We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Montelaguna Boutique Hotel(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$140
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lodge Las Ranas(Playa Samara)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$124
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$113
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samara Pacific Lodge(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$99
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fenix Hotel - On The Beach(Playa Samara)
US$107
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Giada(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$79
US$77
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Samara Paraiso(Playa Samara)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villas Kalimba(Playa Samara)
Book now, pay at stay
US$226
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveller rating
170
48
19
5
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
170
48
19
5
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstrue costa rican experiencedeserted beachnice poolpool area isfresh fruitcrocodilesjunglebeachescerealmelhammockssurf
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 248 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2017

Hotel Crocodile may be a little further out from Samara than other hotels but for that reason you get a great experience. The gardens are very well kept with wildlife everywhere, the pool area is amazingly relaxing with hammocks, a bar and a waterslide for the kids (and adults).

We stayed 4 nights in total - this felt like a good amount of time.

Now we had 2 10 month old babies here which always concerns us when we arrive as we don't know how people will react to this. The staff were lovely, at breakfast they went out of their way to cook them special food (un-requested), play with them to allow us to eat and provide a smile to all of us whenever in the grounds.

The beach (Buena Vista) is 10 mins walk away and an amazing beach. Deserted, surf, wildlife - very different from playa Samara.

We did a lot of cooking for ourselves so only had breakfast at the restaurant which was lovely, fresh fruit, eggs cooked any way you like, cereal, toast etc...

The apartment was huge. We had the apartment above the restaurant which was good but could have benefited from having a few more bits in the kitchen. The only other thing was that noise traveled through the walls which having children and putting them to bed at dinner time meant that it may not have been as relaxing for some as they may have liked. But, there were only 2 rooms adjoined to the restaurant, the rest were detached, lovely looking apartments/bungalows.

The things we loved:
- relaxing by the pool listening and watching all the wildlife
- The deserted beach
- Driving the car through a river to get to Samara (other roads available)
- going for a meal at the local restaurant - a true Costa Rican experience
- knowing that Mel Gibson's House is on the next beach up - go and explore

Overall, ace time, and without children we would have done some flying as well. Also, definitely worth exploring the beaches in the area as they have some amazing ones....

Enjoy...!

Simon and Vicky (Bristol, UK)

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2017 via mobile

This is a very special place in the middle of pure nature. Anyone who loves the sound of the waves, birds singing and monkeys howling will love to wake up in this unique hotel.
Breakfast is amongst the very best in Costa Rica and included in the room.
The staff is very Friendly and helpful with everything.. Rooms are very spacious and comfortable with enough privacy.
Would have loved to stay longer... But will be back!

Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Franciie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2016 via mobile

I'm not a picky traveller and have stayed at a wide range of places and I get that reviews are all relative and based on what you're looking to experience, what you can afford, what you're accustomed to etc. So I simply offer a few things to be aware of before you book here. The staff are nice and the breakfast was simple but fine - eggs, bread, fruit and cereal and good coffee and juice. The room we had was not very comfortable for us for a few reasons. Just be aware that there are no blankets, the pillows are pretty uncomfortable and there are no extras like lotion or conditioner or coffee for the coffee pot etc. Very minimalist as far as that goes. There is a hair dryer and good mirrors. No kitchen or bathroom towels were changed and actually our whole bathroom smelled like urine. Also it's the kind of accommodation where you can hear everything. Like the crickets and the rain (very nice)....and vehicles coming and going at 5 am (less nice). And everyone can probably hear you too. Our room was #10 which we chose because we like to cook our own meals and it has a full kitchen and also because it has two rooms and we were travelling with our young son who goes to sleep quite early and it's nice to have a place to hang out without worrying about waking him after he's gone to bed. The kitchen was fine except for the microwave with makes a loud squealing noise. But this was not a good room choice for us because it is over another room and also the reception area and the floor is very squeaky and not insulated well. We were asked by management to "walk more quietly" which made it hard to relax. We certainly weren't stomping, just walking...but we do have an active 3 year who obviously doesn't know how to tiptoe around. He wasn't screaming or crying or being obnoxious - just playing. We were out all day and, as I mentioned, he's asleep by 7 so it was hardly an issue of it being quiet hours. All that to say, I just wish I had known a few things before choosing this accommodation - it is not ideal for those with young kids in my opinion. Other rooms maybe different. It's a quirky place - not terrible, just average and not very comfortable.

Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
2  Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2016

Great place to get away. Restful and beautiful. Check out the howler monkeys, have a drink at the poolside bar. I would recommend for anyone that wants something not so commercial and touristy. Owners were very friendly and accommodating.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank 551toddb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Most people who travel to Costa Rica are looking for something different. Well look no further! The Flying Crocodile is one of the best hotels we have visited anywhere. The grounds are amazing. There is a cool waterslide into a very nice pool (great for kids and adults alike). The people who run the place are very friendly and speak English and German. The breakfast was also just right for us and included in the price of the room. Speaking of the rooms, I doubt you will find something as cool and unique as this place elsewhere in Costa Rica. The rooms all have very interesting and beautiful architectural elements, and each room or casita differs from the next. We actually talked about going back sooner rather than later so that we can experience one of their other rooms. We also wished we had stayed longer, as this place is really a true gem that we found virtually by accident. Yes there may be other places with basic accomodations a little closer to the main touristy beach area, but I guess it depends on what kind of traveler you are - looking for something unique and different or just going through the motions...

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews