We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Flying Crocodile(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
Book now, pay at stay
US$72
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Lodge Las Ranas(Playa Samara)
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Samara Palm Lodge(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$61
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Giada(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$85
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach(Playa Samara)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samara Paraiso(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (820)
Filter reviews
820 results
Traveller rating
733
78
5
2
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
733
78
5
2
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate poolthe ownercosta ricaitalian mealvilla kamaramazing chefdining tablegrocery storesurf schooladult childrenpura vidawithin easy walking distancefull kitchendirectly across the streetbedroom villaover christmasin town
Filter
Updating list...
51 - 56 of 820 reviews
Reviewed 13 April 2017

My husband and me stayed in Kamar and like last time everything was perfect !!!
Not to be missed when the friendly owner Roberto, organizes tasty meat or fish dinners of traditional Italian cuisine. Usually we don't return in the same place but... we come back here with pleasure.

Room Tip: we stayed in Kamar, with private pool
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Federica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2017

Villas Kalimba is the place to stay in beautiful Playa Samara. Roberto and his staff are exemplary hosts who effectively manage to bring a touch of Italy into this little gem located on the Pacific side of Costa Rica. The beach is just across the street from the villas where, after borrowing beach towels from the resort, we spent all of 3 days lounging, surfing and walking the beach. We stayed in villa #1 with our two adult children who each had a twin bed in one room while we have a comfortable king-size bed in the other room. Each bedroom has an air conditioner. The grounds are beautiful with lush tropical flora and fauna. The resort is also very secure with a safe in the villa, a wall around the grounds and a locked front gate at night for which we were provided a key.

Roberto grew up near Venice, Italy and is an excellent Italian chef. He usually prepares a 4 or 5 course meal every 2 or 3 days, so if his sign shows a dinner menu for the night you should do everything possible to attend. Our meal was capped off with a lobster-seafood risotto. Magnifico! To add to the Italian charm, Roberto also has an espresso machine to use in his role as Barista in addition to resort owner, manager, concierge, and chef.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravelingfromMN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2017

Villa Kalimba was the best ending we could imagine for our trip. We stayed for 3 nights and loved every minute of it. Roberto, the owner, is a very kind man and an amazing chef and we had the honour of trying his amazing dinner on our arrival. The staff are very friendly and nice and we loved both the villa and the pool and its proximity to the beach. Thank you for making our holiday a memorable one.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank lovelyfamily4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2017

We are a young family,with tow kids,5 and 8 and travel a couple of time a year,we hate all included gethos..this is why we opted for Samara and Villa Kalimba.Roberto and his staff was so good with us,location is perfect ..near the beach,grocery store,restaurants.....nice swiming pool,clean room and such a relaxing place..

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ericboudreau8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2017

We've stayed at Villas Kalimba at least four times and one time at Samara Rocks. However, we always feel that we stayed at Roberto's place and say that all the time. It's a great location, and Roberto's meals are fantastic. We leave and immediately start pining for the time when we can return.

Playa Samara is a great little beach community. Highly recommended for couples and families.

  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Steve6716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews