We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always awesome! ”

Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Fishing in Costa Rica is a family fun experience – memories to last a lifetime! North Pacific Tours has been providing fishing, snorkeling and surfing charters for over 10 years in the Papagayo Gulf, picking up at all the local hotels and beaches in the area. We are a legal and insured fishing company who will never sell charters on any of the beaches. . Please note, there are TWO Playa Hermosa’s. North Pacific Tours is located in province of Guanacaste, 25 minutes from the Liberia airport Our fishing charters are inshore / coastal fishing which means that you will always see the coastline. Depending on the action will determine what fish you target. The types of fishing options we are are bottom/jigging, trolling and casting. If you like to fly fish and you have your own gear, the crew will take you to best secret spots. North Pacific Tours offers full day fishing (8 hours), Half days (5 hours) and 3/4 day (6 hours). Please book in advance because we book up!
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

2nd time using North Pacific Tours. They put me on my yellow fin tuna in one hour, put my boys on a rooster fish and several other tunas even got my sister and her boyfriend over 30 mahi-mahi two days earlier. Everything about this operation is a class act!

Thank mrpkull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa F, Manager at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

The highest compliment we can receive is your repeat business and the referral of our fishing charters to your family and friends! We always appreciate your good word!

Happy Fishing ~ Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (234)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"tuna"
in 42 reviews
"don manuel"
in 21 reviews
"rooster fish"
in 40 reviews
"these guys"
in 22 reviews
"fresh pineapple"
in 15 reviews
"red snapper"
in 12 reviews
"caught fish"
in 14 reviews
"amber jack"
in 6 reviews
"wahoo"
in 6 reviews
"spanish mackerel"
in 6 reviews
"big fish"
in 8 reviews
"worked very hard"
in 8 reviews
"captain roy"
in 4 reviews
"needle fish"
in 10 reviews
"great captain"
in 4 reviews
"costa rica"
in 40 reviews
"plenty of cold drinks"
in 3 reviews
Filter

2 - 6 of 234 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I booked the Don Manuel for a 3/4 charter. Working with Lisa through email could not have been easier. I had a few possible dates, and she was very patient and accommodating. My son (12 yrs) and I met the boat at the agreed upon place & time. Capt Mauricio and his mate Fabian were great. We discussed what types of fishing were looking good and made our decisions. This was the first off shore/salt water experience for my son. Seemed like it only took about 20 mins or so to get to our first spot. Within about 10 mins of hooks in the water, my son was reeling in his first dorado. We had great action for the next few hours with dorado and a few black fin tuna. Mostly trolling, some casting off the front of the boat with lighter tackle. My son brought in a couple of smaller black fin tuna. The boat was well provisioned with plenary of drinks and some light snacks (chips, crackers, cookies). Mauricio produced a fresh pineapple at one point and cut it for us as well. Maybe the best pineapple we ever ate. Things slowed down the last hour and a half or so, but the guys kept working hard to put us on fish. So much so, that after being dry for an hour and a half or so, they got more dtermined. Mauricio wouldn’t let our day end like that. In our waning moments, he put me on a beautiful rooster. Great way to end the day. Fabian cleaned and bagged the dorado for us. The extended family back at the Villa was treated to a fresh feast that night. Everything from booking, to meeting, to fishing, to taking catch home was positive. Mauricio & Fabian were not only excellent fishermen, but they went the extra mile to provide a fun experience for my son & I.

Thank gmm01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa F, Manager at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello!

Great review, we thank you and are so happy that your son had a great time. Creating memories one fish at a time ans we hope you have many more fishing experiences together over the years.

Thanks for using our services and we hope to see you again out on the water with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We had a memorable fishing experience on the Don Manuel, thanks to the continued efforts of Captain Mauricio and his mates. They worked extremely hard to put us on fish. We never caught a sailor marlin, but that is just fishing. We had great success catching dolphins, tuna and pompano.
We booked a snorkeling excursion the second day. Captain Mauricio was kind enough to bring fishing gear and allowed us to troll while going to our snorkeling destination. The snorkeling was nice, but it turned into another great day of fishing. These guys are first class.
At the end of each trip, they provided us with filleted and bagged fish. This was prepared by our chef at Riu Palace which was a wonderful bonus to our great vacation.

Thank CDC1486
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa F, Manager at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for sharing your fishing/snorkleing experiences with us. It is nice to know that the crew are appreciated and that you were pleased with your catch.

We look forward to having you back to go for a Sail fish (catch/release)! Pura Vida ~ Lisa

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018 via mobile

We caught so many fish! So friendly! We caught around 20 fish! The fish were filet on the back of the boat and bagged up for us! The resort cooked them for us and they were wonderful

Thank Christi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa F, Manager at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2018

Very nice! Thank you for your review. We are so pleased everything went well on your trip and you were satisfied with your time out with the crew. It is always a bonus the fish were biting!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 3 May 2018 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at the Secrets Papagayo for our anniversary and used NPT for a full day fishing trip. All of their usual boats were already booked but they were able to send us with their backup boat (The Chasca) with Captain Roy. He was great all day. The fishing was slow, as it always can be, but Captain Roy and his deckhand worked hard all day to try and put us on fish. We did end up catching a small mahi mahi and a smaller rooster fish. Captain Roy was extremely knowledgeable of the area and was as good of a tour guide as he was a captain, pointing out different landmarks and giving us background all day. Would absolutely recommend them and would go for another trip if we are ever in the area again.

Thank Cameron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa F, Manager at Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 4 May 2018

Thank you so much for your review of Captain Roy and his boat the Chasca. I will be sure to share your review with him and his mate. We have been using Roy when we are booked for over five years and he has always Come through for our clients. We do hope you are able to come back to this area again!

Pura Vida!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours also viewed

Playas del Coco, Province of Guanacaste
Gulf of Papagayo, Province of Guanacaste
 
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
Playa Hermosa, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Papagayo Gulf Sport Fishing - North Pacific Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing