We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“{VEGAN REVIEW} The best sit-down restaurant in La Fortuna!”

Inspira Cafe Restaurante
Reserve with OpenTable
Inspira Cafe Restaurante is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$25
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We live 40 minutes from La Fortuna and will often visit to enjoy a nice meal. This was our first visit to Inspira but we will definitely be back.

There are very few options for vegans in Costa Rica besides the usual beans and rice so finding a restaurant with a menu that said "vegan burger" was a lovely surprise. The surprise didn't end there. This was a thin falafel topped with thinly sliced radishes, red onions, arugula, and fennel. Some falafel burgers can be pretty dry but this combination melted in your mouth. We asked for french fries instead of the cassava fries it usually comes with and we were cheerfully accommodated.

I had an Inspira Margarita which was a tasty departure from a traditional margarita. My husband had the Berta beer which was a locally produced, perfectly hopped IPA.

The atmosphere is inviting, comfortable, and contemporary. It is open to the street as most restaurants in Costa Rica are so if it's raining you may want to choose to sit toward the back. Our waitress asked us if we wanted to move our table when it started to rain but we enjoyed the mist.

The service was impeccable and our every need was attended to. We will definitely return. I'll be thinking about that burger until we do.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank ANewDayVegan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dayaan2016, Propietario at Inspira Cafe Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hello ANewDayVegan thank you very much for you amazing recommendation. It is a pleasure for us to host you. And we can not wait to have you back soon. Thank you!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (614)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 614 reviews

Reviewed 14 October 2018

We are vegans and visited a few restaurants that had vegan options - Inspira was by farrrrr the best! They were so accommodating for our needs and the food was satisfying and delicious but didn't leave us feeling heavy. Highly recommend!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Traveling Our R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dayaan2016, Propietario at Inspira Cafe Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 16 October 2018

Hello Traveling Our R it was a pleasure to help you and host you. Thank you very much for your excellent review. Please come on your next visit to La Fortuna

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2018

We had a great time, great food and great service!! The recommendation said that it was new costa rican food but I would say it is more new food with an international flair!! REally enjoyed and the group had fun

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bart F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dayaan2016, Propietario at Inspira Cafe Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Hello Bart F thank you very much for your great recommendation. We are very happy you came and enjoyed our cuisine.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2018 via mobile

Our server Dani was awsome, the food was really good. We order a burguer, they substitute the fries with yuca and was great. I really recommend this place.

Thank Paula G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dayaan2016, Propietario at Inspira Cafe Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Hello Paula G thank you very much for recommending our restaurant. We are a family business and really care for our clients. Thank you for helping us grow

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2018

On our 5 day stay at the Volcano lodge and Springs , we had the opportunity to visit downtown La Fortuna. We checked Trip Advisor and Inspira was rated excellent. we went there for lunch and had a table on the veranda overlooking the park. Dani was our waitress. And she was top notch. Had a great seafood lunch and ended up being a very pleasant day in downtown.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank zekid1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dayaan2016, Propietario at Inspira Cafe Restaurante, responded to this reviewResponded 3 October 2018

Hello zekid1 thank you very much for your recommendation and for this excellent review. Please visit us again on you next trip

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Inspira Cafe Restaurante also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Inspira Cafe Restaurante? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing