We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome workers ”

Children's Hands-On Museum
Ranked #4 of 35 things to do in Tuscaloosa
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the Children's Hands-On Museum of Tuscaloosa! CHOM, where children Explore, Create, and Discover each time they visit. When we say "hands-on" we mean it! Learning through play is what our exhibits are all about, and you're encouraged to touch, feel, and play your way through our award winning museum. In 25 exhibits CHOM offers newborns through age 12 a fabulous place just for them! Exhibits, daily early childhood programs, events, holiday celebrations, state curriculum specific field trips and parties all wait for you at CHOM! Visit soon! Join over 73,000 visitors each year who know we're the BEST for family fun! CHOM is a 30 year old non-profit 501(c)(3) organization providing dynamic leaning experiences.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities, Stairs / lift, Activities for young children
Reviewed 21 June 2017 via mobile

The workers here are fabulous. They went out of their way to play with my children. They were very friendly and educated us in every exhibit. The art was fun specially when the workers are so great with the kids and educated them during the art. We go to this place all of the time and I have never had a poor experience.

Thank fallonevans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chomcharlotte, Executive Director at Children's Hands-On Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you for your review! The staff and volunteers love their work and really create wonderful experiences for kids! I'll pass along your comments to them. Hope you visit again soon! Today (Fridays) is movie day, with popcorn and showings of The Pagemaster. Tomorrow join us for National Ratcatcher's Day with search for "rats" and prizes all day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (82)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 82 reviews

Reviewed 8 May 2017 via mobile

Visited here while my in-laws were in town. My kids, 3 and 1, truly enjoyed themselves. Plenty of things that were age appropriate to keep them entertained. Plan to visit again.

Thank ashnot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chomcharlotte, Executive Director at Children's Hands-On Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you so much for taking time to review us! We're thrilled you had a great visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2017 via mobile

We visited the CHOM when in town for he day. We had a 2 year old and a 4 year old. They thoroughly enjoyed the different hands on stations from harvesting produce, milking a cow and fishing/boating. There are also costumes available for dress up but we didn't try any of that. The girls totally loved it all and the adults loved seeing all of the antiques and historical photos.

Thank 2Bares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chomcharlotte, Executive Director at Children's Hands-On Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

We're so glad you all enjoyed your visit! The exhibits you mentioned are wonderful for a 2 year old and a 4 year old. Other exhibits are waiting for them as they grow older, too. On June 5th we opened our third level - Wild 'n' Crazy GameZ - for the summer with skee ball, ping pong, air hockey and more. It's open through August 1st. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2017

My daughter loved this place when she was younger. Her favorite was the Japanese house. I recommend it for anyone with small children, they will enjoy it. Tuscaloosa doesn't have a lot to offer that is similar.

Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chomcharlotte, Executive Director at Children's Hands-On Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2017

Thank you for your review! If your daughter is under 13 years there are other fun exhibit experiences she may enjoy. We opened the third level for summer on June 5th - the Wild 'n' Crazy GameZ level - with air hockey, skee ball, ping pong, basketball goal and more. It's a fun addition to other exhibits. Join us for daily activities and Saturday events! Each Friday during summer is movie and popcorn day and we're open until 7:30pm Hope to see you here again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2017

CHOM in Tuscaloosa is 2 floors of hands-on fun for elementary age children. Some exhibits are set aside for younger children - up to 3 years - but most are appropriate for all ages. There is a life size cow to "milk", trucks to "drive", a hospital full of patients to care for, huge blocks to build with, "Grandmother's Attic" full of dress up clothes, an old fashioned ice cream parlor, on and on and on.
Set in downtown Tuscaloosa, it is close to pizza, sandwiches, and Government Plaza for picnics so you can visit the museum in the morning, take a lunch break, and return for the afternoon. The children in my family love it.

Thank shields1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chomcharlotte, executive Director at Children's Hands-On Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2017

Thank you for your wonderful review! It's great to hear and we couldn't have said more! Hope to see you again very soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Children's Hands-On Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing