We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Robledal(Alajuela)
US$97
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$155
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boca Tapada Lodge(Alajuela)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Airport Gardens(Alajuela)
Free cancellation until 21/07
US$79
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$256
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (988)
Filter reviews
988 results
Traveller rating
757
177
36
13
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
757
177
36
13
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshiking trailscentral valleyinfinity poolorchid housesan joseprivate jacuzzicosta ricaoverlooking the valleybright colorscoffee plantationour honeymoonrooms are hugebeautiful groundsmain buildingcity lightsbefore flying homedogs barking
Filter
Updating list...
162 - 167 of 988 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2017 via mobile

A mountain Hardin with very comfortable suites. Try 9 through 6 suites to be near restaurant, warm lap pool with shade, access to trails to waterfall. No horizon pool by spa beautiful yet almost no shade to be found. (Small shade structure for two). BRING a bar of soap and shampoo. Squirt bottles don't do the job. Down side... Motorcycle's with no mufflers starting at 4:30am. Easy to roll over and sleep deeply with the cool dry mountain air. We'll be back!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XGerente, Manager at Xandari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Dear David...we will like to thank you very much for the time that you have spent in sharing with us your experience at our hotel. We will follow up with your highlights in order to make a better performance, each and every day that is our goal. The soap and shampoo in dispensers is part of the environmental practices we have implemented and most people have been happy with the quality of products, these are organic products. Evenings and nights are cool with the breeze of the mountains and as you said is great to sleep deeply. We will be looking forward to your next visit. Best regards, Marcela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2017 via mobile

Gorgeous hotel on a huge area. Very friendly and attentive staff. Great restaurant with a stunning view. The villas are luxuries suites with a great view over the San Jose valley. Three different pool and a 2 hrs hiking track with various waterfalls. The whole area is one single ginormous park with palms, coffee plants, banana trees and exotic plants. Huge bathroom with nice amenities. Good, hard beds. Huge private terrace.

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank Georg S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XGerente, Manager at Xandari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Dear Georg S Traveler...we are glad to hear that you had a great experience during your stay with us. Thank you for taking your time to review us and really hope to have the opportunity to offer you our hospitality in the near future. Best regards, Marcela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017

My wife and I stayed at Xandari Resort & Spa in Alajuela after returning from the Osa peninsula. Two years ago we promised ourselves that we would explore the grounds more the next time and are very glad that we did. We had a wonderful stay.

Xandari boasts several kilometers of trails through the grounds and forest below. Most is below the residences to the south and includes a small river with several waterfalls, an orchard and small farm. Beautiful plants, flowers, birds and butterflies are abundant and easily observed. Having the forest preserve available for guests makes Xandari very special indeed.

We stayed in villa cinco with a gorgeous view of the lights of the city below. It was very roomy and comfortable with an outdoor patio for relaxing. The color scheme is big swatches of bright colors to match the vibrant colors in the gardens. The food and the service were excellent; we were particularly fond of the ceviche and eggplant. The continental breakfast was perfect before setting out on a day of adventure - coffee, juice, great fresh fruit, muffins and toast.

Room Tip: Xandari has about two dozen rooms, so make reservations early.
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacaranda45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XGerente, Manager at Xandari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

Dear Jacaranda45 traveler...Thank you very much for sharing with us your comments, we do appreciate your time. On behalf of all of our staff it is a real pleasure for us to have the opportunity to host you and to be able to have you again at this your home .
We certain want to make your stay as much pleasant each time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2017

If you are looking for a place to begin or end your trip to Costa Rica and are flying in or out of San Jose Airport, look no further. The view is spectacular, the trails to the waterfalls are some of the best of our trip and the food...the best guacamole ever! The breakfast was delicious and included with the room. You definitely want 3 days to enjoy the grounds and the pools. We went on a coffee tour one afternoon and everything was arranged on site. Having the transportation from the airport made our arrival so effortless. Raphael was our driver for both the tour and the airport shuttle. He was informative and pleasant, telling us a little about the town and places we should see. We stayed in a villa and it was plenty big for the 5 of us. This one is not to be missed!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shari R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XGerente, Manager at Xandari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 18 January 2017

On behalf of all the Staff of the Hotel, we will like to thank you very much for the time that you have spent in sharing with us your experience at our hotel.
We are committed to our guests, develops only very good experiences, passion to our daily work is what we really feel. Once again, thank you very much, we will be looking forward to your next visit. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2017 via mobile

Stunning grounds, beautiful lodge, great food, excellent service, good wine, fantastic walks, a perfect end to a holiday.

Stayed here for three nights before the long flight back to the UK. Stayed in a Prima Plus Villa (no. 19), with stunning views over San Jose (which Xandari makes looks like fairy town at night). Good sized terrace with space for two loungers, a table and chairs. Inside lots of space, comfy beds, lots of wardrobe and drawers. Nice shower. And complimentary soft drinks and snacks in your fridge.

Breakfast is included in the price and is excellent with fresh fruit, cereal, yogurts, breads, cheese, ham, and fresh juice. Never felt the need to eat anything else. The team are great, really helpful, especially Christian in the restaurant.

Would liked to have stayed one more night. Enjoy the pictures!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Deb2010orah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
XGerente, Manager at Xandari Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2017

Dear Deb2010orah traveler, thank you for your review. We are glad to hear you had a wonderful time at Xandari. Villa#19 is one of our ultra villas and it is very spacious as you mentioned. The Prima Plus are a bit smaller in size. Thank you for sharing such a nice pictures. We hope to see you again at Xandari. Best regards, Marcela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews