We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Your own little corner of paradise.”
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
SirCLondo...
London
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Your own little corner of paradise.”
Reviewed 16 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

we chose The teak House to relax after a fortnight of touring Sri Lanka, and are heartily glad we did so. The house is a pretty wooden construction in delightful grounds with a new and delightful pool. The open living area and bedrooms are attractive and comfortable; whether sitting watching wildlife and bird life by the pool or, later in the evening, counting the numerous fireflies which flock around, the place is enchanting. What makes the place really special is the attention and kindness of the people. Roshan and his brother Ruane keep everything is tip top trim and serve the most delicious meals entirely unintrusively. Ruane will take you out in his tuk tuk to places you'd never find without local knowledge, and if you wish to go further afield, the property's favoured driver, Sujith, is simply the most wonderful guide to the local attractions and wildlife. In fact, anyone contemplating a tour of Sri Lanka should DM me for Sujith's telephone number, because he is an absolute gem. The legendary Tissa the dog will accompany you on the short stroll to the beach where you can watch the fishermen bring in their catch - it's a truly magical place. The shower's good and powerful, as well. Heartily recommended, we'll be back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Jan 2015
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review. We are always thrilled when guests enjoy The Teak House so wholeheartedly. Glad too you enjoyed the new pool. We have passed your kind comments on to Roshan and Ruane who do endeavour - always - to do The Teak House proud.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JulesLC
Dubai
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fabulous spot”
Reviewed 9 November 2014 for a stay in November 2014

what a wonderful house! We spent a week in this very peaceful property up on the hill, 2 mins walk to one of the most picturesque beaches in the area. The villa has 2 double rooms with lovely 4 poster beds, interconnected by an open living/dining area. The villa is managed by the superb Roshan who is an outstanding cook, as well as his brother Ruane who has a Tuk Tuk to take you wherever you fancy. Not forgetting Tissa and Seeni who are a lovely addition to the property. Beach is fab for boogie boarding and long walks, and lots of rock pools which the kids enjoyed! the lovely new pool is also a very welcome addition, adding to the appeal of the house. You sleep at night with the roar of the ocean below and the noise of the jungle. Well located, close to the Aman and Tangalle. would 100% recommend a stay here.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: having to leave!
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Nov 2014
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write such a lovely review. We are thrilled you enjoyed our special place in paradise and approved of the new pool! Thank you too for all the love and care you gave to our four legged girl. I will email you with an update.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NatashalE
Doha, Qatar
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A rare piece of heaven on earth....complete with a fabulous chef!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 for a stay in April 2014

We recently spent 10 nights at Teak House. We were looking for a break from a very hectic and stressful lifestyle that took us back to grass roots with just the right amount of luxury. And that is exactly what we go.

The house is beautifully placed, finished and furnished so as not to detract from a beautiful landscape and environment. The birds, butterflies, squirrels, monkeys, flowers, frogs, geckos and lizards in the garden were fabulous to see. The sound of the waves crashing in the back ground and lying on the day beds watching and listening to the rain were revitalizing!

Roshan is an outstanding chef and by day three we trusted him to surprise us at each meal and he did not disappoint. Make good use of the fresh fruit, fish and seafood locally. They are as fresh as I have every experienced. We went the markets in the beginning and then also trusted Ruane and Roshan to purchase as they thought best.

A trip to the turtle preservation beach is well worth the trip as is lunch or dinner at the cactus lounge and moonstone villas.

Be sure to explore the second beach, just over the rocks to the right of the first beach from the house.

Roshan and Ruanes local knowledge is well worth tapping into.

Take a long pair of trousers and long sleeved shirt for the evenings to help guard against Mosquitos.

I could truly go on and on. Bottom line...we hope to return.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Service
Liked best: Quiet, private location in beautiful natural setting.
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Apr 2014
Dear Estie Family, thank you so much for your wonderful review. There is really nothing we can add but that it is incredibly gratifying to know how many people just love our little bit of paradise. We do indeed hope that you return. xx
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sleeper91
Lincoln, NE, USA
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go to Sri Lanka!”
Reviewed 10 December 2013 for a stay in October 2013

My wife and I stayed two weeks at The Teak House in October 2013. We were advised that it was second monsoon season and that we might encounter a great deal of rain, but the weather was nearly perfect during our visit. Brief afternoon showers fell on some days and we did have about 24 hours of continuous rain soon after we arrived, but otherwise it was sunny and warm.

I could retread the same territory already covered so well by previous reviewers – the wonderful location and comfort of The Teak House, the excellent staff, the friendly dogs (Tissa and Seeni), the picturesque beach all to one’s self. But what really fires me up to write this review is a single question. Why aren’t more Americans visiting Sri Lanka? This is an absolutely beautiful country with so much to offer the adventurous traveler. And there could be no better way to experience it than with a long stay at this home that Nicola and Chris have established, and that Roshan so masterfully manages.

Any doubts you may have about a stay in Sri Lanka should be washed away by the comfort of knowing that Roshan, and his brother Ruwan, will be your genial hosts, interpreters (when needed), guides and drivers, and shopping companions wherever you venture in and around Tangalle. We basked in their capable care throughout our stay. And during our excursions on foot around the area, Tissa and Seeni were our alert and steady companions.

Our only suggestion to Nicola and Chris would be to list a wider range of restaurant choices on their house notes. Our best meals were those cooked by Roshan at home, and we certainly had great meals when we went to the owner suggested restaurants, but we had equally good (and better value) dinners at the locally owned establishments we visited (Cactus Lounge and Prem Restaurant, for example).

So Americans, what are you waiting for? If you want to visit a South Asian island with sand, surf, and sun, a country with three thousand years of history and a fascinating culture, a land that has flora and fauna unlike anything in the United States, book your flight and make a reservation to stay at The Teak House.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Roshan, Ruwan, Tissa, Seeni, all the birdlife, home cooked meals, the beaches
Liked least: Maniacal Sri Lankan drivers (wish more would drive as well as Ruwan)
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Dec 2013
Troy and Lisa, what can we say? Thank you for taking the time to write this wonderful review. We were so thrilled by the way you embraced everything Sri Lankan and everything Teak House with such unbounded enthusiasm and love. Just one thing - The Teak House cannot be held responsible for the 'maniacal Sri Lankan driving!' Just saying...at least you were safe in the care of Sujith and Ruwan Chandana.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai
Reviewed 16 December 2012 for a stay in December 2012

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
16 Dec 2012
Thank you so much for taking the trouble to write your wonderful review. We are, as ever, thrilled that you enjoyed The Teak House experience.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing