We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1 035)
Filter reviews
1 035 results
Traveller rating
181
437
313
77
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
181
437
313
77
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main train station executive club convenient location business trip taxi driver inns kfc line lounge address convenience bund exit starbucks
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 1 035 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2018

Location is a little off though right next to a metro station but to far of for us.
And just the thought of going downtown after a long day is just not worth it so
next time will avoid it
and belive me the Wifi just does not function
Breakfast is decent but could be more elaborate for a Holiday Inn

Stayed: March 2018
Thank RajiveKhanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona W, Executive Secretary at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2018

Dear RajiveKhanna,
Thank you for choosing the Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown. Our hotel is located in the commercial centre of Shanghai Jing'an District, only 5 minutes walking distance to Shanghai Railway Station, subway entrance of line 1/3/4 and airport shuttle bus Line 5. We are deeply grateful for your praise of our breakfast.
Once again, we look forward to your next stay with us and continuous support in the near future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2018

I stayed at this hotel for my company trip, was very pleased with the rooms. Very clean and spacious. Breakfast buffet had a great selection and there is a few convenient stores nearby the hotel. Distance to The Bund was roughly 15mins, only RMB14 if you use their local car hailing app, Didi. Overall a good place to stay away from the noisy streets but not too far out from the main tourist attractions.

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank NicoleCLE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona W, Executive Secretary at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2018

Dear NicoleCLE,
Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. You are satisfied with our location, breakfast buffet and rooms. Thanks again for your staying and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2018

The hotel is just about 100 m from Shanghai Railway station. When exiting metro /subway or straight exiting from Shanghai railway station look up to locate Holiday Inn sign and walk around the building facing railway station to reach the hotel entrance.
The hotel is solid but nothing exciting or great in it. The breakfast is average, rooms are OK. Cannot say that my room had good view (or any view) because it was some kind of plastic film taped on the window so nothing outside was visible. The best part is proximity to metro

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TX2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona W, Executive Secretary at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2018

Dear TX2005,
Thanks for taking the time to share such a thorough review of your recent stay experience with us! Our hotel is located in the commercial centre of Shanghai Jing'an District, only 5 minutes walking distance to Shanghai Railway Station, subway entrance of line 1/3/4 and airport shuttle bus Line 5.The transportation is so convenient. We look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown again. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2018 via mobile

Have stayed before in 2010
Not much has changed but the room is clean and the bathroom works

Close to metro and Shanghai Railway Station. Perfect location.

Many restaurants around Station Square

Area is safe. Shanghai not as chaotic as Beijing or Xi’an although the traffic on the elevated roads is.

Will be back April 2019

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with friends
Thank speedo1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona W, Executive Secretary at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 16 September 2018

Dear Phil H,
Thank you for sharing your NICE comments on our hotel website. We are glad that you are satisfied with our clean rooms, location. Your praise will be our strength within to push forward. Look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2018

Stayed at this great hotel. Fairly good location with most places of interest including shopping & sight seeing about 15 min taxi ride as well as a metro connection with railway station nearby. Rooms are functional though a bit small but if you are here on business and need to spend the night it good enough.Wifi works well. Staff is curteous- check in and check out at the IHG counter was quick and efficient and they also gave me a late checkout. Breakfast is decent spread by any standard. I visited the bar but not so crowded though they have a large space.They have a good concierge service who speak decent english to give you details of shopping area ot sightseeing interests. arranged Taxis as required. Special mention of Rodgers Ding and Rommey Zhang who were a big help. The hotel could do with a shuttle service to main city locations for its guests. While i did take a Taxi to airport -RMB 220 as per meter. Being alone should have tried a Bus which i came to know later and would have cost a lot less maybe RMB 30 as long as its close to the hotel. Only other point was that the room had only half windows not full ceiling to floor and also not accross the wall

  • Stayed: September 2018, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SinghCzar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fiona W, Executive Secretary at Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2018

Dear SinghCzar,
Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown and taking your time to share your feedback. We are glad that you are satisfied with our staff service, hotel location, Wifi, breakfast. We will continue to strive in delivering quality services, allowing our guests' to indulge in the best they deserve. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Holiday Inn Shanghai Downtown in the near future!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews