We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (324)
Filter reviews
324 results
Traveller rating
171
78
50
16
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
171
78
50
16
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews hot tub canoe tour costa rica leatherback turtles laid back bring your own shampoo private pool beautiful beach jonathan hammocks surfers estuary wildlife conservation stove canopy yoga
Filter
Updating list...
236 - 241 of 324 reviews
Reviewed 4 June 2008

Hotel Las Tortugas is a perfect example of how ecotourism should be run. Their commitment to not only the conservation of the environment but also friendly customer service is applauable. Playa Grande is so much more authentic than nearby Tamarindo. Me and my group were welcomed by the locals and made many friends. The lighthouse apartment was amazing and I would love to stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank DC2Vermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2008

I have traveled to Costa Rica a few times and my last trip to Hotel Las Tortugas was by far the best. Aside from being set right on the beach in a beautiful location for sunsets, swimming, surfing, and relaxing, the service was great and the food was outstanding. Everyone at the hotel was really friendly and the owners were so accomodating and helpful.

Someone complained about their things being stolen. I just want to say that your belongings will be totally safe if you follow all of the precautions. First of all, there are signs EVERYWHERE at the hotel telling you to watch your things. There are safes in the rooms and as soon as you get there the staff stress the fact that you need put your belongings into the safe and lock up. They also allow you to bring your things into the safe in the reception area. Theft happens everywhere in Costa Rica, and if you are smart about keeping your belongings locked up you will not have a problem.

You have to check out Hotel Las Tortugas. It is a real Costa Rican experience and if you love the beach, surfing, sun, nature, friendly people and good food you will love this place. It is nice to be close enough to Tamarindo where you can go out to bars and check out shops, but Playa Grande is so beautiful and the prefect distance away. I can't wait to go back to Las Tortugas!

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank farley24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 May 2008

A bit of advice if you are staying at hotel las tortugas or Playa Grande in general - bring a flashlight! There are no streetlamps or well lit areas near the beach and in April the sun was setting around 6 pm. After the sun sets, it gets dark quickly and can be difficult and dangerous getting around without a flashlight.
This is especially true if staying at the Hotel Las Tortugas apartments. Its about a ten minute walk away, the walk is all in the dark and I wouldn't recommend navigating it without a car. We originally booked three nights at the apartments at Hotel Las Tortugas. We arrived at about 6:30 pm after the sun set and it was pitch black. We wouldve been out of luck except luckily there was a man walking around with a flashlight so we made our way to the apartment. It as very disapointing. It was further from the hotel than advertised and no outside lighting at all and in the middle of the woods. The restaurant, pool, jaccuzzi, and all other amenities were at the actual hotel . Apartments seemed an afterthought. The actual structures were nice enough but were bare, w/o lighting, amenities etc. We switched to the hotel after one night and were much happier. We paid $10 more per night and got an air conditioned room near the pool and with a little balcony. Restaurant decent, but much better food in the area if you have the time and inclination to venture out.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank sammyb8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2008

The hotel was more or less what was advertised. It's a nice quait individually owned property which is what we were looking for. However - there are signs all over about watching your valuables. They aren't kidding. On our first day, we had our room robbed while our 13 year old son slept on the bed and I slept on the hammock on the porch. Clearly whoever did this knew what our situation was - almost to the point it may have been an inside job. Found and took everything - cell phones, cameras, cash, etc. Went through all bags. Found things we thought were well hidden, clearly not the first time they've been through a motel room before. The only things they didn't get were our passports and some cash that was under the mattress where our son slept. Had he not been there, I'm sure they would be gone too. We proceeded to tell other guests about this situation and others said their rooms had been gone through. These folks were smarter than us and they kept stuff literally on their body - not in an occupied room.

Also, NEVER go to Costa Rica, or this property over Easter (Semana Santa). All ticos come to the beach. And somehow they all found their way onto the property and into the pool. The place was crawling with people and really took away from the experience.

Stayed: March 2008
Thank TrippinZs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2008

Las Tortugas is an excellent hotel to stay at, away from the hustle and bustle of Tamarindo. Honestly, I thought the beach was better here in Playa Grande as compared to Tamarindo. The hotel is easy to find and the staff is very accomodating. The rooms were a little lacking though - no alarm clock, TV or any way to keep track of the time. Rooms are advertised as a place to 'recoop' after a day at the beach - advertisements stand true. The hotel allows you to put food and drinks on your room tab, which is helpful in that you don't need to carry cash around with you. Rooms were clean, although the hotel itself could use a revamp.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank bre9581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews