We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 070)
Filter reviews
2 070 results
Traveller rating
1 526
389
97
39
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1 526
389
97
39
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ceviche the bus the river cooking class machu picchu welcome drink beautiful hotel star hotel pisco sours the hotel staff breakfast and dinner course dinner included dinner i highly recommend this hotel sacred valley sanctuary lodge junior suite
Filter
Updating list...
58 - 63 of 2 070 reviews
Reviewed 26 June 2018

Beautiful hotel. Stayed 2 nights in first room just down the hall from the restaurant. Room was lovely but noisy at times due to the restaurant. They start serving early(~ 5:00 am) so there is a commotion when they prep to open, and then again at 10:30 at night when they close. Further away or on a different floor of the restaurant should be quieter. Trains do go past the hotel which is located right beside the tracks. The room and food in the restaurant were great. Front desk and restaurant staff spoke very good English. We felt like kings while staying here.

Room Tip: avoid being on the same floor & close to the restaurant
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Marty C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear Mr Marty C
Greetings from the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel family.
We appreciate your preference during your trip to Machu Picchu.
Your comment motivates us to continue working passionately. Our mission is to be part of the wonderful experience that all our guests experience in the sanctuary. We hope that you will return very soon. Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2018

After a hot, tiring and dusty day exploring the ruins the Sumaq was like an oasis. The welcome drink and check in service was outstanding. Our room was very comfortable with complimentary water, fruit and chocolates supplied. My wife enjoyed a nice hot bath which seems rare in Peru. The bar service was friendly and the complimentary Pisco sour led to a few more before a top class dinner. Breakfast was a buffet which was well stocked with tasty food and plenty of fresh fruit.

Room Tip: Views of the river were outstanding from the 4th floor.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank pwoodall07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear pwoodall07
Greetings from the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel family. We appreciate your preference during your trip to Machu Picchu. We work hard to meet your expectations, and we are happy to know that our staff, culinary experience and services in general have been to your liking.
Your opinion encourages us to continue working as we take part in the wonderful experience that our guests have in Machu Picchu.
We hope that you will return very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

The hotel itself is nice and on the river. The service however is not at all what I would expect for $500 a night. The staff at times seemed to go through the motions but service was lacking and disingenuous when given. Definitely not a 4 star property. And be prepared to be nickeled and dimes every step of the way. Happy hour? No happy 1 drink that was 4 oz. at most and then overcharged for second round. Dinner included? Food was like a cruise ship and not a good one. Food served cold and no one even bothered to check in. The wine was roughly 8x what we would pay retail in the States. So a $9 bottle US was $80 and horrible. In summary, the hotel itself was clean in a good location BUT not worth the cost. Better off staying somewhere else.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank MayaTulum1221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Dear MayaTulum1221
We thank you for choosing Sumaq as your hotel during your trip to Machu Picchu. We are sorry that your Sumaq experience has not met your expectations. We take your comments very seriously because only then can we continue to improve and create a cultural experience for everyone.
We will carefully ensure that none of our guests have the same concern again.
We hope that you come back very soon and experience the improvements that we have implemented.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2018 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our luxury stay at the Sumaq, the service was excellent and the food outstanding!

Welcome:
We arrived on the last train on our day of arrival (~9pm) and found the hotel to be just a short walk (~5-10min) from the train station. At reception we received a warm welcome and a tasty ice tea. We sat on one of the comfy couches in the ornately decorated lobby while we checked in. The front desk team was very helpful and offered us to swap our (included) dinner for lunch the next day since it was already quite late and we had already eaten. They also assisted in printing our tickets for Machu Picchu.

Food:
The restaurant was great, for breakfast I especially recommend the Andean Toast ( a variation on french toast)

Service:
All of the staff in the hotel were friendly and eager to help. We would like to especially thank Anthony from the front desk.

Room:
The room was comfortable and the furniture luxurious. You can tell it has been renovated recently, and it even had USB plugs by the night stand. The room and amenities are as one would expect from a five star hotel. There is only one tiny niggle we had with the room and that was the view. We booked a garden view room as we didn’t see the point in shelling out for river view given we just planned to sleep in the room. What we didn’t know is that the rear of the hotel overlooks the train tracks, as such it was possible for passers by and passengers inside the trains to look into the room, and it was very loud when the train passed. Since we woke up very early every morning and were very exhausted by the end of the day the noise wasn’t really a problem for us, however if you are a light sleeper...

Activities:
The hotel offered a complimentary Pisco Sour making lesson, where the bar tender demonstrated and explained how to prepare this classic drink, as well as a ceviche preparation lesson, led by one of the chefs.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank rezzy309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Rezzy309.
Greetings from the Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel family. We appreciate your preference during your trip to Machu Picchu. We work hard to meet your expectations, and we are happy to know that our staff, culinary experience and services in general have been to your liking.
Your opinion encourages us to continue working as we take part in the wonderful experience that our guests have in Machu Picchu.
We hope that you will return very soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Sumaq was a decent stop for one night in Machu Picchu Pueblo. When you look for a hotel in this town, you don’t really have much in mind except for comfy beds that will allow you a good rest before/after your machu picchu visit. The staff at the hotel were exceptional. Shoutout to Victor for making our stay there enjoyable. The beds were comfy, the rooms were spacious, the location of the hotel was decent too. There are a couple of reasons why I haven’t given a 5 star rating. Firstly, we had booked garden view rooms which they “upgraded” to river view rooms. If anything, this was a major downgrade for us since the rooms were located on the ground floor facing the road that leads to machu picchu. This meant you could hear buses going up and down every 2 minutes. If you’re a light sleeper, this would be a nightmare. The doors and windows are incredible light and does barely any noise cancellation. Another disappointing aspect of our stay was the inconsistency of the WiFi. When we informed the reception about the issue, we were given a modem which solved the initial problem of low signal however, internet was still inconsistent and it remained that way throughout. Barring these two issues, we loved our stay here.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with family
Thank Rithwik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsesorViajes, Director de Relaciones Públicas at SUMAQ Machu Picchu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Rithwik K.
The Sumaq Machu Picchu Hotel family appreciates your preference, and we are very pleased that you were able to experience Andean culture both inside and outside the hotel. We hope that you will return very soon to continue to experience this mystical world.
Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews