We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Central Hotel Shanghai
Nearby Hotels
US$124
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
The Kunlun Jing An(Shanghai)
US$148
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$172
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$197
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$136
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$70
US$68
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$101
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$104
US$80
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$396
US$243
Trip.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$284/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$279
US$265
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1 076)
Filter reviews
1 076 results
Traveller rating
608
374
57
16
21
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
608
374
57
16
21
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsnanjing roadgreat locationpeople's squarestar hotelwalking distancegrand lobbyseparate toiletpedestrian mallrooms are hugeminute walkbreakfast buffetexcellent hotelspent nightsconcierge staffpeople's parkmetro stopexecutive floor
Filter
Updating list...
229 - 234 of 1 076 reviews
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Stay for only a night. There's a halal shop at near to the hotel & that's why it is one of the good choice. Lobby was nice but English speaking reception was limited.
In overall it was ok.

Note : bring along the card given by the hotel to avoid being lost.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Timbermad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2015

Similar to some of the previous reviews, I was not a fan of the service at the hotel. I also found it strange that when we entered our room, the twin beds had been made up in different ways. One bed had a dove chocolate and the other had an extra pillow and pretty bed runner!

Having said that, this hotel is situated in a great location. Close to the Bund, interesting museums, people's square etc. Whilst the room were somewhat old-fashioned, it was clean and overall good value for money. If you don't plan on spending a lot of time in the hotel, and want to use it as a base for enjoying Shanghai, this may be a suitable hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Adrastia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2015

I stayed at this hotel for two nights in August 2015. This was my second stay at this hotel, and the reasons I chose to return include:

- Convenient location within walking distance of East Nanjing Road metro station
- Close to the major shopping area of Nanjing Road, but far enough away that street noise is not a problem. This makes purchasing groceries and food very easy during your stay (there is a small supermarket on the corner of Hankou Rd and Fujian Middle Rd, and a huge food hall on Nanjing Rd called Shanghai First Foodhall)
- The lobby is quite spectacular
- The staff are courteous, helpful, and speak English
- The rooms are very spacious and luxurious, and represent great value for money
- Free wifi

The only things note are that the wifi can be a bit slow, and the breakfast is expensive if not bundled with the room.

I will be using this hotel again for future visits, and would definitely recommend the Grand Central Hotel to those looking for accommodation in Shanghai

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EdskyAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2015

The hotel location is excellent! We love the proximity of shopping streets and restaurants in the area. Rooms are comfortable and big!
However, overall service of the hotel staff are far from 5-Star. Housekeeper came in to make-up our rooms when we were out even though we had left the 'Do Not Disturb' sign on. Front desk staff are not smiley or helpful even to provide basic information and instead directed us to the concierge. Wifi speed is slow and most of the time took a really long time to connect.

  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PrisChin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2015

This hotel was impressive. From the grand lobby to the large and well-appointed room, the hotel was high-end with gold finish almost everywhere. Our twin room had 2 queen-sized beds and still plenty of space for an extra bed. The toilet and bath had 2 lavatories, separate shower & tub areas as well as a toilet cubicle.

The location didn't disappoint either. The Nanjing Pedestrian Mall was a few steps away. You could also walk to The Bund and People's Park from the hotel.

Considering the property and the location, this hotel was very reasonably-priced.

Room Tip: Get a room with a view of the Nanjing Pedestrian Mall
  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mgtlapena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews