We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (551)
Filter reviews
551 results
Traveller rating
161
267
88
24
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
161
267
88
24
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews indoor pool salt water side sea view saga holiday evening meal old town baska voda omelette ice cream beautiful country animation team pebble beach krka waterfalls boat trip buffet style plenty of sun loungers hotel entertainment
Filter
Updating list...
23 - 28 of 551 reviews
Reviewed 13 August 2018

After reading good reviews we booked this hotel for our holiday which was our first time in Croatia. The factors on making our decision was the proximity to the beach, restaurants and shops, as well as favourable reviews. However the hotel did not live up to expectations. The majority of the staff need extra training in relation to customer service and at times were extremely unhelpful. The only member of staff deserving 5 stars is Leona in the spa. Also the standard of food is poor especially if you are vegetarian or mainly eat chicken or fish. After complaining we suggested that there should be a chicken option and the following night chicken was on the menu although served on the bone. Felt like we were in a KFC. Another night the Vegetarian option was poached eggs in tomato sauce!
Needless to say except for one night we ate in local restaurants. Further the beach was a disappointment, very little sand, mostly large stones and extremely crowded with hardly an inch between bodies. The only highlights were the days we went to Split and Dubrovnik- absolutely wonderful.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Jet2holidays
1  Thank Traveltrecker1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2018

+ The hotel is located in the center of Makarska, right by the beach. Short walking distance to restaurants etc. Fitness facilities are good, consisting of an indoor swimming pool and training rom and a welcoming staff. The breakfast had a nice variety of essential cold and warm meals. Clean hotel and bedroom. It seems that all of the balconies have sea view.

- Our bedroom (double room) was a bit small, we barely had space to put our luggage. We tried a couple different alcoholic drinks in the hotel bar, they could definitely have tasted better.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Martin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2018 via mobile

The hotel is old structure of postcommunistic design with classical concrete building. It has nice rooms most of the them with a view and good mattress so you relax well. Air-conditioning works well, low noise so it doesn't disturb.Breakfast is very rich with very good choice of everything. But the strongest part is the staff, very nice very helpful and very attentive.The bad part is the swimming pool where is very low capacity, you never find a free place. People get the towel in the morning and for the rest of the day you don't get any free place.But the strongest part is the staff. Very friendly and helpful.I will definitely be coming back

Stayed: August 2018, travelled solo
Thank Ian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2018 via mobile

The hotel and rooms are clean. Bed linen spotless. Breakfast ok.
Would have been good to have shower gel instead of soap and some conditioner would have been useful.
Please be warned for the size of the hotel the pool Lounging area is small. We were packed like sardines around the pool and sun loungers were in short supply. I can understand people putting towels on loungers to save a place before breakfast because otherwise you wouldn’t get one. The beach in front of the hotel is very very busy.
Plenty of local restaurants but all serving the same food.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled with family
4  Thank Sampson T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Bad point out of the way first.
THERE IS NO SPACE TO SUNBATHE.

Unless you're up at the crack of dawn to reserve a sunbed (at the pool) you are plum out of luck. If you do bag a sunbed, you'd better be OK with getting very close to your fellow hotel guests because you are packed in like sardines around the pool.
What about the beach you say?
Once again, get up at the crack of dawn for a space or sunbed on the beach out front of the hotel. And then when the rest of Makarska turn up a bit later, you will get to know your neighbor very, Very personally. It's so crowded I reckon there is about an inch from on towel to the next.
Well, walk on further down the beach?
I covered 4 km looking for a place. There is none!
The Hotel has a huge area out front full of tables and chairs unused during the day. I asked the duty manager if we could have couple of sunbeds up there during the day, he was OK with this, if the pool boys were OK with taking them up there. I asked one of the pool boys if they could oblige, he went to clear it with his manager who apparently said no. I was told that last year they did have beds up there but not this year. Its a waste of space and spoilt our holiday a little bit.

GOOD POINTS.
All that aside. The hotel is very nice. Good clean rooms. Friendly staff. The breakfast is plentiful and coffee is nice. The lobby is very nice and airy and a decently stocked hotel bar. The hotel is nicely located 5 minutes from a lot of good restaurants and bars.

I would give the hotel a higher rating if the winner thing wasn't an issue.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
5  Thank Cupholderboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews