We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious South Indian Food”
Review of Murugans Idli Shop

Murugans Idli Shop
Ranked #24 of 7 021 Restaurants in Chennai (Madras)
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$5 - US$10
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery
Neighbourhood: T. Nagar
Reviewed 16 October 2018

It's worth visiting Murugans Idli shop, if you are fond off south Indian food...........
Awesome idli & specially the chatani n sambar is amazing

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank Trek824896
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (283)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 283 reviews

Reviewed 11 October 2018 via mobile

Whenever we visit Chennai a visit to Murugan idli especially this branch is a must, although we have one near our home but that one is average.
Went at an off peak hour at 11.00 am , quiet. Good service and excellent quality food. To top it all filter coffee,

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank SureshM_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2018

Though this hotel is called as Idli shop, pongal and vada available here or any other outlet of murugan idli. I always ensure that I eat vada and taste pongal along with other dishes. The sides are excellent with varities of chutneys, sambar, podi and oil. They serve on banana leaf, traditional and hygenic.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank rashmik329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2018 via mobile

Tiffin items are over priced and taste is average. While we are having our food they bring dessert items which are must try.desert items are tasting good

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Navaneeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018 via mobile

Idlis worth dying for.
If you want to know a city, you visit their legendary food joints. And ‘Murugans Idli’ is one such experience.
Once can simply keep gobbling down the steam Idlis, hot wadas, podi Idlis and yes Ghee Dosas super crispy with sambar and chutney.
There was more on the menu but I kinda filled myself up with this.
And you can top it off with a hot filter coffee if you choose.
Must visit place if you are visiting Chennai.

Date of visit: September 2018
Thank Amit13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murugans Idli Shop also viewed

Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
Chennai (Madras), Chennai District
 

Been to Murugans Idli Shop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing