We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Live like a local”
other travellers have booked this property
The Penthouse Lounge
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Penthouse Lounge
Flowers on the balcony Sea views from balcony
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
14 reviews
The Penthouse Lounge
Flowers on the balcony
Sea views from balcony
Lounge + Dining area
Daybed in Lounge
Indonesian chairs
TV corner
Passage to bedrooms
Dressing room
Romantic Bedroom with Ceiling fan
Bed room with air-condition
Sun rise from bed room
The Lotus Penthouse
Sun set over Melaka
Christmas in Portuguese Settlement
Kitchen with stove and washing machine
Kitchen with Fridge/Freezer
Bath room with hot shower
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Melaka, Central Melaka District, Melaka State

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 14 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
heliopoli...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Live like a local”
Reviewed 6 April 2016 for a stay in March 2016

This fantastic accommodation is top floor of a 4 floor residential building - no tourists!
No lift but then it is not a tall building. Being top floor there are pleasant breezes and views - most of the surrounding properties are local residents and only 1 or 2 floors so the views are right over the rooftops and into the heart of Melaka. Being top floor also allowed total privacy for sunbathing or living in shorts although the sun is pretty vertical and therefore there may only be an hour or so opportunity - quite enough to burn as the sun is actually too hot for lying around in! Air-Con if needed but the breeze was usually quite sufficient even at night when the temperature drops to low/mid 20s
For me this was the perfect location. A bit out from town centre (I did manage to walk into town once) but I had a motorbike which made this the cheaper option (accommodation+bike - motor or cycle) than staying in the town centre and only having a very basic room. This allowed me to travel and see the surrounding areas too. But then I was here for 6 weeks! And how lovely not to have the pressure of time - I was able to read books and drift around as it pleased. I arrived in Feb and the first day there it rained on/off but otherwise a dry 6 weeks. I almost hoped for the sky to cloud over just to take the edge off the heat which is 33/35c although my gizmo said it felt like 40C+ when the weather was humid. But not as hot and tropical as I had feared.
Come again - most definitely! A few weeks R&R and then a few more weeks out on the road exploring Malaysia. A year ago I had thought I might retire to Vietnam but now I may retire to Malaya (no VISA problem) and then commute to the rest of South East Asia. KL is a fantastic airport with a direct bus between Melaka and KL airport (or city for further day trips). How convenient can it become.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the space, the views, the breeze
Liked least: perfect for my needs but others may need a bus/taxi if they don't want to cycle
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stefan W
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Great value for money!”
Reviewed 3 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

Great value for the money. The apartment is spacious, clean and very cozy artistic decorated. Safe, private and quiet. Top floor, fabulous view and breeze, enjoyed the balcony and hammock for hours. Great welcoming landlord that shared local knowledge so I got a real taste of Melaccas wonderful cheap local food, and what to experience. Added lots of extra value! Bikes is the way to get around and available. Hope to come back!:)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lunghiboy
Varna
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Take your time and stay awhile”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Sometimes in life and often in our case, you just have to stop for some time and appreciate your surroundings. Yes, you can tick off your ‘essential’ must see sightseeing list, spend a couple of days in each resort or city, buy some local tat and say you've been there and ‘done’ that country, but have you really seen or felt anything? You’re tired of moving around and staying in mediocre guest houses, you feel harassed, rushed and all those ‘recommended’ places to go are heaving with camera toting tourists.
Do you really want to be part of all this? Don’t worry. There is an alternative and it's right here in Melaka.
Most people come to Melaka for a night or two (normally at weekends, when it’s packed), stay close to Jonker street and rarely see beyond a few streets either side. That’s pleasant enough I suppose, but you’ll be really missing out.
Beyond all this, yet still close enough is the calm, peaceful suburb of Ujong Pasir and the Lotus Ocean View Escape, run by an amiable Swede, Lars and his Malaysian friend, Gan. Lars believes in moving slowly; he’s been in Melaka for four years now and doesn’t show any signs of moving on yet. Unpack your bags, move into Lotus and you may be tempted to do the same!
Lars’s description of Lotus, which you can find on tripadvisor and airbnb is refreshingly factual and honest and his photography is accurate.
Do stay here if you like -

Spacious, clean home comforts and stunning views of the Melaka Straits

Friendly, yet unobtrusive hosts, who have lived here for years and are happy to share their extensive local knowledge with you.

Living in a quiet local neighbourhood, surrounded by a true mix of Malaysian society (Malay, Chinese, Indian and Portuguese)

Paying local prices and eating in numerous food stalls and restaurants with some of the best food in Melaka just up the road.

To unwind, have the time to talk to your neighbours, drink some tea and to contemplate life.

If you really appreciate the smaller joys in life and have the time to open your eyes to your surroundings, this place is definitely for you.
Thanks to Lars and Gan for their incredible kindness, taking the time to show us around, the stimulating conversations we had and for being such great neighbours.

Take your time and stay awhile…..we came for two weeks and left after six!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ChanYitCh...
Selangor, Malaysia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly neighborhood with privacy!”
Reviewed 1 May 2015 for a stay in March 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Beautiful location, even more beautiful home. I’m so glad we chose to stay here. Every small detail we could think of is here welcoming us and making our stay so pleasurable and unique. We enjoyed the friendly neighborhood and the apartment, we hope to come back soon. We will definitely spread the word! Thank you. (Love the decor.)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location and friendly neighborhood
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
divdiv s
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“fabulous place with great view”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014
3
people found this review helpful

This place exceeds my expectation.

You'll have the whole apartment unit to yourself. The place is clean, spacious, peaceful, well equipped, and beautifully decorated. What I enjoy the most is the ocean view from the balcony.
The owners are really nice and friendly. Located in a friendly neighbourhood with easy access to food and public transport (bus). I would definitely recommend this place :-)

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing