We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$49
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$69
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Impian Inn(Pulau Tioman)(Great Value!)
US$44
US$42
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$73
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Cheers(Pulau Tioman)(Great Value!)
US$45
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Beach Shack Tioman(Pulau Tioman)(Great Value!)
US$50
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Aguna Resort(Pulau Tioman)(Great Value!)
US$38
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
US$191
US$134
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
US$113
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (525)
Filter reviews
525 results
Traveller rating
230
193
61
29
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
193
61
29
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsinfinity poolfamily villadive centrerainforest villagenting jettyfishtwin peaksjungle trekkingwelcome drinkbluewater expressbeach frontlunch and dinnerspecial thankshigh tideprivate boatferry ticketsf b
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 525 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We, the four of us stayed at Tunamaya Resort on the 17th to 19th June 2018.
We took the Cataferry which offered Premium and Standard class, from Tanjung Gemok , and it took us approximately 2.5 hours to Pulau Tioman. We alighted from the ferry at the first stop, Genting Village, and Tunamaya picked us up from Genting Village to the resort by using their boat (complimentary transfer upon check-in & check-out only) The boat ride was 10 mins to the resort. Do note that Tunamaya Resort is secluded and there is only one restaurant and a “mini” size convenient store in the resort, so do buy your own titbits or drinks before. So while waiting for other passengers to alight from the ferry, we seize the 15 minutes window opportunity to buy some snacks and beers at the Genting Jetty before taking the boat to the resort. Upon arriving at the resort, we were stunned by the beautiful scenic view of the twin peak mountain which the locals name it the “sleeping dragon head”. While the plus points for us were the clean rooms & location of the hotel – secluded and away from the villages that scatter Tioman island. However, there were some negative points to note which made our experience an unfortunate one:

I personally informed the front desk one day before that our ferry (Cataferry) was to depart from Genting Jetty at 230pm on the 19 June 2018 and the resort offered two departure time which is at 11:45am or 1:30pm, we chose the 1:30pm slot and the reception told us to be at the lobby at 1pm on the day of departure. On the 19th June 2018 approximately 12pm, I gave a call to the reception to confirm our departure time and the receptionist told us they are well aware of it. At 1230pm, we were all at the lobby already and Alvin was there to check us out. At 130pm, the resort boat has yet to arrive and I spoke to Alvin and he told me the boat is on the way and there is a slight delay as the boat was moving against the huge waves. By 230pm, the boat has yet to arrive and we suspected that we might missed the ferry back to Tanjung Gemok and I approached Alvin, and he told me the ferry might be delayed as well as there are huge waves surrounding the island. Finally, the boat arrived at 245pm and we were taken to Tekek Village jetty as this was the main terminal. The weather was fine and the waves was calm when we were on the boat, we felt odd as it was not as what Alvin told us. We arrived at Tekek Jetty at around 325pm, and to our disappointment, the ferry has left and the person in charge of the resort boat, Brian offered us a solution, to purchase a new ferry ticket (4pm) to Mersing and take a taxi from Mersing to Tanjung Gemok and he will reimbursed the cost to us. We strongly disagreed with him and asked him to send us back to the resort and purchased a new ferry tickets for us the next day. He agreed to give two complimentary upgraded rooms – Beach Villa and 30% off on food & beverages.

Room Tip: Beach front Villa
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ongxinrong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

spend 3 days 2 nights in the island. Beautiful place surrounded by nature. Our room is facing the beach (Beach Cluster villa), indeed nice view. Just need to jump from the deck to the beach. Very relaxing. It's great place for people that want to run away from daily busy life without getting interrupted by mobile - there is no mobile coverage at all. You need data/internet connection? It's only available at the restaurant. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was great with choices of food however not much on local food options for lunch and diner. Do expect the price is bit expensive. While for the diving, snorkeling and even the boat tour to village is a WAY too expensive.

Room Tip: Beach Cluster villa
  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chae S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunamaya T, MARCOM at Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Chae S,

Warmest greetings from Tunamaya Tioman Island, first and foremost, thank you for taking your time to leave such a wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed throughout your holiday here. We appreciated your kind feedback on getting a visible signage for the convenience of tourists arrival as well as your other feedback.We hope to welcoming you back here again and please bring all your friends and family along. We will ensure they all enjoy the same quality of service as you have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We were on this island for Company Gathering and it was a blast!

We stayed on this hotel with great service provided from welcoming us with special drinks to coordinating us to visit some nearby islands for snorkeling and water sports entertainment.

The Manager in charge was so helpful, informative and responsive indeed.

This trip was on October 2011

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Thank AnthonySteven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunamaya T, MARCOM at Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear AnthonySteven,

Sunshine greetings from Tunamaya Tioman Island! First and foremost, thank you for taking your time in writing us a review regarding your trip to our sunshine shore. We are truly elated to know that you had a blast in your company gathering at our humble island. Our staff would be more than happy to know that their friendly services made every valued guests' day. At the same time, we do take pride in providing the best services to all of you. We are hopeful to welcome you back again to our sunshine shore, do bring your friends and family along next time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2018

The place was awesome, the staff are friendly. the food is nice but a variety of the local cuisine would be great. breakfast was okay. the beach is awesome. overall it was a lovely holiday. just wish we could spend at least a week.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank maynarddsouza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TunamayaDesaruCoast, MARCOM at Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2018

Dear Maynarddsouza,

Sunshine greetings from Tunamaya Tioman Island! First and foremost, we sincerely thank you for your time to write us a valuable review regarding your stay experience. We are elated to know that you overall had an enjoyable stay here with our dedicated staff and facilities. With this, we look forward to serve you soon at Tunamaya Tioman Island with yet another pleasant experience soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2018 via mobile

Great time at this resort! Beautiful place surrounded by nature. Monkeys and other wildlife can be seen. Shout out to Aiman “Alvin” for helping us get our bearings there. He offered us tips and guided us with our activities. Thanks to him we also got to view the shark feeding at Bagus Place resort. He did this on his own time!

On arrival we were treated to a cold drink and towel, nice touch!

Nice infinity pool. Beach is not very sandy, rocky and coral filled so not the best swimming beach but still very scenic. You can see fish swimming in the clear waters.

Great rooms, clean bathrooms and appreciated the non-musty smell (dampness/musty smell is common in many tropical beach hotel bathrooms). Nightly we were treated to some snacks except for the first night. Enjoyed the wonderful breakfast spread with noodles, made to order roti canai, murtabak and freshly squeezed juices. So good!

Things to improve perhaps is big visible signage to point us in the right direction upon arrival at Genting jetty. Dinner prices are pricey for fried noodles and appetizers should be priced much lower than the entrees for the smaller amount of food.

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
Thank theology123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tunamaya T, MARCOM at Tunamaya Beach & Spa Resort - Tioman Island, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2018

Dear theology123,

Warmest greetings from Tunamaya Tioman Island, first and foremost, thank you for taking your time to leave such a wonderful review. We are glad that you enjoyed throughout your holiday here. We appreciated your kind feedback on getting a visible signage for the convenience of tourists arrival as well as your other feedback.We hope to welcoming you back here again and please bring all your friends and family along. We will ensure they all enjoy the same quality of service as you have.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews