We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central
Nearby Hotels
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
US$171
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$171
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$425
US$137
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$126
Renaissance Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$86
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$89
US$75
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Laoshan Hostel (The Phoenix)(Shanghai)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$406
US$292
Mandarin Oriental
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$356
US$263
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (999)
Filter reviews
999 results
Traveller rating
572
342
61
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
572
342
61
18
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe executive loungetwo blocksfree wifipuxi areatrain stationbreakfast buffetpeople's squarecomfortable bedsexcellent hoteldumplingsindoor poolwould highly recommend this hotelrain showerchinese foodconcierge deskmin walkrooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
206 - 211 of 999 reviews
Reviewed 11 June 2016

Stayed for 2 nights and the service was excellent. New modern hotel, and very clean. No signs of grime in the bathroom.

The location is excellent with the subway just across the street and 2 stops to the People's square, 3 stops to the Nanjing Pedestrian Street. The area surrounding the hotel is quiet, but feels safe as it appears to be a business district. Convenience store, macdonalds, starbucks nearby. Ask the concierge where the restaurant "Xiao Nan Guo" is, its about 5 mins walk away, easy to locate, and serves one of the best (but affordable) Shanghainese food I had... Crab roe dumplings, melt in the mouth stewed pork ... dim sum ...

Breakfast in the hotel has good variety.. Wifi was strong (from room, to pool, to lounge)

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank siangjiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie Z, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2016

Dear Guest:

Warmest greetings from Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central!

Thank you for taking the time to complete our stay review. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central was enjoyable.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,

Jessie Zhang
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2016

Beautiful hotel to end our 18 days China tour.
Great room, wel furnished, wel lighted, nice bathroom with walk-in rain shower.
Good mattress, coffee and tea making facilities, in room safe.
Superb breakfast.
Why only rated 4...(almost just 3), because this was the only hotel, out of 8, that had no free wifi !
Wifi was supposed to be free in the lobby..my God, what a hassle, and so poor quality that it took ages to open a website, shame on you, especially because this is a 100% business hotel, that's also the reason that there is no atmosphere. The payed wifi costs 14€ a day, rather expensive !

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank eMBieAntwerp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie Z, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear guest,

Warmest greetings from Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central!

Thank you for taking the time to complete our stay review. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central was enjoyable and found our room was comfortable, service and breakfast were good.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. Our marriott membership is free to feast on the room WIFI, you are welcome to register as our member to join marriott family.

We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
General Manager

Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We spent 4 nights at the Courtyard Shanghai Central and it was very good. The location is convenient as it's close to a subway station and not too far from many of the places of interest, including some that are within walking distance. The staff were friendly and helpful although the concierge desk tended to discourage us from walking to places saying it was too far (in fact it was less than a half hour walk and we enjoy walking). Our room was spacious and had everything we needed. The WiFi signal was good (for China). Everything was very clean and we enjoyed our stay. The restaurants seemed rather expensive so we didn't try any of them. We did find places to eat in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank PicMorDaisies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie Z, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear guest,

Warm greetings from Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central.

Thank you for choosing the Courtyard Central as your preferred choice of accommodation on your recent visit in Shanghai and taking time to complete the survey. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard Shanghai Central was enjoyable. Only through the concerned guest like yourself that we are able to continually improve our service.

Appreciate for sharing your thoughts and we hope to have the opportunity to serve you again!

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

This is one of my normal hotels while staying in China. It is very near Hanzhong Rd station which is now an interchange for line 1, 12, and 13. This is very convenient as you can get to most points in the downtown area within a few stops or transfer to line 2 in People's Square. If you need location for business, but do not want to pay the Pudong prices stay here.

Rooms are large and service is well done. They have backed off a little from the pushy way they used to greet you when arriving and grabbing your bags before you can think. This is a welcome change as a pleasant hello and smile is enough after a long travel day.

They have good wifi connection that is stable and generally quick for China.

Definitely recommend this Courtyard if you are in Shanghai and need a cheaper hotel with the American touches.

Room Tip: Try to get on one of the higher floors. They are doing a lot of construction in surrounding areas and it can get noisy in the morning.
  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thegomez2345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie Z, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2016

Dear guest,

Greetings from Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central Hotel!

Thank you for staying with us and taking time to share your experience with other travelers on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to hear that you found our facility, location, and especially the quality. We hope we will have another opportunity to welcome you back soon for further exploration.

We very much appreciate your time and feedback.

Yours sincerely,
Jessie Zhang
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2016

I stayed at this Hotel mid-May for about 4 days on vacation with a buddy. The hotel is extremely beautiful and located in a central location in Shanghai. It's located less than 3km from the Bund, about a 15 minutes taxi drive. There are some restaurants and shops located within walking distance of this hotel but nothing to brag about.

The hotel has a contemporary look and feel. The hotel feels brand new and consistent with the hotels in China this hotel performs way above its American counterparts. This hotel will outperform any Marriot hotel (not Courtyard but Marriot) in the states. It has the feel of a very luxurious hotel.

The rooms are very big! The rooms are comfortable and the bedding feels great. The wifi worked but remember this is China so there was no access to Facebook products (Facebook, Instagram, etc.) or Google products (Google, Google Translate, Youtube, etc.) and when trying to access other sites the government does not necessarily approve of the speed was extremely slow. The air conditioning worked well. The bathroom was very nice and clean. The bathroom had a plug for devices needing U.S. 110V, standard for my shaver/clippers. All my other electronics had no problem with the 250V outlets. Iphone, Android phone, laptop, Ipad, and bluetooth speaker all charged with no problem.

The breakfast buffet was cost $18. The breakfast buffet is very good and includes eggs cooked to order as well as bacon, sausages, breads, and many other traditional Chinese and American items.

The hotel employees were extremely nice and helpful. They were willing to help to any extent they kind and were always kind and courteous when passing.

Getting a taxi was no problem. Uber on the other hand is difficult. Supposedly the uber app is not blocked but it was next to impossible to access.

Channel options are mostly news channels (including CNN) and Chinese sports channels (that showed the French Open).

Overall I did not spend a lot of time in the hotel as I was in Shanghai to enjoy the cities and the attractions. My favorite part about the hotel was how nice it was and how kind the staff was. What I liked the least about the hotel was the cost of food. I will highly recommend this hotel for friends or a family stay.

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayGarcon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessie Z, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2016

Dear Guest:

Warmest Greetings from Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central.

Thank you for taking the time to complete our stay review. We are delighted that your stay with the Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central was enjoyable and found our room was comfortable, service and breakfast were good.

Everything we do is aimed at providing you with an excellent hotel experience and your feedback is extremely valuable. We truly appreciate you sharing your thoughts with us so that we may continue to deliver exceptional service in the future.

Sincerely,

Jessie Zhang
General Manager
Courtyard by Marriott Shanghai Central

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews