We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great place to relax and go for a swim”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
9 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
6 Bedrooms, 5 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Tangalle, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 9 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Alexandru...
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to relax and go for a swim”
Reviewed 17 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for a quiet place to relax and snorkel, and we were very pleased with our choice. We spent 10 nights there, right at the beach. The roof is open so you get some interesting acoustics, almost as if the surf washes over you, nice ambiance. The staff was very helpful and accommodating, we felt welcome there. The bay is small and better protected than the neighboring long beaches, and there are some good snorkeling areas on the left side (the right side is where the waves break, good for surfing). We saw many fish, squid, and even sea turtles!
They also run a restaurant, and the food was very good: a generous breakfast, big fresh fish, and delicious curries.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marina L
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best stay in Sri Lanka”
Reviewed 24 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We (couple) were travelling Sri Lanka for four weeks and had the best time at Arthol Beach Resort.
The host Christian is a very friendly and relaxed (british) guy who owns this beautiful place directly on the beach. He is really helpful, easygoing and also makes the best tea in country. The rooms are new and clean. Our room had huge windows so even if you are lying in bed you can enjoy the view on the ocean. The construction of the building is very interesting. It is kind of an open house, so it didn´t get hot at all and you could listen to the sea all day/night long. We loved it. Also we didn´t have to use the mosquito net, because there weren’t any at all. There is also a kitchen which can be used. The beach (Unakuruwa) is really beautiful, no people and you can swim and surf. It is located between „silence and secret beach“. Wish we could have stayed longer (like a year or two :). Would be great to come back, Marina&Michael

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Apr 2017
Thank you so much for the great review. Hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chana D
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Could not be better!”
Reviewed 23 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
2
people found this review helpful

If you are seeking relaxation and serenity this place is for you.
The house is right on a beautiful beach who had it all: surfing, perfect safe swimming and snorkeling .
The rooms are comfortable, with constant sea breeze and a view from the terrace.
The owner is friendly , ready to help you out.
There are about 5 restaurants a few meters away, but you even have a kitchen if you want to cook.
If you want to stay away from all the crowd and touristic hassle and bustle of the Sri Lankan south coast, and are searching for one of those paradise left, this is it indeed.
And so much so that I'm going back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
in-love-w...
Киев
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolutely Stunning Place!”
Reviewed 21 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

The most beautiful location of the guesthouse from where I've ever stayed!
Arthol is situated in a small firshermen village - you will see local routine life, boats and catamarans coming and leaving. But at the same time - no disturbance! Locals are friendly if you address to them but that's it.

LOCATION - 10 meters from the ocean!!! Big sparce rooms with huge (from ceiling to floor) windows and doors facing the beach give you the feeling of being outside all the time! You can enjoy perfect sunrises and sunsets just stepping outside to the terrace! Constraction of the building (wills do not reach a little bit the roof) gives perfect ventilation and allows the sound of the ocean into you room 24/7 (verrryy soothing when you fall asleep)!

You can enjoy the beach and the ocean in different ways - sunbathing, swimming, snorkeling, surfing - whatevere you like!
There are few restourants within 5 min walk with really good and not expencive food.

The host is very friendly, make you feel comfortavble from the first minute and always ready to help, great communication!
The place is awesome and highly recommended for all kind of trevellers who seek beautiful nature and relaxation!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Mar 2017
Thank you so much for a great review!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexandeg...
Tangalle, Sri Lanka
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“most incredible location!”
Reviewed 13 March 2017 for a stay in March 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Arthol is positioned right on the beach. its a beautiful, peaceful bay surrounded by coconut trees. Great for swimming, snorkeling, surfing or fishing. We did some snorkelling using the masks available and saw beautiful tropical fish just a few meters from the beach. The rooms are spacious and clean, with the amazing view and balcony.
We slept well with the sound of the waves and a gentle breeze to keep us cool. Dont need aircon here, just the ceiling fan and the breeze was perfect!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing