We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sweet home Alabama”
Review of Clarion Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Clarion Inn
Ranked #10 of 53 Hotels in Huntsville
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 12 November 2017 via mobile

Just got back from a three night stay at the Clarion Inn of Huntsville Alabama. It was advertised as the best deal at $80 per night. After all was said and done, I paid more than $135 per night for two queens beds for my family of four. “Hot breakfast” buffet was SAMs frozen foods warmed in two electric warmers and a few continental breakfast items less the fresh fruit. Rooms were cleanish and beds satisfactory. Ice machines were not working and things seemed a bit run down. It was close to the University of Alabama-Huntsville which was our destination and reason for our visit. Staff seemed moderately friendly at best. I give them a B- to a C+ over all. Passing but room for improvement for sure.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank Brent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris H, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 November 2017

Dear Brent A,

Thank you for choosing the Clarion Inn during your recent visit to Huntsville, AL and the University of Alabama-Huntsville. I would strongly encourage you to contact the third party vendor you used for booking about the more than $135 per night that you paid for your stay because our maximum rate during the period you were here was $90 plus tax. Because you paid them directly, I am sure they will be able to explain any billing issues you may have.

We typically receive compliments on our staff friendliness and complimentary breakfast. I regret that our full hot breakfast didn't meet your standards. As with all hotels that don't have a full-service restaurant, most of our breakfast items come from our food vendor pre-cooked and are re-thermed for consumption. It has proven to be both a tasty and cost-effective process for many hotel brands.

Guest satisfaction is our top priority and we do appreciate your feedback.

Yours in hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (534)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 534 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2017 via mobile

Sweet ladies at the front desk in the morning during breakfast and at night. Helpful giving directions and patient with my young son. Great location- walking distance to restaurants (next door). Room was clean, comfy, and nicely decorated. Pleased with all amenities and the breakfast was fresh, full, and tasty (and different by the day).

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank Valerie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris H, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear Valerie,

Thank you for your feedback is very important to us and we can assure you that we will use this information to do everything possible to create an enjoyable experience for each of our guests. We hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2017

The hotel was aight; it had the worst internet ever tho. This page took 4 minutes to load. I would normally never wait that long for a webpage, but the longer I waited for the page to load, the more I wanted to leave a review outlining how terrible the connection is.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris H, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2017

Dear Aaron E,

Thank you for your comments. I apologize for the difficulties you experienced with our internet connection. Our maintenance staff routinely logs onto the system from various locations throughout the hotel to guard against situations such as the one you experienced. We are currently exploring additional processes to implement to ensure that our internet connection performs at optimum speed. Again, thank you for your comments. We welcome the opportunity to redeem ourselves on a future visit.

Yours in hospitality,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2017

We were traveling with family in 2 rooms and had a baby with us. The staff was wonderful and we had a complimentary crib put in our room. The hotel is nicely decorated, clean and the beds were very comfortable. Our bath had a jetted tub also. We really appreciated the WIFI connection which was always good! The fridge and microwave were very handy.The location was central to sites and the staff could not have been more polite, helpful or friendly!! We enjoyed the big breakfast each morning and used the pool one day! Thanks for a great hotel!

Room Tip: we wanted the rooms which have an interior entry door, rather than street entry
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bglenn82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris H, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Hello bglenn82,

We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Clarion Huntsville. Thank you for the kind words, I hope to meet you personally on your next visit.

Doris Hardin, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2017

This room was just as nice as the "Full Service" hotel we just left. And it was 1/2 the price and had all the amenities we wanted! The furniture looks new, the bed and pillows just a little firm, microwave, mini-fridge, and coffee pot all in room. Ice was close by. Outlets were a little sparse but we were fine. Good counter space in bathroom. We would come back for sure!

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank valnal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doris H, General Manager at Clarion Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 20 September 2017

Thanks!! Valnal3,

Our goal is a guest who is surprised at what we offer and our genuine concern for his/her comfort and satisfaction...also for helping you save a few bucks.... something most of appreciate. We hope to see you soon.

Kindly
Doris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Huntsville hotels
2,8 km away
Hilton Garden Inn Huntsville/Space Center
0,6 km away
Comfort Inn Huntsville
Comfort Inn Huntsville
#18 of 53 in Huntsville
121 reviews
0,3 km away
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
Sleep Inn & Suites Huntsville
#16 of 53 in Huntsville
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2,6 km away
The Westin Huntsville
The Westin Huntsville
#15 of 53 in Huntsville
482 reviews
6 km away
Embassy Suites Huntsville by Hilton Hotel & Spa
2,5 km away
Quality Inn & Suites Huntsville
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarion Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarion Inn

Address: 4815 University Dr NW, Huntsville, AL 35816-1801
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alabama > Huntsville
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Huntsville
#7 Family Hotel in Huntsville
#10 Romantic Hotel in Huntsville
#12 Business Hotel in Huntsville
Price Range: R889 - R1 217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2,5 star — Clarion Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 128
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Clarion Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hampton Inn Huntsville Hotel Huntsville
Huntsville Hampton Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing