We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Location, location, location.”
Villa Olivia, Costa Rica Beachfront Vaction Home
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa Olivia, Costa Rica Beachfront Vaction Home
Fabulous Oceanfront Vacation, Villa Olivia, Costa Rica Our New Pool. First Group Of Guests Cooling Off.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
Villa Olivia, Costa Rica Beachfront Vaction Home
Fabulous Oceanfront Vacation, Villa Olivia, Costa Rica
Our New Pool. First Group Of Guests Cooling Off.
Front Door Entrance Into Open Courtyard
Kitchen of Local Hardwoods and Granite Conter Tops
Kitchen, Oceanfront View
Walk Directly To The Beach Through the Kitchen and Living
Unique Oceanview Dinning Of Playa Grande
Room 1, 2 twins
Room 2, queen
Bath 2
Courtyard Steps To Upper Level Rooms
Bird's Eye View of 15' Above Ground Pool
Upper Veranda Oceanfront View
Master Bedroom, King
Spacious Upper Level Oceanfront Veranda
View of Studio, Country side
Bedroom 4, single and queen bed
Bedroom 4, Oceanview
Upper Level Veranda Doorway Between Bedrooms
Bedroom 5 Upper Level View
Studio
Studio Kitchen
View of Bedrooms 3 & 4 from Studio
Sunset Surf
Villa Olivia and Casa Mirge
Sweet Surf Session
Family Sunset Stroll
Snorkeling Stroll
Playa Grande, Costa Rica Sunset
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Playa Grande, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
RSE2
London, UK
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Location, location, location.”
Reviewed 31 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

The location of Villa Olivia is simply outstanding. It is no more than 20 ft from the beach, which is itself stunning and incredibly quiet. The villa is set towards the end of what we thought was a rough track - until we had driven elsewhere in Costa Rica where some roads that purport to be 'main' (i.e. with numbers assigned to them) are little better that cart tracks (take a bow route 162). The area is quiet and has a very laid back feel to it, and the waves are fantastic for surfing. Beware the undertow to the right of the house towards the rocks though. There are permanent security / gardening staff on site who are lovely, but speak little (or no) English. The pool is small, and a little like a bath after a day in the sunshine which may or not be a good thing.

The interior of the villa - unsurprisingly - fails to live up to the location and exterior. On a positive note it has every piece of kit that you would expect, and is generally clean and tidy. In places though it felt a little tired - and the water evidently has lots of limescale in it which affected most of the showers, taps and dishwasher. The Wifi speed tested at about 5 MB/S and coverage around and outside the property is excellent.

In summary; you would struggle to find a better located property - it really is idyllic. Despite the few niggles with the interior we would not hesitate to recommend it or to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness
Liked best: The location and access to the beach.
Liked least: Some of the interior fittings were tired.
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gowzer
San Diego, California
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Perfect beach house”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Our party of 11 stayed at Villa Olivia for nine nights The floor plan comfortably accommodated us all. The house is literally on the sand. We had beautiful sunsets every night. The surfing in front of the house varied dramatically, but we did get lucky enough to have some pretty fun waves a number of times. The house staff were very friendly and helpful. We had Kimberly cook for us a few times. She made some awesome dinners for all 11 of us, and with plenty of leftovers.

We booked a Rincon tour through Youarecostarica. It was a way to spend doing the tourist thing. Water tubing, zip lining and horseback riding with lunch was $90/pp. We drove to Rincon, which took about 1.5 hours. It was beautiful, cooler than Playa Grande and the kids all had fun.

It really was a great place for a family reunion. Lots of things to do, or not do. Thrill or chill. It's all good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TaraAbhay...
Brooklyn, New York
1 review
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 3 February 2016 for a stay in February 2015

We have hosted a small yoga retreat at Villa Olivia and Casa Mirage for the past two years and look forward to doing so again and again. The location, property, staff and owner are all amazing! It really is paradise, pristine, private and perfect.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: The location, the beach
Liked least: water pressure in showers could be better
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Joy67117
Toledo, Ohio
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Paradise!”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

We just returned from a perfect week in Costa Rica at Villa Olivia. When we walked in and saw the view out the back door, I couldn't even believe how unbelievably beautiful it is. The pictures in the listing don't do it justice.

I spoke to Marianella prior to our trip, and she arranged airport transportation for our party of 8. We also had Kimberley cook for us on the first night after a very long day and night of travel. The meal was nearly ready when we walked in the door and was absolutely delicious. She had done the shopping for supplies and made a Costa Rican meal for us. We had plenty left over for lunch the next day. Kimberly is great, and although we prepared the rest of our meals, I would absolutely recommend using her as much as practical. He service fee is very reasonable for what she does...including every bit of cleanup.

We also asked Marianelle to arrange boogie board and bike rentals for our stay. They were there on the first day and we had a blast playing in the ocean. The house comes with one bike, but it is good to have one more so that two people can ride up to the surf shop, or small market that is just a little further way (we didn't rent a car).

We stopped at the grocery store on the way to the house from the airport (which I recommend because the markets that are close by do not have everything). We also used Dave for two trips into Tamarindo. His rates are less expensive than local car companies.

The house was very clean when we arrived and was cleaned twice while we were there.

The bedrooms all have air conditioning. The main living space (kitchen, living room) does not have air conditioning but is completely open air with the doors and large windows open. The only time the heat was uncomfortable is when we closed up in the evening on the nights that the bugs got bad after the sun went down.

Playa Grande is an absolute treasure. Staying at Villa Olivia (or the sister property) puts you just steps away from the sand and the completely unspoiled beach and surf. This is the least crowded beach i have EVER visited. The surf was great for surfing and boogie boards and the water was perfect.

I can't say enough good things about the service, the accommodations and the little slice of paradise that was ours for a week.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location, beach
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Del Mar, California
Reviewed 8 July 2015 for a stay in June 2015
3
people found this review helpful

Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$325
/
Night
Week
Make Enquiry
How to book this rental
1
Submit an enquiry to the owner using the above make enquiry button
2
The owner will respond with a quote.  We encourage owners to respond within 24 hours
3
You will be able to send additional messages and pay for the quote through the TripAdvisor Rental Inbox
4
Payments made through the TripAdvisor Rental inbox are covered by Payment Protection
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing