We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$134
Courtyard
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$154/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Hotel Robledal(Alajuela)
US$97
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$75
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$69
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boca Tapada Lodge(Alajuela)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
Free cancellation until 26/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$155
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Free cancellation until 25/07
US$256
US$198
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Airport Gardens(Alajuela)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (168)
Filter reviews
168 results
Traveller rating
75
73
17
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
75
73
17
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschess boardficus treeupper buildingpet friendly hotelspent three nights herefire pitdouble treeone nightnice poolstayed herestayed longera lot of noisewatch birdspool areacosta ricalast nightgreat beginning
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 168 reviews
Reviewed 21 March 2018

We were greeted warmly on the beautiful grounds by enthusiastic employees as soon as we drove through the gate. They checked us in quickly and showed us to our room. The grounds and buildings were clean and well cared for. The pool provided a great place to relax with a drink after our long drive from Samara. The restaurant menu was full featured and the food was delicious. The 24 hour guard service ensures that you can leave at any time. We had to leave at 4:30am and it was no problem. We wish we could have stayed longer at this beautiful and charming hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Jeremy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018

This was our starting off point for a two week stay in Costa Rica. We eventually met a group of other birders along with a driver and bird guide here as a jumping off point. We arrived a day early, late in the evening. We were greeted as we drove in and the staff had a late night fruit and sandwich plate ready for us. I'd pre-ordered it on-line in the States.
The room had a nice mini-fridge, two comfy beds, a nice bathroom, and air conditioning. The doors looked out on a beautiful mountain valley where vultures arced through the skies all day long.
We had a nice quiet night's sleep and when we stirred the next day we wandered around looking at many birds before enjoying a good breakfast at the poolside with some of the best coffee I remember. We also had a group dinner later in here which we enjoyed.
The nicely garden covered grounds are covered with trees and flowers and birds abound. What a change from cold, snowy Minnesota!
We used their modern conference room the next day to get our birding group all assembled for an early departure.
The views of Volcan Poas were serene and although we were only an $18.00 taxi ride from the airport, you would never know it. The desk will send a car for you if you ask. Not knowing this ahead of time, we took a licensed airport cab.
No TV in your room to keep you shut in. Just great mountain air and scenery to draw one out.
We saw several French families there with little ones. The main gate has a full time security officer and the ample grounds are surrounded by a very high security wall. This is one of the more practical pools we saw as we traveled the country.
I'd definitely return here if I wished to visit the Poas Volcano and other nearby attractions. You avoid the snarl and noise of San Jose yet are nicely situated to the airport to cut down on taxi time.
For us, the real treat was all the new birds we were seeing ahead of our group.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank BirderBob1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018

This beautiful hotel sits in the lovely country with walking trails and a refreshing large pool to enjoy. There is some traffic noise but it did not interfere with sleep or enjoyment of the property. Rooms were large and clean and the beds and bedding were comfortable. There is a pool room, a library and some common meeting areas one with a small art display.
When we arrived (19 people cycling group), a nice cool drink was immediately provided. Happy hour service was excellent with a lovely small snack of popcorn. Our supper meals were soooo good -- especially the coconut fish! Service at the restaurant was outstanding!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Sonja T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2018

Apart from traffic noise at times it would be an oasis in the busy built-up area of Alajuela. It is on the northern side of that city so you can quickly drive out to the country beyond. If you are driving from the airport be sure to have good directions from their website. Rooms are spacious and comfortable, staff very helpful and friendly. Pool great, food reasonable. Be sure to set aside an hour to walk their trails where you will find butterflies, birds and squirrels apart from the plants. Clearly a very well-managed property.

Room Tip: Near the reception, pool,restaurant better for most people but double storey rooms have a view.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bhtripadv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2018

Location: at the outskirts of Alajuela. Great location if you are planning a roadtrip to Sarapiqui or Tortugera.
On the property it is very quiet but it is located close to a busy street and there is street noise. It can get noisy on weekends (partying neighbors/teens) but with the running A/C or fan you barely can hear anything.
No restaurants in the vicinity but hotel restaurant is cozy and serves a good Costa Rican fare.

Amenities:
Pool, pool billiard, library
Breakfast included
Daily happy hour in the restaurant (drinks only) - entrees $10-20.

Rooms: on the smaller side, safe in the room, no fridge, a/c and vans

Service: Outstanding - the hotel helped to arrange car rental and drop off and pick-up at the hotel. Staff prepped us a breakfast box when we had to leave before breakfast in the morning as a surprise.
They also offer an airport shuttle (15 -40 min ride, off or during rush hour/$23 plus tip)

Room Tip: Standard rooms are next to reception, restaurant and pool. Deluxe rooms are at a separate area on the property overlooking the landscape.
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelinmatecom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews