We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place! You need to see when visiting Costa Rica.”

Arenal Volcano (Volcan Arenal)
Book In Advance
More Info
US$30,00*
and up
Arenal Volcano National Park - Admission Ticket
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This 1,633 meter volcano has been rumbling and spewing since 1969.
Reviewed 25 July 2018 via mobile

This is something you need to see when you visit La Fortuna. The vulcano is super beautiful especially when you come closer. Try to get a guide because this will give you the opportunity to learn more about the history of the Vulcano and Costa Rica as well. We had the pleasure of being guided by Edwin who was super nice and had a lot of interesting things to tell about Costa Rica and it’s nature!

Date of experience: July 2018
3  Thank Caroline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 722)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"lava flow"
in 97 reviews
"national park"
in 87 reviews
"arenal volcano"
in 129 reviews
"ceiba tree"
in 21 reviews
"costa rica"
in 111 reviews
"nice hike"
in 52 reviews
"viewing area"
in 13 reviews
"the loop"
in 12 reviews
"per person"
in 51 reviews
"easy hike"
in 34 reviews
"main trail"
in 11 reviews
"lookout point"
in 13 reviews
"short hike"
in 17 reviews
"hot springs"
in 55 reviews
"entrance fee"
in 32 reviews
"clear view"
in 13 reviews
"san jose"
in 13 reviews
Filter

17 - 21 of 1 723 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2018

Wow! This is such a beautiful park! We drove around the other sector first, but the Peninsula Sector is where it's worth spending your time (unless Arenal is in view). The path is so well maintained. The restrooms are very nice and clean. I loved the watch tower and the lake view at the end. You should definitely walk both of the trails. We took the "direct" route out and then took the "jungle" trail on our way back. We saw black vultures, a flock of montezuma oropendola, and tons of insects.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Bridget W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2018

Hiked around the lower part of the volcano. Wound up being a 4 mile hike, but it was very easy. Not a lot of elevation gain unless you wanted to check out the lava flow, then there was a short hike up the side of the mountain. It was relatively easy and once we were up there the view was beautiful. We saw some frogs and HUGE spiders. Saw the very large and old Ceiba Tree

Date of experience: July 2018
1  Thank dh00ple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2018

If you are hoping to see inside a volcano you will be disappointed. You can't get anywhere near the top. In fact, one trail is closed because people have been killed trying to get close to the top. The marked hikes are nice and easy, fairly level and through new forest and fields of cane. You see a variety of flora and some towering trees. The lava rock field was underwhelming, but the hike to and near it is worth a journey. All is fairly easy except the last bit up to the lava field because you have to climb up some sharp rocks to get there. Recommend close toed shoes, not only because of the rocks, but bugs. Ant bites can be painful. Bug spray isn' a bad idea either unless you wear long sleeves and shoes. I got a couple of mosquito bites.

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank Lynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 5 July 2018

The Arenal volcano is the main reason people flock to this area and the national park will get you as close as it is currently possible - it is currently not allowed to hike the Arenal iteself. It is a $15 dollar entrance and a short drive from La Fortuna. Is it also on the way where most popular attractions are.

The main activity of the park is to hike the forest surrounding Arenal. The park has a mirador that will get the closest full view of the volcano, which will be the picture to take of the Arenal, if weather conditions are good - the Arenal often gets covered by clouds.

It also has two sections, one close to the volcano, another close to the lake. We covered only the first section. The volcano section hike is split into two parts that meets each other: the sendero Las Coladas (the lava trail) and the sendero La Ceiba, The lava trail is the "main trail" and takes you to the lava fields and gets you a panoramic view of the area, which includes a view of the arenal and a view of the lake. It is not a long hike but you gain some elevation.

The sendero La Ceiba is basically a detour of the main trail that takes you to a longer path to the giant La Ceiba tree, and loops back to the main trail. The La Ceiba will probably add another hour to your hiking, so plan accordingly.

Overall, we found it to be a nice hike in the jungle but, to be honest, not much more than that. The ceiba is a nice large tree, and the lava fields are nice to see, but they feel more an excuse to hike around rather than a major destination. Having said that, the hike can be quite delightful if you encounter wildlife, which we did, although not as much as we would like. If I were to do it again, I would probably cut it short, skipping the La Ceiba detour, or would do it all and hire a guide to help us locate and learn about the the wildlife.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank wdl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Arenal Volcano (Volcan Arenal) also viewed

Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela
 

Been to Arenal Volcano (Volcan Arenal)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing