We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfection!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tangalle Mansion

Villa front side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa front side
Bedroom ground floor Mezzanine bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Villa front side
Bedroom ground floor
Mezzanine bedroom
Veranda master bedroom
Budhist monks on the beach
Terrasse ground floor bedroom
Lunch on verandah master bedroom
Buddha statue in garden
Lunch in patio
Fishermen boats on the beach
Villa right on the beach
Hiru Sandu Villa is right on the beach for a perfect relaxing holiday on a gorgeous sandy beach
Our superb bay
Hiru Sandu Villa beach front
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Nanna G
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfection!”
Reviewed 29 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

When I read the reviews prior to coming to the villa, I was certain that the reviews were exaggerated, or that perhaps that people didn't have the same standards regarding holidays and housing that I have. Oh boy, was I wrong. Everything was amazing and just as perfect as described. We had two small children, aged 3 years and 9 months, and they loved it as well.

Lakmal and his team were wonderful and made us feel so relaxed the whole time. They took great interest in the kids, who adored them, and even now my three year old will ask "where is Lakmal?" and says "I love Lakmal" <3 Lakmal and his team prepared wonderful food, absolutely gorgeous food, and they showed my brother how to make roti!

I can't recommend this place enough - go, go, go!

Xoxo

Nanna (and Grant, Loke, Grimm, Mingus, Karianne, Onita, Torbjorn, Ingrid and Jan :) )

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
onitawass
Stockholm, Sweden
2 reviews
“Excellent place to stay”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 for a stay in December 2016

Excellent location. Very good house to stay in with children. Right on the beach and hardly any tourist.
Some local fishingboats ate there.
The sea can be a bit hard though. But for grown ups the beach was perfect. The kids (3 and 1 years) swam in the pool.
Only negative thing is that there are not many restaurants around. One shack on the beach only.
But Lakhmal and his staff can cook good Sri Lankesion food. Like rice and curry. We had manly veg food and some fish ( fresh fron the sea).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2017
Dear Onita,
thanks a lot for your review. We are glad to read that you all had a good stay at the villa. regarding restaurants, some are available but are not advertised. The sea at the end of the bay going to the right is better for swimming, but of course it is still ocean.
Hope you will recommend our villa to friends and relatives.
Happy New Year 2017 to you and family
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnieAppl...
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Idyllic location, house needs some TLC”
Reviewed 21 November 2016 for a stay in August 2016

We stayed here in August with a small group of friends. After travelling the entire island, we set aside some time at the end to relax and unwind.

Finding the property wasn't easy. We were lucky that we have both a Tamil speaker and a Sinhalese speaker with us. The staff at the house came out to meet us so we could follow them to the house which was a life saver! If we didn't have the local language though it could have been much much more difficult

This was the perfect location. Absolutely dreamy. The beach was literally 10 steps from the pool and it is the most beautiful deserted beach. You can walk for miles and miles and get lost on the dusty white sand. There's wildlife to be seen in every direction, even when sitting having breakfast on the veranda you see huge lizards, giant squirrels - you name it all strolling across the garden.

Having the pool is great, we visited in monsoon season for the south island so it wasn't roasting hot all day, so the pool was a nice alternative to the sea when you just want to relax.

The staff in the house were amazing. I cannot praise them enough!! The food they cook is outstanding, they really know what they're doing and they really do anything they can to help! We bought all the ingredients and then they cooked us authentic Sri Lankan meals and it was lovely.

The house itself was beautiful however its in need of some serious TLC. the grass around the pool was over grown, one of the rooms was covered in dust. The air con in the master bedroom didn't work - or really, if we turned it on, it tripped the electricity in the rest of the house so that was a really annoyance. Especially when its 25-30 degrees with humidity close to 90%.

The house was also advertised as having a washer dryer which it does not. That needs to be clear. We had expected to be able to wash some clothes at the villa and re-stock our supplies. When we asked the staff they took our clothes but while they kindly washed them, there was no way to dry the,. the humidity was so high that hanging them wasn't an option so we all just ended up with even smellier clothes which was a real let down.

Also, don't rely on the WiFi as it doesn't work.

The whole place would benefit from a fresh paint job and just little fixes around. If those were fixed then it would have been amazing!

We still enjoyed the time but certain things were too much to ignore.

I can see below I am asked if I would recommend this holiday rental to a friend? If they fixed the little things and provided a washer (or just took washer off the amenities list) then absolutely in a heartbeat!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: how everything seemed a little run down and the air con didn't work
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2016
Dear Ignatius,
Thank you so much for your review.
I will try to reply to the negative things you have pointed out so that other guests do not get a bad idea of our place.
- we do provide a washing machine which in fact has been used to wash your clothes. Sorry but it only washes, no drying. Unfortunately you came during monsoon season but this was not our fault if weather was humid.
- Wifi: we do provide it but as you pointed out we are on a very isolated beach and it is a miracle that we can at least have the privilege of these modern facilities, but it depends on the weather conditions, and when raining the signal is poor. Also the sri lankan system does not allow for unlimited so we buy a monthly package, with a certain amount of datas, and this does not allow videos, movies down loading but it works very well for emails and even Skype...
- maintenance: as you mentionned, you came monsoon season and this is not the right time to make maintenance as paint, varnish do not dry, also you must keep in mind that what makes this place special it is its position but a villla on a beach with wild life around suffers from this as well, insect and squirrels, monkeys that damage and dirt the place, rain and sea breeze that washes away the paint.....
Anyway, the villa is frequently maintained and in these days all jobs (paint, electricity, plumbing, etc...) are being done under our control.
- A/C : staff said that the electric problem had been fixed the same day. Wires corrosion can occur anytime unfortunately.
We thank you again for the positive and negative things that you have pointed out.
Kind regards
The owner
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fheine
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Getaway”
Reviewed 30 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed at the Tangalle Mansion for the last two days of our family trip to Sri lanka. This was a sort of reunion as my brother & his wife, my parents, and my husband & I all live on different continents. The house is a bit hidden off the main road, but our driver called Lakman and he met us at the main road to direct us. The house itself is very beautiful and comfortable. The courtyard & outdoor settings are very relaxing. Unfortunately, it did rain during out stay, but that was not a big problem as we played card games & laughed outside under the porch. It was still such a beautiful spot to relax with family. The best part about the stay was the staff - Lakman and his team organized a small blessing for my parents wedding anniversary and made a special dinner with decorations on the table & chairs. My parents felt like royalty & the guys really went out of their way to make it special. We would definitely stay in this villa again, but hopefully with more time & sun! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kraenb
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“This house is simply perfect”
Reviewed 16 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

In February 2015 my family and I and another family rented this house with such a perfect location.
The house has a nice garden with a very good swimmingpool, and at the end of the garden is a perfect beach. Greater location is really hard to find.
The house is very cozy and everything works and is in really good condition. To sit on the covered patio and watch the kids playing in the pool while the Indian Ocean waves gently rolling in towards the shore less than 50 meters away is quite fantastic.
Lakmahl and his aides took really good care of us and helped us to arrange us different excursions and activities and cooked for us every morning and several evenings - really good service !!!
Soraya, which we rented the house of, was really nice and helpful and conclusion of the agreement and the rental of the house was characterized by mutual trust throughout.
In all, it has been an incredibly good experience in an incredibly lovely house.
We will definitely be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The location combined with a house in good condition
Liked least: Can't really think of anything
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing