We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing service warm hospitality”
other travellers have booked this property
 Front Facade
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
 Front Facade
Queen size Bed, AC, TV and Balcony Queen size Bed, AC, TV and Balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
18 reviews
Front Facade
Queen size Bed, AC, TV and Balcony
Queen size Bed, AC, TV and Balcony
Full Bed with Balcony
Full Bed with Balcony
Kitchenette & Balcony
Private Kitchenette and Balcony.
 - Diner available for our guest previous reservation.
Balcony
Parking Safe and Private.
Transportation /Day Trips/ Tours
Our views from the balcony.
Coffee fields around.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Alajuela, Province of Alajuela

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 18 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

moresunsc...
1 review
“Amazing service warm hospitality”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Just came back from my Costa Rican trip and William made the trip absolutely greater than expected. He constantly picked up our group right on time. Right off the bat makes you feel welcomed. His friendly deminer and courteous nature easily allowed us ask for recommendations and we were not disappointed. He was our driver for all 5 days and everyday went the extra mile for us to complete our To do listen.

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
25 Feb 2018
Thanks very much for your comments.

Ruta Verde House & Tours
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adis A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our driver in costa rica.”
Reviewed 20 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Judt got back from our 5 day trip to costa rica. We were picked up by William from the airport he was waiting for me ad my 2 friends at the exit with a sign with my name on it. He was nice enough to take us directly to la paz waterfall straight from the airport so we would not waste time. He also took us to Arenal volcano, la fortuna and a canopy tour all in one day. It was a great day. On the next day he drove us to manuel antonio and we spent the day there. He made us feel safe and always recommended great places to eat and tried to accommodate our requests. We are so grateful thanks to him we got to do everything on our list, and enjoyed our Costa rica trip so much. Muchas gracias William no la pasamos chancho!!

Date of stay: September 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
25 Feb 2018
Thanks very much for you comments.

Ruta Verde House & Tours
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
603lisset...
Bronx, New York
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience!”
Reviewed 28 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

William and Lilian were excellent hosts, and we had the best time. The apartment is beautiful and extremely comfortable. William was very flexible and accommodated a last minute trip to Poas and La Paz for us. This gave our vacation an spectacular end! He picked us up at the Puntarenas ferry for an appropriate fare, took us to his place and then drove us the next day to the airport for free. Very convenient! Lilian also prepared a meal for us that night, we were exhausted and when she saw us arrived, she graciously offered.

Date of stay: August 2016
How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Teenagers
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
Thank Lissete for all your comments. For me and Lilia is was a pleasure to meet you, Ismael and María, please be welcome any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sherryeld...
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Do not book this!”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

When I booked this property it was under the listing of Tambor Apartment. It was presented as a rental of the entire house and with a/c and a sitting area. When we arrived the owner's father showed us around. We were given access to two of the bedrooms. There were two other doors that were locked and I don't know if anyone else was staying there. There was a dress in the closet in one of our rooms. Only one of the rooms we were given actually had a/c. The worst part was that there were bugs in one of the beds. My daughter cleaned two bugs out and then my husband checked and there was another bug! Disgusting. The owner showed up and promised a refund - however, once I was back home, he only gave me part of the money back. Because I didn't call within 24 hours, Trip Advisor would not refund my money. I have learned my lesson and will never book another property that doesn't have many positive reviews.

Date of stay: July 2016
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Service
Liked least: bug in bed
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
29 Aug 2016
We very sorry that our Department has not met your expectations and even more that you have chosen a tropical country for your vacation. Maybe you should have asked your daughter who spent three weeks on these country before coming and discover the country has many insects because we are on the rainy season. About insects found in the room is his word against mine because at the time we check none insect was found. As I explain on your arrival you got what you booked, neither more nor less, clearly the listing says apartment with two rooms and air conditioned in the main room. Once again we so sorry to not feel your high expectations.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adrian L
1 review
“Luxurious accommodation with stunning views at a great value”
Reviewed 1 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Bill kindly picked us up from the airport car rental so we could follow him home. Finding your way round Costa Rican streets after dark is challenging even with a GPS, so this was a great help. Costa Rican houses rarely have names or numbers, so finding our lodging was difficult throughout our trip.

The house is beautifully furnished and fitted - I wish mine was as well appointed. There were lots of nice spaces to sit or eat or enjoy the view. Bill should really consider interior design as a side-line. Bill was a very helpful and knowledgable host with excellent English; he has worked as a guide and driver for a local hotel. He offered make breakfast, though we chose to walk down to nearby Pandora, and did make us excellent morning coffee.

Each room had a verandah with fabulous views over coffee plantations and out over the valley to the mountains and volcanos. The property is located just far out of town enough to feel as if you're in the country, but close enough to be handy for the airport and connecting roads. I wish I had a road bike to cycle up towards the volcano as lots of locals were doing in the morning. Being on the road to Vulcan Poas, there was some traffic noise, but it was fairly quiet during sleeping hours.

We stayed two nights after landing late and one night at the end of our trip before flying out. We're extremely pleased we stayed at Ruta Verde House - infinitely preferable to an anonymous airport hotel - and we are grateful to Bill for his generous help and hospitality. A perfect place to start and end your Costa Rican adventure.

Date of stay: August 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The minor traffic noise
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.