We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place, fresh food”
Review of El Ultimo Refugio

El Ultimo Refugio
Ranked #8 of 88 Restaurants in Bocas Town
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Caribbean, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Child-friendly, Romantic, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Rustic and quaint, over the water, Caribbean-American fusion, focus on fresh seafood. Meat and vegetarian options always avaible
Reviewed 23 March 2018

This is a nice rustic restaurant with friendly staff and fresh food. It’s a bit dark, though I think that’s supposed to be romantic! Food very good but not outstanding.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank holidi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1 086)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

32 - 36 of 1 086 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2018

This place was crowded and there's a reason. We had seared tuna, filet mignon, pumpkin soup, chicken satay. It was all amazing. Service was spot on, food presentation was extremely beautiful and everything was delicious. There was live music and a fun atmosphere.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Djbtlv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2018

The food was well prepared and tasted good. The drinks tho could have been better and the service was i guess decent if we view it with Bocas eyes.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anders80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018

My family at hear recently and we each enjoyed our food. Loved the 4-foot menu! Sitting by the water was a treat.

Date of visit: March 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EReidy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

I didn't dislike the restaurant, for some reason I just wasn't getting the vibe of the menu. Everything was we'll prepared, the staff were very accommodating and prompt. ( a rare occurrence in bocas). The view was incredible and the restaurant very cool. I will try it again.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank Mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Ultimo Refugio also viewed

 
Bocas Town, Isla Colon
 
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
Isla Colon, Bocas del Toro Province
 

Been to El Ultimo Refugio? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing