We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent gelato and cakes”
Review of Lava Rocks Cafe

Lava Rocks Cafe
Price range: US$5 - US$30
Cuisines: American
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 9 October 2018 via mobile

We visited one day and had to go back again, the gelato was delicious. The very next day we had gelato, tiramisu and chocolate cheesecake. The cheesecake was so good that a bee decided to join us for a sample LOL. We were also so impressed by the tiramisu that we purchased two more before we went back to our hotel. 10/9/2018

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Steve W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (325)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 325 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Had an amazing lunch here with friends , I had the fish with rice which was lush , the beer was cold and the service was great too .. would recommend xxx

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank clairer1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

We had a lovely meal at Lava Rocks, opting for a mix of typical food and burgers, we had a food quantity of well cooked and tasty food.
The restaurant sits by the street so we chose to sit inside a bit further.
The service was very good, prompt and friendly. Being low. Season it was not too busy and the staff weren't rushing to throw us out.
I'd recommend this place as one of several good place to choose from in La Fortuna.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2018 via mobile

Waste of time and money. We didn’t get given glasses with our beers and never received our tap water. The food was below average and over priced for what seemed like oven ready meals. The service was poor, didn’t acknowledge customer needs and showed a huge lack of care.

Date of visit: August 2018
Thank JLEWxo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2018 via mobile

Skip this place! The wait staff barely acknowledged us and we had to get utensils from another table. Abandoned us after our meal. We wanted to add gelato for dessert which was on the menu but we gave up when nobody wanted to take our order. Kinda left a bad taste of our last night in La Fortuna. Everyone else had been very kind.

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank Sherry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lava Rocks Cafe also viewed

La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
La Fortuna de San Carlos, Arenal Volcano National Park
 

Been to Lava Rocks Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing