We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
15 people are viewing this hotel
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$423
US$412
View Deal
Hotels.comUS$412
Agoda.comUS$412
Tabacon Grand SpaUS$412
eDreamsUS$412
TravelocityUS$412
Prestigia.comUS$423
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4 986)
Filter reviews
4 987 results
Traveller rating
3 514
957
326
113
77
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
3 514
957
326
113
77
Show reviews that mention
All reviews los tucanes hot springs shangri la gardens hotel guests la area costa rica honeymoon suite rainforest suite day pass dinner buffet private area swim up bar couples massage arenal volcano heaven on earth beautiful resort star resort
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 4 987 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife and I stayed here for her 40th birthday celebration. From the moment we arrived everything was excellent. The staff brought us refreshments while we completed the check in process and received a brief overview of the resort and its amenities. Once we went to our room, we were delighted with a “happy birthday” banner adorning the door.

We each received a massage from the spa. Again, an excellent experience except that we were not told to arrive 30 min early for check in.

The hot springs were a brief two minute shuttle ride from the main resort. We at first were apprehensive about the need for the shuttle but found that it was run very efficiently with less than a five minute wait each time we used it. The hot springs were a very unique experienced with meticulous attention to detail and cleanliness. We spent most of our evenings there. The signage was a little confusing, admittedly we were lost more than once trying to find out way out. The water was crystal clear, very warm, and chemical free. Truly a one of a kind experience.

The breakfast Buffett which was included was very good with special attention to COVID precautions which is always appreciated. The service again was very good as well as the food. All of the food and meals we sampled was above our expectations. We felt the dinner buffet was a bit overpriced at $40 USD/person for what it offered, we did not try this one. All of the other food options were delicious, fresh, and reasonably priced.

We participated in the Tapas/wine tasting one evening. We agree this was one of our favorite experiences of the stay. The somliea was both knowledgeable and entertaining throughout the experience. We were running 15 minutes late, and he waited for us to start which was greatly appreciated!

Date of stay: January 2021
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Q6883QGjeffl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Marketing at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Tabacon. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your visit and birthday celebration at our property. It is wonderful to read that you had the opportunity to visit our spa and receive a pleasant treatment in our open air bungalows surrounded by the nature of the forest. In the same way, it is nice to know that you enjoyed our "Tapas and wine tasting experience". We appreciate your valuable comment and look forward to serving you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Everything was immaculate, arrived late and room was upgraded complementary. The springs resort was out of a dream, and the service was impeccable. Highly recommend staying at least a night here. One of Costa Rica's gems.

Date of stay: January 2021
Thank joeybec007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Marketing at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Joey,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Tabacon. We are glad to read to had a great time and that you enjoyed our natural hot springs and services. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the near future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

This was an overnight stay so we only had a short experience here. It was wonderful! Wished we had a whole day at the thermal experience. Anniversary trip so we stayed in honeymoon suite. Beautiful room, great view of the rainforest. Service was friendly and quick. We had driven from Manuel Antonio that day, arriving later than we planned. The thermal experience closed in a couple hours after our arrival so the young lady at the desk helped us get to the thermal experience quickly and arranged room service to be delivered upon our arrival back to the room!! Two thumbs up ! Very close to volcano national park. Also located close to the road. Room was quiet if doors were closed but I left ours open to hear rainforest. A truck on the road woke me that morning. Otherwise wonderful staff, wonderful facilities and excellent experience!

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Jeff G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Marketing at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Hello Jeff,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience at Tabacón. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed your stay and that we were your place of choice for an anniversary trip. It is a pleasure to know that you enjoyed our hot springs, our proximity to the Arenal volcano national park and the comfort of our rooms. We appreciate your valuable comment and hope that you return soon.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Really enjoyed staying at the Tabacon. The hotel and staff are excellent.great experience for ourselves and our kids. The rooms are nice and clean the food is good the hot springs are amazing and as hotel guest you can go there as much as you like. Because it was very rainy for us the hot springs were a great solution for rainy days.

Date of stay: January 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank 730sivanc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Marketing at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear valued guest,

It is a pleasure to know that we had the opportunity to serve you. It is a pleasure to know that you and your children enjoyed your stay at our property. It is a pleasure to know that you consider Tabacon a great hotel and resort. We appreciate your valuable comment and hope you return soon.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

A must when you are visiting Costa Rica
The resort and hotel staff were wonderful and very helpful
The hotel grounds are beautiful. Food was delicious
The hot springs resort is out of this world amazing.

Date of stay: January 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank olesa202108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Community M, Marketing at Tabacon Thermal Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Hola Olesa202108,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Tabacon with us. We are glad to read you enjoyed your time and that our team, grounds , food service and hot springs were part of your extraordinary experience. We appreciate your review and hope to host you again in the future.

Pura Vida,
Marcel Stittner
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews