We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (27)
Filter reviews
27 results
Traveller rating
13
5
4
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
13
5
4
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews pool towels pool bar a wonderful stay bed was comfortable free breakfast hot tub sofa sand pools vacation beach balcony
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 27 reviews
Reviewed 24 September 2018 via mobile

What a great place. Outstanding staff.. friendly, helpful & polite!! Nice breakfast.. great options. Great pool & wonderful views. Close to food, entertainment & miles of beautiful beaches. Can’t wait to come back again. This was our second visit to Holiday Inn @ Orange Beach

Stayed: September 2018, travelled with family
Thank lynnueloub2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funandmemorable, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2018

Thank you so much, lynnueloub2, for your excellent review! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay and loved our complimentary breakfast as well as the location, the beach, and welcoming staff. We are thrilled that you had a nice stay and we can't wait to welcome you back to feel the sand under your toes in the future! --Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

We loved this hotel. It is right on the beach with its own walkway over the last 50 feet of scrub to get to the beach. The pool is really unique - with 2 levels and a connecting hot tub. The pool bar window is cool and convenient, and the bartenders gave us good tips on restaurants. The room was large with a nice balcony, and the bed was very comfortable. The bathroom was large enough, and had a lot of countertop space, which is needed on a beach vacation. The breakfast was very good - and free. The staff were great to us. A wonderful stay.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank joefromcincy1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funandmemorable, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2018

Thank you, joefromcincy1961, for your five-star review! We are so happy you enjoyed your stay and loved the location and beach access along with the pool, pool bar, and hot tub. It's great to hear your room was spacious and you enjoyed the balcony, and found our staff so friendly and accommodating. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back for your next trip! –Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2018 via mobile

I've stayed here twice and have enjoyed my stay both time. I love how they have remodeled the lobby and updated the exterior. It is a smaller hotel than alot of the other hotels in the area with 6 floors. Free Breakfast which had hot items and cold items. The staff I came into contact with were all very pleasant and helpful. Will definitely be coming back!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
2  Thank April B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funandmemorable, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2018

Thank you, April, for your five-star review! We are so glad you loved our remodels and updates as well as the delicious breakfast and top-notch staff. We are so pleased that you had a nice stay and we can't wait to welcome you all back for your next trip! –Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2018 via mobile

I have stayed at other Holiday Inn’s and was hoping this one would be similar. Holiday Inn & Express & Suites Beach Front in Panama City Beach, Florida provided much better services, were very friendly, had security, people watching the pool, had visitors wear wristbands so they knew they were part of the hotel, had to have key cards to get inside, and were constantly cleaning... This hotel in Gulf Shores told us on the phone when we called to schedule that there was live music at the pool. Not only was there no live music, no music was even played, not even through a speaker. While speaking of the pool, it was never cleaned. You could barely see through the water it was so dirty. Hair, leaves, and sand all over in the pool and hot tub. Chairs by the pool don’t lean back or adjust, so you can’t lay on your stomach comfortable. The first day we arrived the elevators were not working and did not seem to work consistently throughout our whole trip. The majority employees were not friendly. They didn’t say hi or smile back when I smiled at them. There is a sign that states “100% smoke free property” yet the employees smoke right outside the door you go out to get to the pool. It seemed to be a major struggle for employees to refill needed items such as towels, tissues, and toilet paper. The bathroom was gross. There are hairs all over the bathroom, which is nasty. The shower has no water pressure, so if you have thick hair it’s impossible to rinse out shampoo/conditioner. The hose to wash off your feet when you come back from the beach is constantly running. Sometimes it was easy to rinse off, and other times no water was coming out, so there was no way to get sand off other than going in the pool. Which must be part of the excessive amount of sand in the pool. Way more than any other Beach front hotels I have stayed at in the past. Someone on the trip with me asked the front desk for a towel, we waited 30 minutes and then had to call back down. Finally, after about an hour of waiting, they brought towels up to our room. The internet connection they have here is awful. I wasn’t able to connect to it for a full day. There is a sign on a door outside saying the doors are locked 6PM-6AM and you are suppose to use your card to get in at those times. Not once were those doors locked at any of those times. All four days I was here, I was able to open the door and get in without my keycard. That is not safe! I will not be coming back here. I’m very disappointed. I didn’t let all these negatives about the hotel ruin my trip though. One positivite is that they have is good breakfast... I don’t recommend staying here, unless you’re looking to spend way more money than you should be for a mediocre hotel.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
3  Thank Lexie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funandmemorable, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2018

Lexie, thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We're so sorry to hear that you did not find what you expected with the music, pool, elevators,and the staff. We are undergoing construction and renovations at the moment to make our valued guests' stays a better experience. We have passed along your valuable feedback to our management team. Should you have any additional concerns, please feel free to contact Jasmine Hunt, at jasmine@innisfreehotels.com or you can give us a call at 251-974-1634. Your valuable feedback matters to us as it helps us do our job better. Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we hope to make it up to you in the future to show you how we've improved. --Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2018 via mobile

We have stayed in a lot of Holiday Inn Expresses. This one was just okay. Paid top dollar since it was a weekend before school started. Room was tiny and cramped, we had booked a room with two double beds, got one with a king and a sleeper sofa instead. Once the sofa was out, there was zero floor space.

Breakfast was fine, pool was okay but they were doing tile repair to the pool apron which was noisy and messy. Pool
Towels were never stocked.

Stay was fine, not sure we would book this location again.

Stayed: July 2018
5  Thank 409gingerg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
funandmemorable, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Orange Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2018

Thank you, 409gingerg, for your review. We are so glad you enjoyed the breakfast. Our apologies you didn't have the experience you were expecting your room and the pool. We are currently undergoing renovations to enhance our valued guests' stay with us. Should you wish to discuss this matter, please feel free to give us a call. We hope to welcome you back for your next trip to see how we've improved! –Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews