mellow. Here you will learn the true meaning of "pura vida." Honestly, there is no reason to stay anywhere else, ever.

Being there changed me forever, for the better. So stay away. I want it all to myself. Go to Disneyland instead, ok? Thanks.

Room Tip: Wander the reefs at low tide (if you'e unafraid of a Pre-Columbian, Pre-Cambrian, pure Costa Rican immersion).
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2018

We just returned from our second visit to Fenix Hotel in Samara. We had stayed there for 18 days in January 2017 and enjoyed it so very much that we just completed 22 days at that same hotel. The location and the amenities at the Fenix allow us to be as "tourist" or "local" as we want -- which is exactly our plan. The hotel is situated close enough to Samara to allow easy walking to enjoy all of the restaurants and shops in the town proper. The kitchen facilities in the room and the fish market and grocery just a block away allow us to be shop and cook as we like. The staff is very friendly and attentive to all of our needs. The staff and owner work diligently to maintain the facilities. The rooms and grounds are always very clean. Phyllis, the owner, is a great hostess and is always willing to offer suggestions of things to do -- if asked. She is a wealth of local information. The greatest draw, for us, of the Fenix is being able to step out of our room onto the beach -- we are literally just steps away from the water. The grounds are very well maintained and lounging on the beach chaises and enjoying the water are wonderful ways to spend the days. Being lulled to sleep by the sound of the surf is truly amazing. We are making plans to return to the Fenix again next year. Pura Vida!!

Room Tip: 6 room hotel, each with its own sleeping configuration
  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank vrkarosel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews