We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect from beginning to end”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Pool Area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
91 reviews
Private Pool Area
Main Entry
Enjoy daily breakfast poolside in the 'Cielo Rancho'
Entry from Cielo Rancho
Kitchen area
Common area
Stairs to Upstairs Master Suite
Downstairs King Bedroom
Downstairs Queen Bedroom. Also equipped with a small Murphy Bed for a young child.
Downstairs bathroom
Downstairs bathroom walk in shower
Upstairs open bar area
Upstairs bar sitting area
Upstairs Master Suite.
Master Suite View
Master Suite bathroom.
Casa Cielo Entry in Evening
Various types of Haliconia flowers atract many species of hummingbirds around the property.
Montezuma's Oropendula feeding on one of our banana trees.
One of the many flowering plants in our gardens.
Chestnut Billed Toucans are regulars at Casa Cielo.
Humming Bird taking a break in our gardens.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 91 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
netherwor...
Sandwich, Massachusetts
1 review
“Perfect from beginning to end”
Reviewed 26 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Spent four nights at this lovely oasis at the top of a mountain. Paul and Rosy couldn't have been more gracious and wonderful hosts. It felt like staying with friends. The meals were amazing. Our three teenage daughters are begging us to return next year. I'm not the type of person who writes reviews, but this genuinely exceeded all expectations.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
avidtrave...
Basel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Not only pura vida.... pure nirvana is the signature experience”
Reviewed 19 February 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Perfection from beginning to end. Thanks so much to Paul, Rosy and family for their superlative hospitality with peace and privacy. From the easy and informative booking process, to waking up to tai chi and coffee with hummingbirds and volcano views from the main suite balcony kitchen, to tailored private day trips all organized whatever the fancy whether adventure, waterfalls or romance, to relaxing by the private pool with massages or a glass of wine and last but not least, to the fabulous feasts for breakfast or dinner which spoilt us beyond compare. We regularly reminisce two months after the dream about the amazing experience of Casa Cielo. Do not hesitate and we hope to come back one day again. Thank you again

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PIA666
L.I.
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Above and Beyond expectations”
Reviewed 13 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Casa Cielo, in Monterrey Costa Rica is close to The Arenal Volcano and the town of La Fortuna. It is near most of the best places to visit in the region. BUT, the best part, is that it is gorgeous here....immaculate, romantic, private, magical and run by the nicest, most accommodating couple who tended to our every need! You would be crazy to stay anywhere but here! 4 of us stayed here for 1 week and can't wait to go back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Feb 2017
We are so happy that we were able to make your stay here a memorable one. We look forward to seeing you again. Pura Vida!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Awesome Home and Family”
Reviewed 10 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

We had a most enjoyable stay at Casa Cielo while visiting Costa Rica! Paul Robinson and his family were phenomenal hosts. The location is beautiful with the bedrooms all having a great view of the Arenal Volcano. His home is lovely with a wonderful outdoor pool and dining area. We enjoyed eating the delicious meals his wife Rosie prepared for us outside while delighting in the wide array of birds that visited the yard! Paul was so helpful both before our trip with planning excursions and going out of his way to arrange meals, transportation, and offering other concierge services. We had a limited time to visit and he sent a list of recommended activities and we couldn’t be more grateful! During our stay, he helped us arrange visits and transportation to Mystic Park, Hot Springs, a ziplining tour through the rain forest followed by a visit to a Melaku tribal home where a descendant from the tribe talked about the tribe’s history, traditional dress, and customs. We also did a white water rafting tour followed by a meal at an organic farm where educational presentations were provided on how they make coffee and how sugar cane is harvested. My husband and I were particularly struck by the kindness of everyone and the genuine desire to teach about their land and traditions. We also took a pontoon boat tour down Rio Frio (Cano Negro Wildlife Refuge) with a naturalist where we got up close views of multiple animals including spectacled caiman, howler monkeys, capuchins, spider monkeys, iguanas, numerous birds including kingfishers, herons, egrets, cormorants, snake eaters, the “Jesus Christ” lizard named after its ability to walk on water, and of course the highly sought after perezoso (sloth). Paul was spot on with his recommendations and made travel between each activity effortless with all of the arrangements he made! He was a wealth of knowledge about the area, the people, the culture, and the flora and fauna and we couldn’t be more grateful for our time spent at Casa Cielo. I would also highly recommend spending a morning sipping coffee with a good book upstairs in the open-air living room and bar in one of the hammocks while listening to the songs of the wide array of birds that came to visit. It was definitely food for my soul! If you feel like taking a short stroll, there is also a beautiful infinity pool and waterfall that Paul built as well that has some breathtaking views. He is a humble man with many talents and spending time with him was like being with a longtime friend (easy-going and accommodating). I miss Rosie’s cooking already! I would highly recommend the Tico Breakfast or Paul’s Poached Eggs, although all the meals were delicious. We also LOVED the dinners!!! Rosie is warm, friendly, kind, and a most talented chef and tender-hearted mom! I would not only give this place two thumbs up, but I would also like to return, perhaps with our kids! It was a great couple’s getaway and I can see it being a wonderful family getaway as well!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
rws1ny
New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 16 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
2
people found this review helpful

From the moment you arrive, you are swept into a true magical journey. Everything is beautiful, warm and welcoming. The home, the family, the food, the beauty of the surroundings. The crazy thing for us was that it rained, and I mean rained every day. Not just a little. We ventured out in downpours and fog so thick you almost wanted to get out of the car to see the road in front of you. Even with the rain, we smiled all day long and curled up in bed after amazing homemade dinners almost every night. The one evening we did eat out, we wish we had not. Paul, Rosy and the family (Junior included) were just amazing. We are a family of 4, two boys 18 and 21 both studying engineering and very technology bound. It was fantastic to unplug, relax by the pool, play cards and just appreciate the splendors of the Costa Rican life in the area. We were not afraid to venture on our own and had rented a car. 4WD definitely recommended. The roads can be challenging and we had our moments of needing to turn around as we ended up going down some paths less traveled at times accidentally. The decision to rent vs hire a driver is one to evaluate based on personal preference. We loved having the car. Paul assisted us in setting up excursions. We did white water rafting (unbelievable!), repelling, walking bridges, La Fortuna waterfall, hot springs to name a few. We also got a chance to see Paul's tree farm and a place where a local Tico raises butterflies. Our days started early with a breakfast that we bolted out of bed for and ended early as the sun sets before 6p. We fell asleep to the sound of the rain on the tin roof. The first night it surprised me, now I still miss that. We spent the first half of our vacation in the Arenal area at Casa Cielo and then traveled to Tamarindo, Guanacasta and stayed at a luxury resort. At the beach it was warm, sunny and dry - we still missed Casa Cielo and compared everything to the first half of the trip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing