We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (833)
Filter reviews
833 results
Traveller rating
744
79
6
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
744
79
6
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews private pool the owner costa rica villa kamar place to stay dining table surf school grocery store pura vida directly across the street over christmas bedroom villa in town laid back honor bar the entire staff restaurants and bars
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 833 reviews
Reviewed 30 August 2018

Villas Kalimba was a beautiful property! All of the villas are lovely and very private. Easily walkable to beach and town. All of the staff and Roberto are amazingly friendly an welcoming. If you are able to attend one of Roberto's dinners, you wont be disappointed!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Teresa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2018

Villa Kalimba offers comfort and relaxation that are truly exceptional. Diego is a sweetheart with a warm and welcoming smile. They really take care of you well and you feel very comfortable very fast. Definitely an added advantage that there's a grocery store right next door and being only steps away from the water. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Only 7 rooms at the property and they are all well located around the pool area.
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelseemore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2018 via mobile

During a 10-day Costa Rica vacation with my wife and three of our kids (17, 15, 10) we spent four nights at Villas Kalimba. I can’t imagine a better place to stay while enjoying the beach at Samara.

Several villas (ours a two-bedroom unit with two bathrooms and a kitchenette) surround a quiet central pool and rancho (central open-air restaurant area).

The grounds are a beautiful green garden, so thick with trees, flowers and bushes that the villas, although in close proximity, are hardly visible. This creates a very private garden oasis that is just a few steps from the beach. After a day at the beach we would retreat to the Villas Kalimba pool and gardens as a perfect way to end the day.

Diego and the entire staff were so warm, inviting and helpful - a reflection of the hotel’s owner, Roberto.

Our big surprise was Roberto and his wonderful cooking. He cooked breakfast for us every morning (coffee, fruit, bread, eggs, bacon, pancakes...). My daughter was especially fond not only of Roberto’s pancakes but his playful teasing of how many she ate.

The real surprise was the Central-American-influenced Italian evening dinners that Roberto occasionally offers. We were fortunate to enjoy two. The first meal centered around pasta with a meat ragout. The second featured a fantastic seafood risotto. Each 5-course dinner included an amuse bouche, interesting and delicious appetizer plate, green salad, main course and finished with a delightful dessert. Often a digestive of limoncello completed the evening.

I highly recommend Villas Kalimba. Thanks Roberto, Diego, Isabelle and the rest of the staff for such wonderful accommodations!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
Thank David P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobyPlayaSamara, Propietario at Villas Kalimba, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2018

Ciao David and & the really nice family!
Grazie thanks Gracias for your kind word,for us was a pleasure to have you here!!
Hoopig to see you soon we wish all the best!
Take care
Roberto & Co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2018

We have been to Costa Rica a few times, but we have never had such a wonderful experience!! Our stay at Villas Kalimba exceeded our expectations. Roberto was so helpful and kind, and his food is AMAZING!! I would strongly recommend staying at this beautiful property. I definitely know this is where we will be staying the next time we visit.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobyPlayaSamara, Gerente at Villas Kalimba, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Ciao Nicole,Thanks a lot,you are too nice!!! We wait to see you soon!!!
Take care
Roberto & Co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2018

We spent 7 wonderful nights at Villas Kalimba the end of July. It is directly across the street from the beach, and a great surf school called C&C. Our villa was exceptionally clean, and kept that way throughout our stay by the wonderful staff. Each villa is very private. The a/c worked great! Our daughter loved swimming in the pool, which had butterflies flying all around it. The other wonderful thing about Villas Kalimba is that it is right in the heart of town with groceries two doors over and restaurants everywhere. Once we were there we realized how thankful we were to be able to walk everywhere in a few minutes. Additionally, even though it is right in the heart of town it is quiet and landscaped beautifully, and feels of the beaten path. Finally, we were so lucky to enjoy two meals cooked by Roberto! Definitely the best meals we ate in Costa Rica, and absolutely delightful. The breakfast was also super yummy! Thank you to Roberto, Diego, Isabel, and all the other staff for your hospitality!

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank takeatrip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobyPlayaSamara, Propietario at Villas Kalimba, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Thanka a lot for your kind words,we are really happy to know taht you enjoyed staying with us at Villas Kalimba!
We are waiting you back!!
Meantime take care
Roberto & Co

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews