We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply awesome.”
Review of Avartana

Avartana
Ranked #1 of 6 870 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This visit was our first and one of the best meals I have had not only in Chennai but India.

The food is outstanding..different...each dish unique.. the list is endless.

To complete it...excellent attention by Baby who was patient..knowledgeable..and gave us a WOW experience.

It's not to be missed by anyone visiting Chennai.

1  Thank PGB80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ITCGrandChola, General Manager at Avartana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for sharing your positive and wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor!

We are extremely delighted to know that you had a wow experience dining at Avartana!

It was a pleasure to have you all with us and we will sincerely look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Warm Regards,
Anil Chadha
Vice President South, ITC Hotels &
General Manager ITC Grand Chola - A Luxury Collection Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (148)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

13 - 17 of 150 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
137
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

What a great experience !!

We tried the 11 course tasting menu and it was indeed a pleasure not only for the sights of each and every course and food but the service that the team provided thru the entire meal.

I cannot complete this review without mentioning the exceptional preemptive service that was provided on our table by Baby. She not only knew what she was serving but also made some excellent recommendations outside of the menu and even obliged us to see the Lemon foam in the making.

A must try if ur ever in chennai as I doubt people from chennai would have missed this jewel.

2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ITCGrandChola, General Manager at Avartana, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for sharing your positive and wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor!

We are extremely delighted to know that you enjoyed the food offerings and service at Avartana.

It was a pleasure to have you with us and we will sincerely look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm Regards,
Anil Chadha
Vice President South, ITC Hotels &
General Manager ITC Grand Chola - A Luxury Collection Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2018 via mobile

Even though the entrance makes one think - “Spa”, don’t let that beguile you. For, you are taken on a magic carpet ride across the flavours of South India. Each of the 13 courses I tasted last night, was a delightful introduction to the richly varied flavours of Andhra, Tamil, Kannada and Kerala cuisines. Masterfully prepared, each dish had a delicious twist and was presented with great flair and pride, by Manoj, our expert culinary guide for the evening.

A delightful feast that I would return for, again and again (remember though, it’s a calorific carnival!)

Thank MTHUD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ITCGrandChola, General Manager at Avartana, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for sharing your positive and wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor!

We are extremely delighted to know that you enjoyed the food offerings and service at Avartana.

It was a pleasure to have you all with us and we will sincerely look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Warm Regards,
Anil Chadha
Vice President South, ITC Hotels &
General Manager ITC Grand Chola - A Luxury Collection Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 May 2018 via mobile

As a visitor to chennai, this is by far one of the best restaurants I have been to. From the perfect ambience, to the lovely waiters who explained every dish brought to the table. We were given 13 starter courses, which were all a delight. Kudos to sous chef Mythrayie! Will definitely visit again.

Thank Sowmi1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ITCGrandChola, General Manager at Avartana, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for sharing wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor!

We are extremely delighted to know that you enjoyed dining at Avartana during your recent visit to Chennai. Chef Maithrayie is indeed elated to receive your comments.

It was a pleasure to have you all with us and we will sincerely look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Warm Regards,
Anil Chadha
Vice President South, ITC Hotels &
General Manager ITC Grand Chola - A Luxury Collection Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2018

So if one is really hungry for a south Indian thali, must try Avartana. Its quite famous with a lovely ambience.

Thank AakritiDhanawat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_ITCGrandChola, General Manager at Avartana, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Namaste!

Thank you for sharing your positive and wonderful feedback on Trip Advisor!

We are extremely delighted to know that you enjoyed the food offerings and ambience at Avartana. Your kind recommendation for our property serves to be a great source of encouragement for all of us.

It was a pleasure to have you all with us and we will sincerely look forward to welcoming you and your family back soon!

Warm Regards,
Anil Chadha
Vice President South, ITC Hotels &
General Manager ITC Grand Chola - A Luxury Collection Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Avartana also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Avartana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
;