We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent guesthouse experience in a quiet suburb...”
other travellers have booked this property
Dinner is served!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Dinner is served!
Everything you could need... A room to relax in..
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
80 reviews
Dinner is served!
Everything you could need...
A room to relax in..
Read a book...
Watch TV........
Games also available.....
Ready for bed?
relaxing on the terrace
With the morning paper
Room with a view
Surveying the area!
Private steps up to the flat
On the roof
Relaxing after a hard day
Your hosts, the Damodaran family
Genuine entries from the visitors' book!
More genuine entries from the visitors' book!
bathroom
Toilet
water heater and fixed shower in bathroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Mysuru (Mysore), Mysore District, Karnataka

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 80 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Emilia L
Hong Kong, China
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent guesthouse experience in a quiet suburb of Mysore”
Reviewed 14 April 2012 for a stay in December 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed three nights at Rooftop Retreat. The first night the upstairs room was occupied - I was notified ahead of time by email - so we stayed in the room downstairs for a night which was small but very comfortable and the guests upstairs didn't mind sharing their patio in the evening. Both upstairs and downstairs were very clean, mattresses comfortable and it was quite warm so we only slept with a sheet. They provided water, an excellent home cooked breakfast, and dinners may be ordered in advance.

Divya and her husband were very sweet and welcoming as we're her grandchildren. Staying at RR was a highlight of the trip because (1) home cooked meal, (2) upstairs was a full size apartment, and (3) staying in a suburb of Mysore gave you a chance to see what daily life is like and hang out with some great ppl at the bakery on the corner.

I have added some photos of the downstairs room. It is small, but comfortable and totally worth the wait for the apartment upstairs. I highly recommend staying here - even after seeing places like Green Hotel and Parklane. Yes, you take about a 8-10 min motortaxi into town but that is half the fun!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The huge apartment, home cooked meal and quiet location.
Liked least: The cockadoodle doo of the neighborhood cock - but I am nt a morning person
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Longchari
Ainring, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Best place to stay!”
Reviewed 11 April 2012 for a stay in March 2012

After staying at several Hotels during visits of Mysore, this place was recommended to us, and it made our stay in Mysore very special. Its a great place for people who love to get to know India off tourist trail. Divya and her family welcomed us with much hospitality and made us feel part of the family instantly! She and her husband are people who smile a lot, the food was delicous, and whenever we needed help they took care of it. We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Divya and her family
Liked least: The Mosquitos :)
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kanvinde
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very pleasant property & welcoming hosts!!”
Reviewed 7 April 2012 for a stay in December 2011

The hosts are a very gentle mannered couple. Their daughter who was present to welcome us speaks very good English and was precise on the arrangements. She does not stay on the property. The hosts who are her parents do not speak good English but make up for the lack of it by their pleasant attitude. The property itself is full of +ve vibes. The interior is very pleasing to the eye and very comfortable. The bed linen, beds, and the kitchen equipment is very clean. The mattresses are very comfortable. Most importantly the toilets are in pristine condition!! The host couple have an easy arrangement with a local rickshaw person who is a great help as an impromptu guide. The breakfast was delicious and it included cut fruit of the season.....and they actually asked our daughter to choose from an orally quoted menu. The paid for dinner which we had ordered in advance was sumptuous and had a lot of local delicacies. All in all a very pleasant stay worth the money

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The look of the interior.....it has a lot of +ve vibes
Liked least: Was told to clean the utensils and plates that we had used for breafast and dinner.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pyki
Wales, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Perfect first stop”
Reviewed 21 November 2011 for a stay in January 2010

This lovely little apartment was a really great find. This was our first accomodation on our first trip to India, and it eased us into the culture wonderfully.

We stayed for 3 nights over New Year. Sisters Divya and Nivya were the perfect hosts, making us feel very welcome from the off. Nothing was too much trouble and the homecooked food was lovely. There was no problem when we asked if our friends could come over for dinner and it was really nice for them to eat with us and see our fabulous accomodation.

The apartment is beautiful and has 2 large terraces overlooking the surrounding neighbourhood.

On our first morning we were woken at 5:30am by the enchanting sound of a small group of local men chanting as they called on the houses in nearby streets for ritual offerings, it was magical.

Deffinitely reccommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location, in a quiet suburb of Mysore
Travelling group: With Friends
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Reviewed 26 October 2011 for a stay in October 2011

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 35-44
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing