We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great-Granddaughter Loved Her Visit”

Children's Hands-On Museum
Ranked #4 of 35 things to do in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the Children's Hands-On Museum of Tuscaloosa! CHOM, where children Explore, Create, and Discover each time they visit. When we say "hands-on" we mean it! Learning through play is what our exhibits are all about, and you're encouraged to touch, feel, and play your way through our award winning museum. In 25 exhibits CHOM offers newborns through age 12 a fabulous place just for them! Exhibits, daily early childhood programs, events, holiday celebrations, state curriculum specific field trips and parties all wait for you at CHOM! Visit soon! Join over 73,000 visitors each year who know we're the BEST for family fun! CHOM is a 30 year old non-profit 501(c)(3) organization providing dynamic leaning experiences.
Useful Information: Stairs / lift, Activities for young children, Bathroom facilities, Wheelchair access, Activities for older children
Reviewed 2 September 2017

Took my 2 year old great-granddaughter for her first visit to C.H.O.M. yesterday and she loved it. Plenty of interactive activities and exhibits on the basement level for younger children, with more visual exhibits on the main level (she especially loved the vintage dolls). Entertained herself alone for a couple of hours, while also interacting with other children. Very inexpensive way to entertain her, while avoiding the midday heat.

Thank BamaGrandslammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chomcharlotte, Executive DIrector at Children's Hands-On Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review CHOM! We're so happy that your great-granddaughter enjoyed her visit to CHOM and hope it's only the first of many visits to come. We hope you'll return soon to enjoy our fall and holiday events and play!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017

CHOM is a great place to take childen when they are ready for an outing. There are many exhibits that have hands on play. Very inexpensive way to spend an entire morning or afternoon.

Thank fran105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chomcharlotte, Executive Director at Children's Hands-On Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2017

We're so appreciative that you took the time to review CHOM. It's great that your children enjoy playing in our museum - hope you also have been able to enjoy some of the activities included in admission, and that we see you again very soon for one of our fall events!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017 via mobile

This is a must do with young children in Tuscaloosa. They are constantly updating exhibits so it's worth a second trip later on. My kids love it!

Thank StephanieSwindle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chomcharlotte, executive director at Children's Hands-On Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 July 2017

Thank you for taking time to post this great review! We're so glad your family is enjoying CHOM and the updates we make. If you submitted a name for our chicks when they hatched, we'll be drawing the names sometime today. We have seven new chicks today with five more who are tapping hard at their shells ready to play with the others! Hope you'll all join us for Riddle Me This on Saturday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017 via mobile

Great place to take your children for a fun outing. My girls are 10 and three years old and they both had a great time.

Thank Ann T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chomcharlotte, executive director at Children's Hands-On Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you for taking time to let us know about your visit. We're so glad both of your girls had a great time! If you were here this week you probably saw that our eggs were almost ready to hatch. Last night the first chick hatched out and his/her feathers are drying as I write this! We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2017

If you have about an hour or an hour and a half, don't plan to spend more than that. It is a small children's museum. They do try to change up the first floor with a few exhibits, but nothing spectacular like I have seen in other cities. We used to be members, but I found it was not worth it.
1.They lack equipment to really make it a museum where you could spend hours.
2. They close at 5 but try to get you to leave earlier. If felt like I was being kicked out on several occasions. If you have a little one that takes an afternoon nap, Its hard to get there right at 3.
3. Even though we wash our hands after the museum invariably we get sick after visiting.

Thank Meredith V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chomcharlotte, executive director at Children's Hands-On Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 12 July 2017

Thank you for taking time to review our museum after your recent visit. CHOM is a medium sized children's museum with three levels covering 24,000 square feet. We currently have 26 hands-on areas/exhibits where children from newborns to approximately age 12 may explore, discover and play. Each year we add new areas or expand the current exhibit offerings. You're correct in noting that there are many very large children's museums in larger cities that do indeed have spectacular exhibits. We, too, would hope to add such exhibits at CHOM and have some exciting plans in the works just for this! After 32 years, because we have simply outgrown our building, we have been working with the City of Tuscaloosa on a plan for our future enabling us to relocate, build, and expand, thus allowing us to build new exhibits, redesign and develop old favorites, add amenities so many of our visitors wish to see, and host traveling exhibits. Look for more news about this, as we are in the midst of planning for this exciting future. If you are in our area we hope you'll participate in some of the focus opportunities. Even visitors from out of town will be able to contribute ideas when visiting. Regarding museum hours: We are open 9 to 5 Monday through Thursday; 9 to 7:30pm on Friday; and 10 - 4pm on Saturday. The lower level of our museum closes 30 minutes before the other levels of the museum for deep cleaning, because the majority of the interactive areas that our very youngest visitors enjoy most are located there. Please be assured that CHOM is committed to providing a clean museum experience. We clean throughout each day, closing individual exhibit areas for 15-20 minutes at a time as needed. Even in our large 24,000 square foot building having hundreds of children playing together results in ongoing sterilization and cleaning in efforts to proactively reduce the spread of germs that occur at any place where large groups of children gather. Again, thank you for your review and we hope you'll visit again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Children's Hands-On Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing