We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (158)
Filter reviews
158 results
Traveller rating
52
44
28
14
20
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
44
28
14
20
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 158 reviews
Reviewed 15 January 2018 via mobile

Couldn’t have had a better stay in Alajuela! Located only 5 mins from SJO, the hotel itself is incredibly clean, and rooms are not very expensive, especially considering that some of them have private bathrooms. My favorite thing to do here is have morning coffee was on the rooftop Bonsai garden. From the rooftop, you have an incredible views of San Jose and the whole Central Valley, and 5 different volcanoes (Poas and Turrialba to name a few)! Roberto Cacho, the owner of Hotel mi Tierra, was very hospitable, friendly and laid back. He is running an art collective with his friends at the hotel, so it is decorated with so much beautiful and original art! Staff is friendly, willing to give recommendations, and they have a kayaking adventure company as well, so if you are looking for a bit of adventure, this is the place to be! I can not recommend this place enough, Roberto helped made my stay in Costa Rica truly unforgettable.

Stayed: January 2018, travelled solo
Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

This place is not only the easiest gateway to the airport, it's well located in the quiet and beautiful Alajuela rather than the bustling and crowdy San Jose. Walking distance from the city center, mall providing bars, restaurant and cinema at his door step, easy access to the suroundings such as Poas Volcan, La Paz Waterfall Garden, ... if you have some extra time. The place offer a great local breakfast every morning and the staff is genuinly friendly ! Did I mention the astonishing view all over the beautiful central valley at night ? I had an early flight in the morning and the owner Roberto organized a taxi for me which literally took less than 5 min because there is no traffic on that side of the city !

I recommend this hotel 100% and would come back anytime if I have a flight to catch the next day.

Pura Vida !!!

Room Tip: The room on the top as the best view on the central valley and it's incredible at night !
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Lorenzo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2017

We stayed at this property's sister hotel, Hotel Mi Tierra Casablanca, which doesn't seem to be rated separately in TripAdvisor because it is new. We booked the Hotel Mi Tierra in downtown Alajuela but were asked to go to the new hotel instead. It is not as well located...you can walk to downtown but it takes about 15-20 minutes...but it is located in a quiet neighborhood.

The Casablanca is in a large white house. We had a very spacious family room on the top floor. It is not fancy but it is clean. The owner, Roberto, was very friendly and he has decorated the hotel with his artwork. We had the best gallo pinto of our whole trip here (and it's included in the room price). Overall I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a budget option near the airport.

  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Zippy-Pamplemousse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2016 via mobile

Hotel Mi Tierra is run by some incredible folks. If you need to stay near the airport (lots of 6am flights) THIS is the spot. The hotel is about 10mins from the airport. If you want to spend some time in Alajuela the location couldn't be better. The central plaza is only a few blocks away and a few blocks more you are at the central market.

The hotel is has simple, clean rooms with TV and fan. The price is great and there are options for even more economical stays (such as shared bathroom). The pool is just right for a cool dip or hanging around. Breakfast is included.

This is a great option for those staying in the central valley.

Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jake L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2016 via mobile

Great hotel close to the airport ($4-6 in cab), perfect for late or early flights. Clean, comfortable rooms, breakfast included, showers were hot, and most of all Roberto and his staff are incredibly welcoming. Helped us with buses, cabs, and recommended restaurants nearby. We arrived at 1am and had no problems checking in, front desk is 24hrs but still send an email to let them know your timing, they respond within a day. We liked it so much we booked our last night here too. Thanks for a wonderful stay Roberto, Pura Vida!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews