We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing place”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool, Spa, Sun Deck, and Monkeys
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool, Spa, Sun Deck, and Monkeys
Elevated Walkways Thru the Gardens The Gardens are Magical at Night
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
165 reviews
Pool, Spa, Sun Deck, and Monkeys
Elevated Walkways Thru the Gardens
The Gardens are Magical at Night
Elevated walkway through the Gardens
Sunset and The Gardens Light up. Magical
Living and Dinning room Table for 6 Overlooking the Gardens
Living Room with AC, TV, Walk out to Gardens
Living Room
Living Room Open to the Gardens
Living Room Open to Front Terrace
Kitchen with Walkout to Dining and Seating Area
Kitchen with Granite Counter Tops and Laundry Room
Fully Equipped Kitchen with Granite Counter Top
Breakfast Counter
Spiral Staircase to 2nd Floor
Master Bedroom with Ensuite
Master Bedroom AC, TV Walkout To Day Bed & Seating Area
Deck off Master Overlooking the Gardens
Master Bedroom with Vaulted Ceiling AC, TV and Walkout
Ensuite Bath with Rain Shower
2nd Bedroom with AC, TV and Walkout
2nd Bedroom with AC, TV, Walkout to Deck with Day Bed
2nd Bedroom Deck With Day Bed
Private Side Yard
Private Side Yard with Dining, Seating, BBQ
Stef Surf one of two Pool Decks
Spa, Pool, Sun Deck
Sunset and the Gardens lighting up
Fishing on the Beach
Playa Flamingo
Playa Flamingo
Playa Danta
Our Neighbors
Our Neighbors
One Of The Many Beautiful Flowers found on the Property
Guest Photo: We Love, One Minute Walk to our Beautiful Beach
Sunset Just out Side our Door.
Rum in Coconuts Picked from the Gardens at the Stef Surf Pool
Stef Surf Guests walking the Hanging Bridges at the Congo Trail Canopy Tour
Stef Surf Guest learning to Surf
Stef Surf Guest Success First Try Surf Lessons
Stef Surf Guest learning to Surf and Celebrating Success
Stef Surf Guests at Mardi Gras
Stef Surf Guests on a Sunset Cruise
Stef Surf Guest Just Having Too Much Fun
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Playa Flamingo, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 165 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Annie V
1 review
“Amazing place”
Reviewed 20 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

Great property, optimal location and amazing service (customer service and maintenance). We highly recommend it!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicki H
Winnipeg, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice location”
Reviewed 6 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
1
person found this review helpful

This was a nice condo in a well-maintained shared and enclosed garden in Potrero. Close to a beautiful beach - no vehicle necessary - everything is nearby to make you stay comfortable. One of the (new) air conditioning units started leaking during our stay and the temperature outside was averaging 34 degrees C. Francisco went out of his way to have this fixed on Christmas Eve (which is a family holiday in Costa Rica). Everything else worked well and the accommodation was spacious and well-appointed. We appreciated that the facility had basic supplies such as cooking oil, coffee and seasoning. The washer and dryer was useful too.
Tip: Most bars and restaurants are closed on Monday's. Rent a golf cart to get around when it's hot outside.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Shaded outdoor areas and well equipped kitchen.
Liked least: The patio doors were hard to open and close (especially the one for the smaller bedroom) and were noisy to use.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristen B
Santiago, Chile
Level 6 Contributor
143 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“WOW WOW WOW!!!”
Reviewed 3 January 2016 for a stay in December 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We (hubby, 4 year old & myself) had an incredible time at Stef Surf. Everything was really top notch from the moment we booked. We received excellent recommendations from the owners of the apartment & Francisco, the caretaker is a wonderful man! He went above and beyond to accommodate us while we were there. The place is kept up beautifully & really just incredibly beautiful & serene.

Here are a few of our favorite things we did (besides spending time in the beautiful pool & beach down the road from Stef Surf):
Playa Avellana (a little difficult to get to--but WORTH it!!)
Panache sunset sail/snorkle excursion
Order the fresh (whole) red snapper to be delivered from the local fish guy (Francisco can help coordinate)
Playa Danta (loved the mangrove trees)
Restaurante Limonada on Playa Danta (awesome fish tacos)
The Shack (yummy breakfast!)

Really we never had a disappointing experience the entire time we were there--but those stand out as our favorites. We also strongly recommend having a rental car for easier access to all of the above.

Pura Vida Costa Rica! We will be back!!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valerie L
New York City, New York
1 review
“Amazing little Paradise”
Reviewed 21 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

I had an amazing time stayed at the Steff Surf Condo (Pelicano), the place was very clean and comfortable and the staffs was super friendly. I felt like home while stayed at this paradise.
I definitely highly recommended to stay at Steff Surf (Pelicano)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The house and location
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John K
Flagstaff, Arizona
2 reviews
“Just what we were looking for!”
Reviewed 6 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

We appreciate a base of operations for our vacations that offers privacy, peace and comfort. It's hard to find all three. We stayed in the unit called La Gaviota, a two-story townhouse with all the amenities we wanted. It had a full kitchen, laundry, comfortable beds and was located in a jungle atmosphere. What it did not have was noisy neighbors, traffic or the feeling that you're trapped in a cave.
The caretakers, Francisco and Marling, did everything they could to make sure that our "home" satisfied our needs. Francisco even obtained a fresh sea bass for us one evening.
Restaurants are within walking distance. Our favorite was the Hibiscus which is just up the road.
All in all, I would recommend this to anyone looking for something in contrast to the big commercial resorts where folks go to eat, drink and shop.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Quiet
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing