We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A Little piece of paradise”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of The Saffron House

Looking due south across the veranda
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Looking due south across the veranda
Exceptional views and sea breezes Pool steps
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Looking due south across the veranda
Exceptional views and sea breezes
Pool steps
Two horizons
The Dikwella-Hiriketiya headland
From The Courtyard Bedroom
The Saffron House looking east
A storm coming in
The Croquet Lawn
Entrance steps
Looking towards the central courtyard
Hiriketiya Bay; a few minutes stroll down the lane
Fishing boats on Hiriketiya beach
Hiriketiya beach from the bottom of the lane
The Penguin and Japanese Araliya
The Veranda Sitting Area at sunset
The sitting area
Master Bedroom Two
Master Bedroom One Bathrrom
South east from the terrace
Bathroom shower
The Sea Bedroom from the east
From The Courtyard Bedroom
The Penguin by the pool
Nighttime across sthe pool to the coconut tree
Mater Bedroom One shower
Looking south west from the veranda
The Veranda Sitting Area
The Veranda Sitting Area at sunset
The Veranda Sitting Area at sunset
Desk in dining area and cloakroom
Bougainvillea on the drive
Heliconia
Master Bedroom One desk and chaise longue
Master Bedroom One
Master Bedroom One Bathroom
Master Bedroom One
Master Bedroom Two
The Courtyard Bedroom Bathroom
Master Bedroom Two and Japanese Areliya on the terrace
Master Bedroom Two
Master Bedroom Two
The Courtyard Bedroom
The Courtyard Bedroom
The Courtyard Bedroom
The Courtyard Bedroom
Master Bedroom Two
Master Bedroom One Bathroom
Japanese Araliya around the terrace
Nightime across the pool to the courtyard
Peacocks on the rocks at the bottom of the garden
Dikwella beach in the evening
From the terrace to The Sea Bedroom
The Sea Bedroom from the swimming pool
South east through the coconut trees
Gardens from the top of the drive
Lilies in the Koi Pond
Courtyard from Master Bedroom Two
South west across the Koi Pond
Looking south east from Master Bedroom Two
Heliconia in the flower garden
Whales occasionally pass the bottom of the garden within 400 meters.
The Courtyard Bedroom
The Courtyard Bedroom
Path up to the staff house
Looking south across the main lawn
Heliconia around the staff house
Looking south from the vegetable garden to the Croquet lawn
Looking west on the rocks towards Dondra lighthouse
More Heliconia in the flower garden
Looking West by the Croquet Lawn
The Croquet Lawn
Looking south west to The Sea Bedroom
From the Courtyard Room lawn
Side entrance from Dickwella side in the rain
Dickwella Beach to the west; a short stroll.
South east from the terrace
Looking south from Master Bedroom Two
From The Courtyard Bedroom
The Dikwella-Hiriketiya headland
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Bella352
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Little piece of paradise”
Reviewed 31 May 2016 for a stay in February 2016

The Saffron House is absolutely fabulous. Everything about it has been so well organised that no one could stay there and not have the best holiday ever! The view of the ocean, the tropical gardens, the elegant, stylish and yet oh so comfortable accommodation, authentic home cooked Sti Lankan food and staff, who just can't do enough for you, all combine to make it one of the most memorable holidays we have ever had. If you don't go you're missing a treat!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Showering under the stars in the inside outside bathroom
Liked least: Going home
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Jun 2016
Dear Wendy & John,
Thank you so much for such a great review. You are of course welcome back again! Kind regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna D
Thame, United Kingdom
1 review
“Paradise”
Reviewed 22 May 2016 for a stay in February 2016

I stayed at The Saffron house with friends for 2 weeks in February. Everything about the experience was supurb! The luxurious, modern accommodation, the divine Sri Lankan cuisine, the lovely, efficient staff, the spectacular views, the peaceful ambience, the tranquil garden all rounded off with the resident wild life. Chris and Jeremy went the extra mile to make our visit memorable and fun. We were so impressed with the whole experience that we felt moved to entertain the staff with a thank you and goodbye song. They were even all polite enough to laugh and applaud enthusiastically. Thank you so much, we would love to return again!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing,all amazing.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
Dear Donna,

Many thanks for your lovely review. The goodbye song went down very well!!

Kind regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jenbrom
Los Angeles
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Our Paradise in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 15 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

It is impossible to overstate the divine paradise on Earth that is the Saffron House. My husband and I have stayed at the villa on three separate occasions and continue to be floored by our experience there. Chris and Jeremy are consummate hosts (or "luxury concierges," as my husband likes to say), looking after your every need, often anticipating them before you do. The food is beyond--we request local Sri Lankan food for all meals and the flavors are my favorite in all of the world. The staff is friendly but not obtrusive, floating in and out to assist but never compromising the privacy of the guests. The grounds are impeccable, the rooms are romantic and modern, and the bathrooms are stunning--it feels like showering in the jungle. The Saffron House is the only place that we visit where we have no desire to leave the property, except for a snorkel or a paddle down at the nearby beach. My husband and I have stayed at many of the must luxurious villas on the coast of Sri Lanka but after the Saffron House, we'll never stay elsewhere. The food, the service and the villa are simply unmatched. I recommend staying for at least a week, but even a few days lounging by the pool eating crab curry will be a highlight of any traveler's life. Please don't miss it!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The food and the service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 May 2016
Dear Jennifer,
I'm slightly lost for words having read you review!! Thank you so much for you kind thoughts; it really does mean a lot to the staff that they helped make your stay so enjoyable. We look forward to having you back again.

Kind regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamesk2s
swindon
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A big piece of heaven”
Reviewed 13 May 2016 for a stay in February 2016

This is the most fabulous place. It's on an outcrop between two wonderful bays, the best of which is Hereketya Beach, and the view out to sea from the terraces is fantastic. The style of the villa is very upmarket Sri Lanka with four detached large bedrooms and the living area surrounding the pool and terrace, which makes you feel more part of the grounds (which are quite extensive) than part of a building. I could sit there for ever.
Christina and Jeremy are marvellous hosts. Chris's cooking and the kindness of both are second to none (if I wanted to go on Jeremy's food shopping trips to Dikwella then he would take me on the back of his motorbike - that's kindness!).
I've been to Sri Lanka a few times and the south coast is getting much easier to get to, with the new road to Matara. This has meant that Hereketya Beach instead of being completely deserted, and I meant completely, now has a small beach bar (Marty is great). Last time we sat on our own on the beach. This time was much more fun but still in a very quiet way.
Going back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The terrace, court yard and pool
Liked least: Leaving
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 May 2016
Dear James,

Thank you so much for your kind review, particularly your comments about Chris & Jeremy; I know it makes a big difference to them when they know our guests have had a great time. You are welcome back any time!

Kind regards, Paul Deacon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
xax2004
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A little paradise in south of Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 9 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

The Saffron House was without any doubt the best place we stayed during our trip in Sri Lanka. You can't dream of a better place to relax in a elegant and friendly way. You'll be welcome by a fantastic staff, very kind and always ready to help you. Chris prepared the best traditional srilankan food we ever tasted. You really have to ask her for her famous crab curry! The house is really beautiful, nice large rooms, an open lounge and a super pool big enough to swim and have a lot of fun with the kids. The view of the Indian Ocean is stunning. You can spend hours watching this beautiful unlimited landscape. Hiriketiya is the best beach we have tried in Sri Lanka and it's only a 5 mn walk.
Our stay at the Saffron House was the climax of our vacation. We hope to be able to come back soon.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The staff, the food, the view
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 May 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words about The Saffron House, particularly about the staff; I know it makes a big difference to them when we get this sort of feedback. We are very lucky to have such friendly and capable people looking after our guests. Of course you are welcome back any time! Kind regards, Paul
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing