We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Loved this box house!”
other travellers have booked this property
the house
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
the house
the entrance living room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
38 reviews
the house
the entrance
living room
view from living room
garden and tha Arenal Volcano
the sofa corner
sofa and TV
kitchen
kitchen
main bedroom with AC
main bedroom with AC
secondary bedroom with AC
the bathroom
the bathroom
the bathroom
balcony
BBQ & hammoks area
BBQ & hammoks area
the garden
the garden
the garden
the garden
balcony view
the covered parking
the covered parking
the hotsprings
rio fortuna waterfall
rio celeste waterfall
the Arenal volcano
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Italian first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Bruce C
Glenboro, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Adequate”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Great location and very safe with an alarm system and a very helpful property manager. However, furniture was very basic ( a few wooden chaiirs, table, reasonably comfortable beds) and there were quite a few ants especially in the kitchen. We found a small scorpion there as well. Food had to be stored away mostly in the refrigerator in order keep this issue to a minimum but there were usually ant "highways" in evidence on the kitchen walls and floors most of the time. The bathroom was clean and the shower had hot water. There were a couple of fans but no air conditioning. We spent our days exploring the area, only returning to the property in the evening. It is located on the edge of the town in a nice yard which suited us well as La Fortuna is quite touristy. Our needs when travelling are pretty basic and of all the properties we stayed at, this was the only one that we found to be somewhat disappointing.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kkhurl22
Winthrop, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Loved this box house!”
Reviewed 27 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
1
person found this review helpful

I loved this house. We just got back from Costa Rica. There is so much to do in La Fortuna. The house is right near it all. We rented a car and drove to the town to meet the person who brought us to the house. The house is very clean and safe. There is a gate before you enter the yard and a house alarm. The beds are comfortable and the house is clean. The yard is so nice with a great view of the Volcano. I don't think you can find a better deal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view
Liked least: Little bugs at the sink
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salt lake city UT
Reviewed 8 October 2012 for a stay in September 2012

Value
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Jackson WY
Reviewed 12 August 2012 for a stay in August 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
vancouver BC
Reviewed 17 July 2012 for a stay in July 2012

Value
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$90
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing