We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 19% below average rates

The price you found is 19% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$54/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 27/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$16
US$12
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 29% below average rates

The price you found is 29% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$17/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Blue Haven Guest House(Kandy)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 21/07
Book now, pay at stay
US$27
US$23
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$26/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Free cancellation until 22/07
US$92
US$84
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$456
US$74
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 35% below average rates

The price you found is 35% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$113/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$80
US$45
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$67/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$80
US$68
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 53% below average rates

The price you found is 53% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$146/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$55
US$47
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$59/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Oak Wood Inn Kandy Hotel(Kandy)(Great Value!)
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$36
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$115
US$98
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1 243)
Filter reviews
1 243 results
Traveller rating
479
410
221
70
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
479
410
221
70
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe riversri lankapresidential suitebeautiful hotellarge poolmini barbreakfast buffet isgreat poolrooms are spaciouspool sideluxury hotelvisiting kandystayed here for two nightstuk tukdrivertemple
Filter
Updating list...
63 - 68 of 1 243 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

nice hotel, well suited to families with kids. good buffet, pool and bar area. Large property and popular with a lot of british, asian and middle eastern travellers. Could maybe do with an internal refurbish

Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
Thank MichaelJT19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach!

It is heartening to learn that your stay with us at Mahaweli Reach had been a pleasant experience to you which we strive to offer to all are patrons. Whilst we make a note of your observations and comments, we wish to state that we are currently undertaking some improvements as we endeavour to continually maintain high standards of our product and services.

Thank you.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

I chose this place because I knew the family that owned the place are known to be good people. I was not disappointed. I enjoyed the room, the gardens, the bar-side drinks and eats and morning breakfast. Yes, there were two loud, rude and uncultured local men who brought their own towels and sat by the pool. I saw them eat and drink nothing but make such undignified conversations on the phone that I had to remove myself from the pool-side. One really can't escape this in Sri Lanka. The society is largely uneducated, uncultured and downright stupid. It is as if all the cultured, well-heeled and educated people have left the country. And, those that remain in this bandwidth are in hiding and self-imposed isolation keeping to their private circles.

Room Tip: It is a dignified place
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Lakshmanan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach!

We consider it as a great privilege to have had you with us during your time spent in Kandy and are glad to note that our product and the services offered had been up to your expectations.


Certainly we would be looking into the matters highlighted by you and should be taking the necessary corrective measures.


Whilst thanking you for taking your precious time to review your stay with us , we look forward to welcoming you again at the Mahaweli Reach on your next visits too.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2018

We stayed at this hotel after visiting The Temple of the Tooth and watch The Cultural show in Kandy. The hotel is in a lovely setting on the banks of the River Mahaweli and has a very nice décor. The room we had was very large and really tastefully decorated. It was good to hear the group playing whilst we had our evening meal and a drink afterwards. There was so much choice at both the evening meal and breakfast it was hard to know what to choose. Staff could not do enough to help.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camcculloch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach!

We thank you most sincerely for your gracious recommendation of our product and services. We are very happy to learn that you were content with the locality , the décor of our Hotel, the live music at dinner time and the cuisine offered. Moreover we are glad that our colleagues too had contributed to making your stay very comfortable and memorable. We shall certainly recount your commendation to them.


Looking forward to welcoming you at the Mahaweli Reach once again.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018

We stayed here one night on a tour. The hotel is in a peaceful location next to the River Mahaweli. Excellent staff and a very comfortable room. You will need to work out the different floor levels! We enjoyed sitting by the river and walking round the grounds. The dinner was excellent with tremendous choice (and great 'Live Action'). Breakfast was also of a high standard. This is a great stop on a tour and an excellent place to unwind from the hustle and bustle of Kandy

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mark D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach!

It is with immense pleasure we acknowledge your commendation and we take this opportunity to appreciate you sincerely for taking your time to review your stay with us at Mahaweli Reach.

We are in deed glad to hear that you both liked the locality of our Hotel on the banks of the Mahaweli River and its walkway bordering the river and the terraced gardens which is an ideal location to relax and enjoy the river view and the river lifestyles, the sunset, the rolling mountains etc. It’s with great pride we learn that the services rendered by our colleagues, the cuisine offered and other amenities had been up to your expectations.

Looking forward to welcoming you at Mahaweli Reach, should you visit our island again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

We stayed here for two nights on our tour of Sri Lanka. The hotel is on the banks of a wide and beautiful river. The pool is lovely, and the bedrooms are very comfortable. Ours had a view over the pool, and a partial view of the river. The food (a buffet) was of high quality. The hotel is about 10 minutes drive from the hustle and bustle of Kandy, and a nice place to relax after a busy day. We shall certainly stay again if our travels take us back to this area of Sri Lanka.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank topgun45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rodney A, Manager at Mahaweli Reach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Guest,

Ayubowan!

Greetings from Mahaweli Reach!

First of all let us thank you sincerely for choosing Mahaweli Reach as one of the stops during your tour of Sri Lanka. Moreover, we are glad to learn that the situation of our Hotel on the banks of the Mahaweli River, the picturesque view of the pool bordering the river and our sprawling  gardens had made your stay with us very relaxing and the services offered had met your expectations.

We look forward to welcoming you again at the Mahaweli Reach on your next visits too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews