We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
BarrBra BnB Over The Sea
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Koko Resort(Isla Colon)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Los Delfines(Isla Colon)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Angela(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Olas(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bocas Inn(Isla Colon)
View Hotel
Swan's Cay Hotel(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Laguna(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Hotel Cristina(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotelito Del Mar(Bocas Town)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Reviews (39)
Filter reviews
39 results
Traveller rating
36
0
0
0
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
36
0
0
0
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslovely doglovely deckbed and breakfastshared kitchenstayed longerb bother guestsbocas del torothe ownermarcosupermarkethammocksdocknoisewatertown
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 39 reviews
Reviewed 12 March 2018

This was an amazingly great trip. The booking arrangement itself was done in a way so that we knew exactly where we were going. The taxi driver from the airport dropped us as close as he could to the actual place.

Once we arrived Marco greeted us with a "welcome home". Nice touch. We were also greeted to a tour and with a free drink on the house.

Barrbra the dog (and also the queen of the castle) is a great addition to the surroundings.

You are on top of the water and in the Caribbean, so expect hot weather and insects that will bite you. Marco has arranged for fans in the room, as AC would just bee too costly and efficient. We also got spray free of charge against the insects.

Marco treats all his guests like family, and the breakfast that is included is amazing. It has a nice and relaxed atmosphere.

We went with our 17 year old son, and there was even WIFI which is not something everyone has in Bocas.

Bocas itself is a 20 min walk, but we had never a single issue with getting the yellow taxis and there is always police around so that you feel very safe.

We are for sure coming back to BarrBra BNB and Marco's great company. I can fully recommend staying here for any traveller.

There is also a supermarket really close by where you can get all your supplies, but Marco can also make a really nice pizza if you just want something simple.

Loved the place

Room Tip: Amazing views and good snorkeling opportunities
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Claus S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

We stayed longer than we had booked at first. We loved it ! Marco is the most kind and lovely person. He makes sure you feel relax and at home. Rooms are lovely (the rooms downstairs have a shower out side, you can enjoy your warm shower while you enjoy your view at the sea). You will enjoy a lovely breakfast in the morning. B&B has everthing you need and more.
Marco helps you with everything you want to know or arrange. This was for us the best place where we stayed in 2 weeks. I do highly reccomand Barrbra!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Burcu A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 December 2017 via mobile

After being disappointed in a different hotel in Bocas we arrived at Barrbra. The stay was wonderful. Unfortunately we didn’t meet the owner, but the short time host was a nice Canadian guy who tried the most to satisfy his costumers. Very laid back men. We appreciated the small size of the B&B and the relaxing atmosphere. Our room was right of the dock. This might be annoying for people that have to go to toilet at night. As the toilet is located inside the house, you always have to unlock and lock the door to get in. Safety first I guess. Beautiful view, nice swim and delicious breakfast. You can also order a taxi boat to Barrbra. And not to forget the best dog ever. Barrbra ❤️

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Oliver K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

I stayed four nights at BarrBra BnB and was left really disappointed, especially after reading the previous rave reviews. I was looking for a relaxing, stress free stay in Bocas and sadly this BnB did not deliver. The location is quite far from the main town area, approximately a 25 minute walk. The BnB's website says that they provide free bikes to get to the centre town but this was not true, if you wanted a bike they were at a cost of $10.00 per day per person. As such if you are wanting easy access to a sunset drink or meal at one of bocas great waterfront venues this may not be the ideal location for you. You do have the option of taking a taxi but we ran into problems with this. On the final night of my stay it was pouring with rain and we asked one of the hosts to please call us a taxi so we could avoid the rain. After forty five minutes (of us having to awkwardly go and ask if the taxi was in its way several times as she sat on Facebook not once letting us know what was happening) she advised the taxi wasn't coming and that this was the only taxi she knew how to contact and that she would "trust." She said we could just walk and would find a taxi on our way, this was concerning given her earlier comments that she wouldn't "trust" other taxis. Thankfully another great couple staying offered us their umbrella to make the walk in the pouring rain. Most taxis don't know where the BnB is so getting a taxi home is again problematic. We also asked if a taxi could pick us up at approximately 6:30 am to take us to the airport, she could not arrange this so we walked. Also getting water taxis from the BnB was difficult, when we asked to arrange one to explore a nearby island this was not possible and again we walked to town to organise one. If you are wanting a stress free time in Bocas with easy access to other islands (via water taxi) and bocas town for meals this is not the place. There is a small menu available at the BnB but it is expensive ($12.00 for a small pizza), there are other items beside pizza but when we asked about the pasta we were told it would be at least an hour and a half and the overall feeling was it would be a hassle so we didn't bother. So if you are not wanting to cook your own meals, the options available at the BnB aren't great and you'll want to go into town. However if you do want to cook your own meals there is a great kitchen available. The actual surroundings at the BnB are nice, the outdoor shower is great and you can swim off the deck but it's not tranquil. On the weekend nights you could hear music all night (literally until 4 am loud techno music) from the outdoor cabanas. I assumed being far from town would mean this wasn't a problem but it was and I barely slept the Saturday night. The neighbours played very loud music all day so any notion of a relaxing time on the deck chilling with a book with peace and quiet wasn't an option. Again the hassle of being far from town and water taxis in exchange for peace and quiet was not my experience. The BnB is not cheap and the cabanas were basic and very hot at night, there is a very small fan in the room but expect to be hot. Also despite applying DEET at night myself and my partner got badly bitten. Overall this was the least relaxing, stress free part of our entire trip. I found that every time I asked the hosts for something I was inconveniencing them. Nothing was simple and I would not recommend to anyone.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Steph U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

Friendly staff. Comfortable and clean rooms. Good breakfast. Good location over the water and away from town so it us quiet but close enough to walk or cycle into town. There is a small kitchen if you want to cook for yourself. There is also food and drink available on site. Lovely deck area where you can relax in hammocks, swim or snorkel. Recommended.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with Deutsche Telekom
Thank Christine F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews