We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Shanghai Propaganda Poster Art Centre
from US$69,13
More Info
from US$50,00
More Info
from US$81,00
More Info
from US$39,22
More Info
Reviews (793)
Filter reviews
793 results
Traveller rating
469
247
67
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
469
247
67
5
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews cultural revolution gift shop private collection residential building chronological order communist era modern chinese history recent history block of flats unique collection bit hard to find small museum well worth the effort historical context history lesson on display great insight
Filter
Updating list...
43 - 48 of 793 reviews
Reviewed 27 June 2018 via mobile

Ok, it might be because of my particular interest in this kind of history, but it was one of the best museums I've ever visited. It's definitely very interesting, sometimes funny ("birth control for the country!"), sometimes makes you think, sometimes makes you laugh, sometimes the posters are plain ridiculous (ballerinas with kalashnikov anyone?). And the gift shop, ahh! You can buy prints AND SOME ORIGINALS! (The latter are pricey, but still doable) there are also some interesting memorabilia. Also, never in my life have I been so tempted to take pictures when it was prohibited...
Just go. Now. Shoo! Shoo!

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank ankyfire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2018

This is a private collection of posters from the earliest days of the Communists. It starts with artists who had done lovely women's portraits for a Shanghai magazine in the 1920's and then very artistic colorful early propaganda posters, unlike any we had otherwise seen. They progressed to the classic soldiers with a couple of Chinese characters, but include posters about the US anti-Vietnam war movement and the Civil Rights movement in the US. Very interesting way to spend an hour.

Date of experience: June 2018
1  Thank tourist22903
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

It’s a simple idea, just lots of propaganda posters. Really interesting to see the progression over time (they are arranged in chronological order) and the written commentary which is in English. We really enjoyed 30-45 minutes walking round the rooms here, and came away with some interesting thoughts sparked by the posters.

As the other reviews mention it is hard to find, but not impossible! Just note that it’s within a complex of buildings and not signposted until you’re at the front door. We ended up wandering around looking confused until someone took pity on us - they guessed where we were going and told us how to get there. They must be used to it!

Date of experience: January 2018
Thank Rachel N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We did our research and found this place easily, planned our own walking tour through the French Quarter then to the Propaganda Centre, the security guard on the gate will direct you around the buildings-walk about 3/4 of the way around the buildings the there is signage to follow.
We based our walking tour on a blend of two walking tours we found on the Time-out Shanghai site.
We both enjoyed our time in the centre and purchased some prints of posters and photos for a fair price to take home.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

This is located in a private apartment, at the back of an apartment complex in a residential neighborhood. I was disappointed in the gift shop part of the "Museum", but the collection is interesting.

Date of experience: October 2017
Thank Jill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews