We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A slice of heaven with the Indian Ocean in your...”
other travellers have booked this property
Beautiful open ocean views from anywhere in the property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Beautiful open ocean views from anywhere in the property
Ocean view across the dining table The front garden, pool and open Ocean views.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
45 reviews
Beautiful open ocean views from anywhere in the property
Ocean view across the dining table
The front garden, pool and open Ocean views.
Our swimming pool as viewed from above!
The house, wall and pool lit up at night (just choose a pool colour!)
Beach towels are included
The beach house viewed from in front of the swimming pool
The main house, sun deck and shaded veranda with monsoon blinds
Outdoor living.  Day and night
Sliding glass doors lead straight out onto a large shaded veranda and living area
Locally-made veranda furniture for lounging and dining outside
Relax in comfort enjoying the sunsets and the ocean views in any weather with monsoon blinds
Let us prepare a seafood BBQ for you to eat at the beach house.
Outside on the upstairs studio apartment balcony
Inside the upstairs studio apartment looking towards the ocean
The kitchen inside the upstairs studio apartment
Inside the studio apartment upstairs
The en-suite bathroom in the upstairs apartment
The ground floor double bedroom
The ground floor double room en-suite bathroom
The ground floor twin bedroom
The twin bedroom en-suite bathroom
The ground floor kitchen
The back garden with secure parking space. Driver accommodation available (on the right)
Entrance to the beach house from the side garden
You'll never tire of these amazing sunsets!
Another sunset view taken from directly in front of the beach house.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Hikkaduwa, Galle District, Southern Province

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 45 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Ayse-Ceng...
Fethiye
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect Location!”
Reviewed 18 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

We stayed there 6 nigths as a group of 6 people. 2 couples and 2 singles.

Good location...Just near the ocean. Enjoy sunset..Walk along the shore...
Daily pool cleaning, daily house cleaning they were really perfect.

They offered a house with 4 four rooms which is suitable for us.The house is not clearly identified

1- The double bedroom upstairs is perfect with the view...with its own kitchen
2- The other double bedroom downstairs has no kitchen and has connection with the next room.
3- Another room downstairs has two single beds and has its own kitchen and has conncetion to double room.
Rooms downstairs (1&2) are suitable for a family.
4- The other room (they call it as Cabana) is at the main entrance of the house land .They use it as night guard house normally. During our stay all the belongings of night guard are at this cabana. What is more no hot water and no shower during our stay at this cabana. After complaints they repaired it on the last day.

There was nobody to contact to ask about surrounding...Try to arrange what you would like to do in Hikkaduwa before to go.

We had problems with fuses at the common area for the kettles.The ones staying in the room without a kitchen should wait all the others to have a cup of coffee in the morning. No facility for common use in the main area.

If you would like to spend your night sitting alone in the pool side for watching the moon...sorry you have to share it with the night guard just sitting in front of you.

What was the main problem with the owner was the invoice ...although we asked him several times by email, we can not explain him what is the meaning of an invoice...

In his profile he says he can speak 10 languages and his native language is English.,but we failed to get an official invoice. We have respect the owners who are conributing the countries ; earning money by business , and pay taxes in that counrty...specially the countries like Sri Lanka they need taxes to rebuild the country after tsunami..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Mar 2018
I’m glad that you enjoyed the view, it is indeed stunning, as many previous guests will attest. I’m glad to read that you found that it was cleaned to a high standard. However, I’m not really certain what you mean when you say the house is ‘not clearly identified’ as I can see from our correspondence that you were given clear directions and had no trouble finding the property.

Since you stayed, we have taken the decision to remove the cabana as a bedroom and now have on-site staff living there. I now only advertise the villa as having 3 ocean-facing rooms to accommodate 6 people in the large main house. I do apologise for the maintenance issues you had but I also ask guests to bring issues to my attention as soon as they arise. You didn’t do this so I was unaware of any issues at the time. I also make it clear in my welcome notes that Mahinda is ‘on hand’ and contactable at all times to discuss maintenance issues, local tours and local area information. He was there to greet you were you arrived too.

As advertised, the property has a night security guard for our guest’s peace of mind. He is very discreet and, once guests retire for the night, positions himself in the front garden to give him the best possible view of the property.

Your comments relating to the invoice are just bizarre to me. You booked through another agent website where the invoices are automated for you. We also gave you a receipt. The reference to me paying taxes and the way I run my rental business, is completely inaccurate and clearly betrays a separate agenda. Crucially, it is my concern and not at all relevant to future guests. Finally, as a tsunami survivor myself, who had a property to rebuild, as well as being in involved in the aid effort during the following months, I find being lectured by someone with no understanding of the issues hard to stomach and, actually, pretty offensive!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marius V
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven with the Indian Ocean in your back yard”
Reviewed 10 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Tropical Beach House well-exceeded our expectations! Initially we thought it would be too far away from the main tourist hub of Hikkaduwa, but how grateful we were to come back to the peaceful tranquility after a day of fun in the sun at main beach.
With tuk-tuks freely available at your doorstep, we opted to 'go local' and hop on the very frequent buses for all of our trips to and from Hikkaduwa centre. Bus stops in either direction are literally right on your doorstep! What an experience!!
The swimming pool is a major attraction and extremely well-maintained. Words cannot describe the breathtaking sunsets while sipping sundowners in and around the pool.
Tropical Beach House has everything you need, and is extremely well-maintained. Mahinda is the go-to guy for anything (within reason), and he is only too happy to comply. This is definitely a bucket-list check-off for us!! Thank you Gavin!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2018
So glad that hear that you all enjoyed your stay, Marius. You were a pleasure to host and you'll all be welcome back anytime! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BigErnz
Ankara
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic beach getaway”
Reviewed 25 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We spent four nights at the Tropical Beach House in Hikkaduwa, and it was absolutely ideal for our purposes. We were two families (total of four adults and eleven children ages 1-9), and had plenty of space for sleeping, playing, and relaxing. The house is right on a beach that is clean and not crowded. The surf was a bit too high for swimming for small children, but the pool was clean and a perfect size for everyone to be able to swim and play. The kitchen was well equipped, and the Cinnamon Garden restaurant right next door served delicious fresh food when we didn't feel like cooking. Gavin was very responsive via e-mail, and his local caretaker Mahinda was a lifesaver when we locked ourselves out of the house. Highly recommend!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Jan 2018
Thanks for the lovely feedback! Please do come again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ambgalge
Horsens, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great family house”
Reviewed 7 March 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We just arrived in DK yesterday after a lovely month in Sri Lanka.
Especially our stay in The Tropical Beach House, Hikkaduwa everything was perfect and Mahinda was a great help whatever we asked for.
The swimming pool was always clean and well maintained, and our two boys loved it. - The guard of night gave us a good sense of security.
We would not hesitate to recommend this house to friends and our family.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Mar 2017
You were most welcome guests and we'd for you to visit us again! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon Art...
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“TBHH Come Rain or Shine”
Reviewed 14 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Wow. . what a location. A stones throw from the center of Hikkaduwa and bang in the middle of the bay. No rip tides and very little road noise considering its proximity. The pool was well maintained and by all accounts new. The beds were comfortable and came with mosquito nets. I have a 4 and 6 year old and they played in the grounds with no problems. The manager was friendly and the cleaners were outstanding. All in all an outstanding location and an idea family beach house.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2017
Thank you so much, Simon. I’m so glad that you all enjoyed your stay. Don't forget to revisit! :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing