We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Relaxing and stress-free holiday.”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
19 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
English first
Swedish first
Any
English first
Patriciaa...
1 review
“Relaxing and stress-free holiday.”
Reviewed 10 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

The villa locates in a village where the local people lives, so its a total get away from the tourism.
Its a perfect place to enjoy of the quietness and the stress-free environment.
We had lovely time just playing cards and hanging out, it was a perfect holiday for us.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WorkNPlay...
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“chill-out weekend”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 for a stay in May 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Needed a weekend break in Lanka and heard about PJ's Pad.

Hikkaduwa is easy reach from the airport ..around 2 hours with a short stop for fruit, water and provisions. The town is busy in season. Out of season it's quiet although there are busier resort towns 20mins down the coast. Excellent location for exploring Galle and southern region.

PJ's villa & grounds are traditional, clean and functional. Pool was warm even when sun was out and well maintained. Large fenced garden with full access to lake from pontoon peer. A canoe can be borrowed for exploring on the water. The AC and fans work efficiently.

Thoroughly enjoyed the optional breakfast. I'd recommend requesting a tuk-tuk pick for 10min rides into town where a variety of entertainment and dinner choices can be had.

Although food was not included, we made a special request for a crab/prawn curry - it was recommended and didn't disappoint even for those who didn't like spicy.

The resident caretaker is from local village, We were informed he spoke only a little English. Although caretaker was always around, he kept himself to himself. We had PJ's phone and he translated important messages.

Overall, fabulous value for money and easy access to beach and resorts. Great for small groups who want Sri Lanka experience as opposed to 'hotel' but easy access to hotel facilities and nightlife. .

Tips: be self sufficient, PJ provided good advice on do's and donts. Great retreat and base for southern region.

Raj

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: low tech and functional no TV or WiFi
Liked least: Village dogs that barked through the night
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tracey K
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Retreat”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 for a stay in March 2014

An amazingly, special place which we wish we could keep for ourselves.

The property is hidden at the back of Hikkaduwa and located amongst Sri Lankan families. We found the caretaker to be very helpful.

The property is very comfortable and although the kitchen facilities are limited and separate to the house we managed to cater for breakfasts and lunches. We ate in Hikkaduwa every evening which was easily reached by using a tuk tuk.

The house is surrounded by nature and we had regular visits by the local birdlife.

The swimming pool is an added bonus.

We plan to return very soon. :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The location
Liked least: Nothing!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ravikcm
Colombo, Sri Lanka
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delightful hideaway in the coastal party town of Hikkaduwa!”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013
1
person found this review helpful

PJ's is a delightful hideaway in the coastal party town of Hikkaduwa. It is situated about 800m inland on the banks of a mangrove lined lagoon. It is tranquil for the most part, occasionally interrupted by music from wedding celebrations in the village (although my mini boombox did compete).

During my stay in December, I would wake up to bird song. Languishing during the day one could observe woodpeckers, parrots, babblers, drongo, mynahs and robins frequent the garden; swallows chase each other zigzagging through coconut trees and kingfishers taking a bath in the swimming pool!

The view of the lagoon affords a peak in to village life with villagers transporting their wives and children on traditional outrigger canoes and fishermen gliding by from time to time trying their luck or inspecting nets or crab traps.

I particularly enjoyed going sightseeing on the canoe. The mangroves are enchanting. As are the big blue jellyfish and the local 'godaya' fish that somersaults out of the water from time to time. If so inclined there is a fishing rod available. Although borrowing a local fisherman's simple palm frond rod is likely to yield better results.

I wanted to eat healthy during my stay, and so asked for the cook, who is available on request at an extra fee, and gave him specific instructions on what to prepare and how. Remember that he is not a professional chef but a fishermen turned cook who does a great BBQ. In my case it was fruits for breakfast, and local veggies & fresh seafood at other times.

The train from Colombo to Hikkaduwa is a scenic and cost effective way to get to PJ’s. A tuk tuk from the station would cost around Rs.100-150/- and the train ride about Rs.250/-

Looking forward to my next trip to PJ’s!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The canoe ride in the mangrove lined lagoon!
Liked least: Nothing comes to mind. I had a great time!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 22 December 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing