We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent house for a nice stay”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tangalle Mansion

Villa front side
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Villa front side
Bedroom ground floor Mezzanine bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
Villa front side
Bedroom ground floor
Mezzanine bedroom
Veranda master bedroom
Budhist monks on the beach
Terrasse ground floor bedroom
Lunch on verandah master bedroom
Buddha statue in garden
Lunch in patio
Fishermen boats on the beach
Villa right on the beach
Hiru Sandu Villa is right on the beach for a perfect relaxing holiday on a gorgeous sandy beach
Our superb bay
Hiru Sandu Villa beach front
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Murklan5
Täby
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Excellent house for a nice stay”
Reviewed 8 February 2015 for a stay in January 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed here Christmas and New Year, family with grown up children. The house is very big and the sleepingrooms have all you need. Lovely sitting area and diningtable. The men working in the house makes you feel very comfortable and relaxed. They cook and clean and can tell you all about excursions. We liked the food, we had breakfast and dinner in the house. Lakmal knows how to do his work, and so do the others. Susil is an excellent driver and really knows how to guide and tells lots of interesting things during the excursions in the minivan. We had problems with the ac in one of the bedrooms, it didn't work for about four days, even though a repairman came over and tried to fix it. That was the only problem we had in the house. We had a pick up from the hotel in Colombo.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A house of your own with direct access to the beach
Liked least: The ac not working in one of the bedrooms, mosquitos and other bugs
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anke M
1 review
“Absolutely stunning !”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Difficult to find the right words .... The house absolutely met the image that we got from the photos and description in terms of equipment and location, directly on the beautiful beach that we had the impression of being our own! The fisher boats are very colorful and just make the photos more beautiful in contrast to the blue ocean and sky.
Clean and cosy, enough space inside and outside for a big group, the house was a perfect match for our needs and allowed each family a separate space. The air condition in each bedroom was highly appreciated when temperatures and hygrometric measures go up ....!

But the utmost best is not just the property itself - it's the service that is being provided by Lakhmal and his team! Unbelievably friendly and serviceable, the three of them were great cooks and householders, always available, while respecting the exact right degree of discretion and privacy to the guests. Very friendly with our kids and open for any suggestions and questions. Lakhmal has the rare capability of always finding the right answer to any wish ! "A tuk-tuk driver to the post office in Tangalle right away", "an ayurvedic massage tonight", "a trip in one of the fisherboats tomorrow morning", "we would like to have lobster for dinner", .... you name it - he does it ! Absolutely amazing.

Tangalle and its surroundings are still 'natural', without too much touristic infrastructure developed yet, which made our holiday a real experience of Sri Lanka's South End. I absolutely recommend this rental to people who really want to discover the beauty of this island and its people.

Anke, Valbonne (France), August 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: no preference - all was just great
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arne S
Oslo, Norway
1 review
“HIGH EXPECTATIONS WERE TOO LOW”
Reviewed 11 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

I am torn between keeping this gem as a secret and praising it as the ideal getaway to relax and just enjoy, but it deserves to be praised.
Other writers of reviews have said it already, but in bullet points:
• Roomy and modern villa with the amenities you need
• Lakmal and his staff!!
• Lakmal and his food!!!
• Wild monkeys on the roof (harmless)
• Monitors in the garden (harmless too)
• A nice private garden with a pool to use when the waves were too big (for some)
• The driver, Upul, and the Tuk-tuk drivers took you where you wanted. Not to places where they could get a cut.
• The ultimate palm fringed beach to ourselves, - and some fishermen (whom we helped get their boats in and out)
• No annoying vendors or beggars pestering you on the beach
• A few dogs on the beach were mainly owned by locals and friendly (not like in India)
In addition to that, Sri Lanka was a hectic, but fantastic experience prior to our 11 days at Hiru Sandu Villa and to end our stay on the island here was just perfect. We will not go anywhere else to wind down if we make another trip to this beautiful island.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CjMFife
Fife
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Absolutely wonderful”
Reviewed 6 March 2014 for a stay in February 2014

After a long and tiring journey our party of 6, ranging in age from 18 to 82 arrived here to be welcomed by a generous host (Lakmal), a delicious lunch and a location that was perfect. Without doubt, the beach here is the main attraction - it was so quiet - and we felt very safe swimming in it. There were times when we had it all to ourselves.
The house was extremely comfortable and Lakmal's main desire was to make sure we had a good time. He succeeded in this 100% His cooking was fantastic and he was very flexible in what he prepared. We stuck to Sri Lankan dishes throughout and he was only too happy to share his cooking tips.
There is not a lot to do in the area and if you want to go further afield you have to endure Sri Lankan traffic. Upul has a very comfortable taxi and I would recommend him highly.
All in all a terrific holiday at this location!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traveler4...
Crystal Bay, Nevada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Royal treatment in a modern day Sri Lankan "Palace"”
Reviewed 17 February 2014 for a stay in November 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This Villa on the sea was lovelier than the pictures on the web, it was just marvelous. The owner arranged for Upal (a very pleasant man and a good driver) to meet us at the airport in Colombo and drive us along a lovely route to the villa, thus, no difficulties with the transfer although it was quite long. We were very happy and a bit surprised to find this upscale house in Sri Lanka. It was a perfect place to relax and catch-up on our rest after a long trip. Lakmal and Dumal, the home staff, shopped for all our groceries and cooked all our meals….how great is that? They were so kind and trustworthy, and the food they prepared was wonderful, giving us an enjoyable introduction to Sri Lankan cuisine. They checked with us each day before they shopped and then at each meal, in order to see if we wanted different spices or choices of entre. We were served all meals on the patio looking across the pool to the sea, it was heavenly. Morning walks on the beautiful and interesting beach with all the colorful fishing boats, followed by cooling swims in the pool, became our daily ritual. We ventured out with Lakmal to shops and nearby sights via his Tuk-Tuk, what a locals experience that we enjoyed completely. Reading books on the lounges under the palm trees helped to fill our days. The master bedroom was our choice and it was perfect for us with the huge bathroom and the terrace from which we could watch the sea and the fruit bats that came to eat in the large trees in the garden. We also enjoyed a few visits from a troop of monkeys, and the slow crossing of several large monitor lizards. None of the animals were tame enough to come close to the house or us, so we felt like we were watching a documentary without audio, but with our commentary and the sounds of the sea and birds. It was just the two of us, but the villa would be a great place for a family or friends traveling together. When we left the Villa to explore central and northern Sir Lanka, we again hired Upal to drive us. He is friendly and extremely knowledgeable, we highly recommend him as a guide and driver. Our visit to Sri Lanka was an unforgettable experience, and our thanks for these memories belong not only to the wonderful villa and its staff, but to the villa owner who answered all our questions and gave us the recommendation to hire Upal.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing