We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BILLY TERRA NOVA ”
Review of Cafe Cristina

Cafe Cristina
Ranked #3 of 13 things to do in Orosi
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Reviewed 2 October 2018 via mobile

Visited Finca Cristina unannounced and Ernesto gave me a fantastic personal one on one tour. He took me from the seed process of the Coffee Bean plant all the way through to the roasting process. All done organically. Very informative and exciting. Incidental Ernesto is an expert on all 400 species of tropical birds. Like another reviewer said, this is the real deal. Not a tourist trap. Been in Costa Rica for almost 3 wks now. I highly recommend this tour to all coffee connoisseurs of the world. At the roasting process there is hot brewed fresh coffee waiting for you. It was the smoothest and best tasting coffee I ever had. Price of the tour is 15 USD per person. I was just lucky enough to be the only person on the tour group. The farm is also owned and run by Veterans. Your also invited to pick as many bananas off the banana tree as you like. They were the sweetest and best tasting ever. If your in the San Jose area, if You do nothing else, Please visit Finca Cristina in the Orosi valley. Bus from Cartago to Paraiso. Paraso to Cafe Cristina by taxi or Uber.

Date of experience: October 2018
Thank Voyage787564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"organic coffee"
in 3 reviews
"lonely planet"
in 2 reviews
"start to finish"
in 2 reviews
"beans"
in 2 reviews
"tourist trap"
in 2 reviews
"educational tour"
in 2 reviews
"growing coffee"
in 2 reviews
"coffee tour"
in 2 reviews
"usd per person"
in 2 reviews
"costa rica"
in 5 reviews
"ernie"
in 5 reviews
"seed"
in 4 reviews
"process"
in 5 reviews
"knowledge"
in 2 reviews
"cup"
in 2 reviews
"roasting"
in 2 reviews
"finca"
in 8 reviews
Filter

3 - 7 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2018

Waze App - Look up "Finca Cristina, Provincia de Cartago"
We love coffee more than ever...
We've been to this treasure of a family-owned and run coffee farm more than once. Why? We love hearing/seeing/learning how this family pours LOVE into every plant, ever coffee berry, and into this planet. They do it in a way that is second to none. (Really.) This tour takes you to the home and farm of Ernie and Linda who, along with their son, have created the perfect balance of nature to raise their smooth and flavor-packed coffee. We are SPOILED on drinking cafe Cristina's wonderful coffee as we soon found out how the birds, insects, shade and more all make their coffee special... organically. Come see what REAL "organic" is all about. It's a turn on!) Linda is an amazing teacher as is her son Ernesto. (We've been on a tour with each of them.) You'll feel like your a 5th grader on a field trip, but taught at a graduate level! Fun and interested, educational and inspirational. Don't miss this tour!

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank DavidandAngela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2018 via mobile

We wish to thank Cristina for the very nice tour! She is an very cool teacher and knows a lot of facts about how to grow coffee in an organic way. If you love coffee, want to learn about it and want to support an authentic family buisiness, that the place you are looking for!

Date of experience: August 2018
Thank Resort51058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

Very educational. Learned a lot about the methods and challenges of organic coffee farming. Would highly recommend to anyone wanting to know about coffee.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank sdp307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2018

Thanks to Lonely Planet we booked a tour at Finca Cristina, a coffee plantation which even our local colleagues were not aware of. A fully organic approach to planting and growing coffee caught our interest. We had an amazing time thanks to the owners Linda and Ernie who explained us everything on their philosophy from seed to cup in a truly delightful and fun way. We learned so much here during the 3 hours tour and from now on rather pay a bit more for really great coffee!

Date of experience: February 2018
1  Thank Ann2013Kay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cafe Cristina also viewed

Orosi, Province of Cartago
Orosi, Province of Cartago
 
Orosi, Province of Cartago
Orosi, Province of Cartago
 

Been to Cafe Cristina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing