We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Villa del Sueno
Nearby Hotels
Hotel Bosque del Mar Playa Hermosa(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
US$131
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel ManGaby(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Condovac la Costa(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
US$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Hotel & Villas Huetares(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$188
US$164
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Acacia(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
US$136
US$90
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel El Velero(Playa Hermosa)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
166
102
31
18
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
166
102
31
18
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssuperior roomel oasisshort walkcosta ricastandard rooms areprofiterolesbeautiful oasislow seasonfriday and sundaylive bandminute walk from the hotelrooms are smallgreat showernice breakfastlarger poolhotel groundsthe entire staff
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 25 February 2018

The friendliest staff, particularly Stella, Ronaldo, and Leonardo.
Great live band last Sunday: A very festive atmosphere that was super welcoming.
The breakfast included in our room price was delicious and plentiful with enough options to select.
The landscaping was impeccable with various seating areas to find shade.
It's an easy 3-minute walk to the beach, but most would opt to stay on the beautiful premises. They exude the Pura Vida. We will miss Capitan!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DrApricot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Restaura... H, Director de Recepción at Villa del Sueno, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2018

Hello from Villa del Sueño

It was a real pleasure to serve you we appreciate really your comments....you will always be welcome to our hotel.

thank you very much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Accommodations are first rate. The staff is amazing helpful, friendly and welcoming, The resort itself feels secluded, but is a short 5 minute walk from Playa Hermosa, and you have access to everything. Any trip or transportation can be arranged through the desk. The on site restaurant is terrific.There is a very international clientele and everyone was friendly. the grounds are tropical and the howler monkeys are a delightful alarm clock!

Room Tip: reserve in advance
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Juliette D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2018

Food is way overpriced...$12.00 for 3 eggs and we were not told that it would be an extra charge. Eeek. The room over the restaurant /bar must be exclusively given to those who book online. First time and last.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Aileen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

We had a great time at the Villa del Sueno in Playa Hermosa. It is very upscale with a fancy restaurant attached. I must say, that the waiters and waitresses are what made this hotel/restaurant the 5 stars that it is. They were so attentive and approachable. You can tell they love their clients because they know their patrons by name and are genuinely happy to see you for breakfast, lunch or dinner. They go above and beyond to make you feel welcome.

The lunch and dinner itself is a little pricy compared to some other areas in town, but it is delicious, lunch is 8-10 for a sandwich and you purchase fries al a carte. Dinner starting at $20 per plate. That being said, the cook is amazing, she cooked the Red Snapper that we caught while we were fishing with NorthPacific Tours and it was delicious.

I believe we were upgraded since it was our honeymoon, we ended up in a Junior Suite. It was very private and away from the public spaces. The only negative is the bed itself, it was a little hard, we sleep on a Tempurpedic at home and this was a stiffer coil spring bed, took a couple nights to get used to, but if you are having adventures all day, you will probably pass out by 9 pm and not care about the stiffness of the bed.

The Playa Hermosa area is a retirement and ex-patriot community. You will still get bothered while you are hanging out on the beach to purchase the $5 bird whistle, but it's less than if you were at Playa Coco. We actually preferred that we ended up in a quieter community compared to the tourist towns.

Some of the tours that we took in the area:
Mardigi Tours - Beach Tour (5 stars!)
North Pacific Tours - Fishing 1/2 Day (5 stars!)
Rocket Frog Diving - Snorkeling (5 stars!)

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2018 via mobile

The staff is the greatest asset of this hotel, accommodating, happy and willing to assist. Our room was nice, clean and comfortable. Breakfast is modest, you have three options to choose from: continental, local or crepes with fresh fruits. Besides breakfast nothing is complimentary. In some of the evenings one can enjoy live music and dancing.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Nava B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel Restaura... H, Director General at Villa del Sueno, responded to this reviewResponded 6 February 2018

Thank you very much for your replywe appreciate your comments.it was a pleasure to serve you


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews