We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the not so well hidden gems in Huaraz”
Review of La Brasa Roja

La Brasa Roja
Ranked #14 of 145 Restaurants in Huaraz
Restaurant details
Reviewed 5 August 2018

La Brase Roja is by far the best place in Huaraz to get a taste of the local cuisine. It is very popular among the locals. Their barbecue is delicious, the prices are pretty low and the portions are rather oversized. For a person coming back from climbing the local mountains La Brasa Roja is the most logical place to catch up on calories. The best deal is the chicken. But any other dish will not disappoint. A must visit place in Huaraz.

Date of visit: July 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 94valr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 18 May 2018 via mobile

I have been coming to LA Brasa Roja for 15 years and it still has the same features that first attracted me. The Pollo a la Brasa is well seasoned, the fries are plentiful and the salads are delicious. This is a good place for a casual dinner, beer with friends, or to just experience the atmosphere of Huaraz. The prices are quite reasonable.

For a change of pace, try one of their lasagnas.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Yuyanapaq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2018

We ordered take-away from La Brasa Roja on 2 occasions during our recent trip to Huaraz. As we were travelling in a big group, it was the perfect option due to the wide range of menu items. We tasted dishes from chicken and chips to pastas to soups, and everything was pretty good. Although they don't do delivery until after 7.15pm, we were able to arrange to pick-up our order for 13 people, and were impressed by how organised they were with having it all ready on time and checking everything off the list with care. We didn't eat in, but the restaurant looked really clean.

Date of visit: May 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BecksterB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018 via mobile

Huge portions of wonderfully seasoned chicken at good price. Sauces are great. Food comes very quickly.
Service is terrible, brought wrong order, waited 20 minutes for her to bring the beer, most of the beers were not cold for some reason. Need to hire more staff.

Date of visit: May 2018
Thank Zoe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2018

Something for everyone here, from an Andean chocolate to a full meal - all reasonably priced. Swift service, un-fussy, very handy to the Plaza.

Date of visit: February 2018
Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Brasa Roja also viewed

Huaraz, Ancash Region
Huaraz, Ancash Region
 
Huaraz, Ancash Region
Huaraz, Ancash Region
 
Huaraz, Ancash Region
Huaraz, Ancash Region
 

Been to La Brasa Roja? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing