We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (148)
Filter reviews
148 results
Traveller rating
52
42
23
13
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
42
23
13
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews costa rica location is great hot water beach town loungers surf
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 148 reviews
Reviewed 31 December 2017 via mobile

On the one hand this is a beautiful location and the bungalows are lovely and fairly comfortable. On the flip side most of the staff is unfriendly and not accommodating. We spent 2 weeks in Costa Rica and everywhere else we stayed or ate people were delightful and friendly. I was particularly disturbed by the fact that on 3 occasions I had to ask a waitress for change in the restaurant. She assumed it was hers to keep. (A tip is added to the bill.). The hot water in our shower was not working when we arrived and no one looked at it for two days. When they finally did we could not use our room for 4 hours and the work men left mud and dirt all over the place. We finally moved to a different bungalow where there was hot water in the shower but the handle fell off when we turned it on. The beach is great, and the restaurant serves very good food but I would prefer a place where staff was more courteous so won’t stay here again.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank rzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2017 via mobile

We stayed at Locanda for 4 nights in one of the bungalows. We really enjoyed this place. Location perfect just on the beach with free sunbeds for guests. Could have wished for a few more parasols to be able to rest in the shade. The bungalow was great. Clean and nice with nice bathroom and comfortable bed. Also fans in both bedroom and bathroom. Only thing we missed was hooks and hangers for the clothes. Prices for food is more expensive than we expected.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Åsa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

Classy setting , excellent food and the setting on beach beautiful.
Romance calling ? this place hits it out of the park!

The owner is his own designer . Wow does it show off his amazing talent of pairing food and Polynesia resort style amazing definitely staying next year.

A true oasis in Samara walk the grounds after dinner gorgeous! .
A dinning experience the fish soup and the red snapper it’s all so good.
We been enjoying such great food this is amazing to add on the list!

G.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with friends
Thank george p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017 via mobile

Let me begin by saying that I have absolutely no affiliation with this hotel or restaurant. I'm not a friend and have never even been here before. My husband and I were visiting Samara and when we were caught in a tropical rain storm, they took us in off the beach. We ordered a drink at the bar just to wait for the storm to pass and met Herardo - the chef. He made the most amazing pizzas and created works of art with love as the secret ingredient. In talking to him, we discovered that he studied in Genoa Italy and worked as a chef there for 6 years. He has a passion for food - and life. We watched as every single ingredient was freshly cut, diced, stirred, kneaded and cooked. We have eaten in restaurants all over the world - from Italy to California, New York and Chicago - never had a pizza quite as good as the one here, in Samara, Costa Rica. Anyone who complains has poor taste in food and no knowledge of the artistry of cooking - period. Herardo made us a special pizza and we sampled several others. We watched as he tirelessly prepared every single dish with precision and quality control. We also happened to be there when the fisherman arrived with his fresh catch of the day - langosta. He too, showed pride and love for his craft. Eating should be be a full encompassing experience - and this surpassed our expectations. Anytime who has anything negative to say is not of sound mind.
We will be back on Wednesday for Herardos seafood special!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank nthunder2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

We were walking into town and decided to stop here for a bite to eat and a drink. The location is great; right on the beach, the restaurant is beautiful, the food is amazing, the service was a little slow but the staff was very friendly. I absolutely loved the macaws...they are stunning.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Dalejrfan-74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews